Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from amersham

Under construction

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The spa which had great facilities and the surroundings are wonderful.
Cons: Communication between the staff on policy . Clearer instructions about spa charges.
Location: Near to Haslemere which is a lovely town. Set amongst amazing sussex countryside.
On arrival I was charged an extra 50GBP to 'cover room charges' and this was put onto my credit card. The following day they apologies saying this was not policy. My bill at check out had a wine charge which was not mine. The hotel setting is quite wonderful and the room very pleasant although the cleaners had left the windows open and it was cold for some time as the radiator did not work. Disappointed about the tudor house under renovation as it looked lovely previously. Was not informed that the spa cost extra after 11am and after complaining I was allowed to stay past 11 to find it was almost completely empty anyway. The spa facilities however , are great and well recommended. Breakfast was good . All in all a nice stay but seems like bad communication between the staff so I would check everything!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dartford Kent

Excellent Hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Lovely hotel set in beautiful grounds. Good spa and restaurant. Helpful staff. Our suite was spacious very clean with a huge bed and an amazing view.
Cons: Liked everything especially the Jacuzzi bath and views.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Haslemere

Undergoing renovation work

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: The room was spacious and decor modern and clean
Cons: Room was too hot. No way to regulate temperature except to blow a cold fan which seemed strange as my stay was mid-October.
This hotel is currently undergoing a lot of renovation work which I didn't know about until I arrived. There was a lot of noise and there was a workman in my corridor banging and playing the radio until 8.30pm when I called reception to ask them what time the workman would finish. The noise eventually stopped at 9pm.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well managed wedding

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Cheerful staff, comfortable atmosphere.
Cons: Not much.
Location: Not applicable
Stayed for our nephew's wedding, held at the hotel. Planned for outside, but started to rain just before service so moved inside. Managed well for short notice - only downside was lack of microphone for registrar which made it difficult to hear if you weren't at the front. Meal, evening reception and disco all well managed and very enjoyable. Comfortable room and lots of choice for breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with good facilities

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Stayed for one night. It was a Thursday and there were hardly any other guests there. Room was clean, comfortable, spacious and quiet. Meal in restaurant was excellent. Only problem was that our breakfast order was missed so we had to chase it up with reception and it eventually arrived an hour later than requested. They waived the room service charge though without us even asking. This wouldn't stop me from highly recommending this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely location, fabulous hotel and staff

Posted Aug 13, 2016
We arrived quite late but the staff went out of their way to make out stay a really enjoyable experience. In a lovely location and very clean. Absolutely no complaints
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Big rooms and quiet location with great views

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: The grounds and location
Cons: Buildings are old and in need of remodeling
Location: Excellent location. Quiet and tucked away in the countryside with town of Haslemere within a couple of miles.
Very pleasant stay. Dinners all a la carte and expensive. Enjoyed spa and swimming. Overall an enjoyable visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canterbury

Great location, 2 star accommodation!

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Great grounds and quiet.
Cons: Interior condition and the quality of the food.
Very disappointing as the executive room that we paid more for was such an anti-climax. The hotel was in the middle of refurbishment and room we stayed in was nothing special, no A/C, minimal amenities and no mini bar.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a very nice location

Posted Jul 1, 2016
We were very impressed with this hotel and it's facilities. It's Spa is very nice and so was the food!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for a night.

Posted May 30, 2016
The hotel is tired and in need of maintenance. Our room was extremely hot with hard to open windows. It looked out onto a bush 2m away so it was very dark. It was also dirty and I had to ask them to hover the floor. Breakfast was ok but basic. The spa is lovely, the only thing worth the visit.