Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Gloucestershire

Relaxing Stay

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Overall ambiance of the place and the quirky building!!
Cons: Still trying to think!!
Location: Our son & wife live in Merstham, they have just had a baby and only have a small house so it's not always convenient for us to stay with them.
We've stayed here a few times now, always a good reception, comfortable room. We had a lovely meal in the Mulberry restaurant, all staff during our stay were very attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel close to airport

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: It's in the country but close to airport and the food is excellent
Cons: Only thing I would say is have some more King beds. The rooms are big enough
Location: Airport, but the proximity to London is great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Quiet olde hotel near Gatwick airport

Posted Nov 2, 2016
A great place to celebrate 20 year wedding anniversary. Treated ourselves to tasting menu and wines which was absolutely fabulous. A very comfortable and welcoming place to stay the night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sg

Wonderful historical gem close to Airport

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Setting, garden, proximity to Gatwick airport
Cons: Staff is not at par with luxury standard. Staff doesn't seem to feel responsible for customer, but rather expect colleagues to jump in.
Buildings and garden are a dream- British, well-maintained and taken care of.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff

Posted Sep 21, 2016
I checked in late at night with no issues. The 24 hr reception is very convenient and all the staff was very helpful during my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary Canada

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Cons: One suggestion for improvement-the king sized bed sagged in the middle because the bottom twin frames were not fastened together properly, moved apart
Very historic manor hotel, close to Gatwick for convenience. Excellent food and dining. Very helpful and friendly staff - the service was outstanding. One suggestion for improvement - the king sized bed sagged in the middle because the bottom twin frames were not fastened together properly and had moved apart.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

luxury stay in this beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: the setting, decor, rooms and food. Also very close to Gatwick.
Cons: sign posted a bit better in the area to avoid getting lost. Bubble bath in the bathroom (we did ask if they had any but they didn't)
Location: very close to Gatwick, near petrol station and easy to get to by motorway
we stayed here on our honeymoon the night before travelling from Gatwick. Each room is individually named. We stayed in the "Leeds" room. the hotel is quiet, small and quaint. The staff were friendly and professional. The luxury chocolates waiting for us in our room when we arrived were a nice touch. We did plan on eating at the hotel in the restaurant but once we had each had a bath (in the only 4 poster hotel bath in Europe apparently) we decided to just order room service. The food was excellent. Would definitely recommend staying here on honeymoon to feel special and enjoy the luxury. ps - The hotel was difficult to find using the sat nav - just kept on sending us round in circles. you need to go down a narrow lane to get to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Escape Close To The Airport

Posted Sep 12, 2016
We only stayed one night to catch an early flight at Gatwick. Amenities were top notch and the room was roomy and clean. A seperate deep bathtub was the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Car parking is not included even though it states it is, there is a daily charge of £6.50. Also no airport shuttle available as stated on Expedia description. Hotel is lovely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, full of character, near Gatwick

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Very quiet spot near Airport. Had breakfast in the rose garden ... Lovely