Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Zena from NZ

A lovely stately home in its day

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived by driving up a long driveway to what would have been a stately home in yesteryear. The property was built in the 1500-1600's and added to since then. Unfortunately a property of this type requires a lot of time, money and energy which alas it doesn't seem to be getting adequately. Our room was nice but the bathroom was requiring money spent on it. The shower leaked and the toilet was difficult to flush. There was mould all through the shower and it needed a good clean. Bron our hostess was attending her daughter's graduation from uni, an exciting event for them but it meant that we were left to it for breakfast the next morning. Everything was nicely laid out for a cold breakfast which we helped ourselves to. She did apologise and said she would pull out all stops the next day but nothing exceptional occurred. The house requires a lot of cleaning and maintenance as it is not a cheap place to stay. No TV! Well not for visitors, no wifi! Well once again not for visitors. We are in the 21st century and although it's nice to have a break, being totally cut off from the world is somewhat third world. Bron did do some washing for us, for which we were thankful, but it states on her listing that laundry service is offered but we were made to feel it was a strange request. Sadly the B&B side of things is somewhat neglected.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Godalming

Shame

Posted Jul 13, 2015
I'd read the reviews and realised the B&B wasn't everyone's taste but decided to go with it as it made a change from a generic Hotel. I spoke to one of the owners (I think) the day before my 76 year father arrived to stay for the night and asked whether he would have any problems getting up the stairs as he has bad arthritis and she said it was fine as other elderly people had stayed. I was then informed they were put at the top of the house, 3 big flights up!!!! My dad's partner also informed me she wouldn't have a shower in the morning as the tiles were full of mould and not nice. They aren't picky at all but were v disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Omer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by D from Sutton

Poor stay!

Posted Mar 13, 2015 on Hotels
Poor home attitude and hotels.com did not provide me with what I requested! Poor performance all round!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ian from Southampton

An eclectic B&B in a lovely setting

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels
This B&B resides in an idyllic spot in the quiet village of Hambledon. It is surrounded by trees and even has a river running through it. The room was spacious and unique - containing furniture from the great exhibition in Paris during the 30s. Breakfast was amazing and we were very well looked after.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short weekend break

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: The building was very impressive but a bit tired. Staff very helpful. Plenty of parking. Very nice breakfast of smoked salmon and scrambled egg.
Cons: No TV. There was no lock on the room door! There was no house keeping on Sunday so bed unmade etc. Tea & coffee making could have been better.
We used Hambleton House as a base for visiting the festival of speed at Goodwood. We were quite impressed with the house in general but it was a bit shabby in places. There was plenty of on site parking and we were greeted by two very friendly dogs. The staff were very helpful and agreed to provide a very early and very good breakfast so that we could get on our way to the festival. On the down side there was no lock on the room door, luckily we did not have to leave any valuables in the room while we were out. There was no housekeeping on Sunday so the room was as we had left it in the morning, bed had not been made etc.There was also no TV in the room. The tea and coffee making facilities could have been better, there were mouldy dregs in the cafetiere. The house was very dark and gloomy there were no lights on the stairs or corridors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Epsom

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
A lovely, if not slightly eccentric place to stay. Had a fabulous time. Breakfast was wonderful and the surroundings - stunning!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Horrible in every way

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels
Do not waste your money on this place. First off, it is hard to find and poorly marked. My mom and I booked two nights here. We arrived at 6:00 p.m. and no one was there. I tried knocking on several doors, since I couldn't tell which one was the front door. The largest door was missing a door knob. I went around the back and eventually spoke to a tenant. She called the property manager who said she forgot we were coming. We waited three hours for her to show up. When we finally got into the room, she made a big deal about upgrading us to a nicer room. The "nicer" room had an African safari theme, but it was dirty and disappointing. There was dust and cobwebs everywhere. The lights only had half their light bulbs working and the lampshades were torn. The throw on the bed had a red stain on the underside that appeared to be blood. The sheets had black flakes of something on them. The light in the shower didn't work and the toilet stopped up. The manager seemed annoyed that she had to cook breakfast for us in the morning. She asked if we would be back the next night, and I told her I wasn't sure. She asked me to let her know, and gave me her cellphone number even after I told her I did not have phone service or an internet connection other than the weak connection I used at the B&B. Our stay was so bad that my mom considered ending our trip early.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Adam from London

nice place

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely place, lovely location, cleaniness of hotel room dissapointing very dusty
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by John from Tarporley

Very accommodating

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels
Very hospitable and accommodating people