Ratings based on 712 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

On Airport Circle

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: It was great to have space to unpack our luggage and repack for short trips
Location: Ye Old Six Bells pub is close. Cross A217 at the light. Continue 50 meters on Povey Cross. Take trail on left past Church.
This was our experience with the airport hotel bus: 20 minutes from LGW South Terminal to hotel via Hotel Loop Bus 1 or Bus 3 (includes ~10 minutes waiting) 10 minutes from hotel to South Terminal (never had to wait). Cost is 3 pounds. You can buy a ticket at the hotel or pay the driver (who can make change). Once we got there, we liked the hotel. The building is old and boring, but the rooms are nice. Advantages: Rooms are big and comfortable Desk staff is good and checkin is smooth Disadvantages: Too far away from the train station or airport to walk Can't leave luggage before or after checkout. True for all LGW hotels. (If you need to leave a suitcase, you are better off at a hotel in the airport, like Bloc. You leave your luggage with the Excess Baggage Company office in the South Terminal. They x-ray your suitcase and give you a ticket in about a minute. You pay when you pick it up.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Economical for a one night stay near the airport

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: It was within walking distance to the most amazing Heritage Pub!!!
Cons: Had no hairdryer. May not seem like much for the regular business man who might stay here, but for women traveling outside their own country, needed!
Was short...just needed a place to lay our heads for the night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk UK

Near Gatwick Airport with a shuttle bus service.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The price it was so reasonable for a London hotel.
I could not fault this hotel. The front desk was well staffed always pleasant. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast was excellent as was the service. It was ideal for our overnight stop before our early morning flight
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winterpeg

Close to Airport

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Quick check in even though it was Spring Break and full of people. Helpful staff with regards to asking for directions for dinner suggestions. Dated appearance but quite functional. Also offered airport shuttle service for a reasonable price every 15 minutes. Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Jackie, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review I was glad to read you found the hotel staff helpful and look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn London - Gatwick Airport Regards Jackie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Close to airport with frequent airport transfers.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Hallways a little tired but on the whole the room was quiet, clean and very comfortable. Enjoyed a tasty afternoon snack in the Bar, an enjoyable dinner later in the evening and an adequate breakfast next morning. Staff were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

No fuss good night's sleep before a flight.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Efficiency, easy to find
No surprises. I had the parking plus option and it all seemed very well organised.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Jackie, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review I was happy to read you found the car parking organised and look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn London - Gatwick Airport Regards Jackie
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from coventry

Needs a refurb

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Friend got bit all night. Rooms need tlc ............................................
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with close proximity to Gatwick Airport

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Clean and comfortable, pleasant hotel to stay in and close to the airport (10-15 minutes on the bus to South Terminal)
Cons: .
Location: Restaurant and bar in the hotel offer a good choice of food and drink. I never ventured outside hotel.
shuttle bus from airport to hotel was a short ride with bus stop clearly marked. Arrived at hotel at 7.30pm and booked in very easily, staff were friendly, helpful and efficient and I was directed to my room very quickly. Room was fine and comfortable. I ate at the restaurant in the hotel which offered a good choice at reasonable prices. Checkout the following day was quick as before and reception sell shuttle bus tickets that could be bought in advance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by admin@higatwickairport.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review I was happy to read you found the hotel clean and comfortable and look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn London - Gatwick Airport Regards Jackie
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan Canada

Overnight stay

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Excellent accommodations; Fabulous accommodating staff; superb breakfast buffet; warm, clean comfortable room; close to Gatwick affordable shuttle!!
Excellent accommodations; Fabulous accommodating staff; superb breakfast buffet; warm, clean comfortable room!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by admin@higatwickairport.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review I was happy to read you found the accommodation excellent and look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn London - Gatwick Airport Regards Jackie