Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Newly renovated in a beautiful setting

Posted Mar 11, 2017
There is visible building work going on and builders walking around. However for a very reasonably priced room including full breakfast buffet and use of spa facilities, it did not spoil my one night relaxation break. The newly renovated room in the main building felt modern with a good finish. Spa, restaurant and some rooms are in separate outbuildings but all within 2 minute's walk. The restaurant has a luxury feel. Food is of a very high standard although lunch and dinner menu are the same. Lots of outside seating space to relax with a gorgeous view looking out to a pond, green and woodland in the background. Staff are friendly and helpful. It's not perfect because of the building work, which is set to continue for a long time and will focus on different parts of the property in stages, but if you can look past that, it is a lovely hotel. During my stay there was no sign of the building work at the back of the property which is where spa, restaurant and woodland is so I was able to enjoy that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey UK

ongoing Renovations !

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: The indoor pool, The Wildebeest restaurant.
Cons: The Spa facilities need an overhaul.
On the whole I enjoyed my stay at the hotel for a friends birthday, on our mid week arrival, I was surprised to see a construction zone, I was rather taken aback as there was no mention of this on the hotels website, as a frequent traveller it is usual practice to share this information... So guests can have an informed choice, we discussed this with the reception staff, who understood, and said management have decided against this ? ..we asked to see a manager who was not available, my email address was taken with the proviso that I would be contacted within 24 hours, no communication from anyone so far ! a week on. However despite this the hotel is in a lovely setting overlooking Blackdown on the borders of Surrey and Sussex and it is beautifully landscaped. We did enjoy the light lunch in a recently refurbished restaurant with a super waiter from Romania. We had dinner in the Wildebeest restaurant in the evening, which was in the 14th century part of the hotel, very atmospheric and excellent food and service was experienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel and spa

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Perfect hotel, brilliant facilities absolutely loved it, only down fall was they had lots of works going on which meant the Internet was down from time to time meaning we couldn't pay for drinks and extras at the time. Also woken by the works when hoping for a lie in. Definitely would love to go bk once the works are done xx
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco CA

Overall Very nice

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Beds and rooms were fab!
Cons: Breakfast offerings and staff.
Overall we enjoyed our experience at the Lythe Hill Hotel - esp the bar staff. However, breakfast was lacking in fresh fruit and cheeses, the head waiter was rude.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel and spa

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Spa facilities
Cons: none
Location: Nice location as is so quiet and friendly
We have spend a night in this hotel as were pleased with the facilities.The only thing was that the remote control was missing in the room and took a time to sort out.Spa facilities as sauna,steam room and pool are very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Lovely setting, awful decor, lousy food!

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Room was large (suite) but decor unimaginative and furniture cheap and a bit spartan. Room difficult to heat and bathroom really cold. Restaurant a joke. Dinner was sent back (they still charged me). At breakfast i asked for two soft boiled eggs and the waiter asked me how long i wanted them cooked. Any chef knows cooking time depends on the size of the egg and whether or not it is at room temperature and it is the chef's job to gauge that. In the end one was fine the other all watery. I was pleased to get out but it could be so good. Shame
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spa Hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely location in the Surrey hills.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stylish, smart and good value

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
All of the staff were so pleasant and helpful, they could not have made me more welcome . The hotel is decorated in great taste. Lovely breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous facilities

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Such a pleasant experience, it was a total joy to come back to my room & sink into a lovely hot bath in my stunning bathroom! Pool & steam room were fab,I had the pool to myself most of the time. Breakfast was great & had a lot to chose from, dining room was very nicely laid out..I didn't want to leave, the staff were pleasant & polite..An absolute joy to stay there...I'll be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for a relaxing esacpe

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
Good breakfast but could have done with a few more vegetarian options. Great gym with good equipment.