Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Very relaxing stay at very comfortable hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Eveningg. Menu limited and overpriced.
Stayed for 4 nights with wife . Hotel very comfortable . Manor house style in beautiful grounds. Excellent pool and leasure facilities. Most helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

lovely hotel in a very quiet area

Posted Mar 14, 2017
had a fabulous experience and good time. room was good and easy to find. had a great time at vital spa
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Traditional country house style

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Location is good for Thames Valley and surrounding Business areas
Cons: A general decorative upgrade.
Location: Plenty of golf, easy access to London and West Country
Perfectly functional for a business trip, good communications to M3, M4, Airports and rail into London
5 out of 5
by Yafet

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Dyanne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Alison

Lovely hotel, some rooms in need of maintenance

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel generally was good. Our room was a bit shabby, the sofa was stained, there was a slipper under the bed, tiles missing in the bathroom. Maybe because we had our dog with us. Having said that ,it was great that dogs were allowed to stay!
4 out of 5
by Lauren

Nice property.

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
Quaint historical property. My only complaint is lack of elevator and not walking distance from any other restaurants. More suited to romantic get away, than business travel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Croydon

Pros and Cons

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 1 night over the weekend. The hotel itself is stunning and the grounds are well kept. We had a warm greeting from the hotel receptionist. The cleanliness of the hotel and room was amazing. When we arrived in the hotel our fridge wasn't working, the phone rang out several times when we called for help which is very unprofessional. I myself have worked at front of house in a hotel and this would not have been acceptable, a member of staff should always answer the phone. When we finally did get through to someone we were told it would be dealt with, but 20 minutes later no one had come up to our room. I rang again and spoke with a gentleman to which he said he would send someone up. A whole hour and a half after checking in still no one had come up to our room in the end my partner managed to switch on the fridge however no one did turn up to a hotel in that night to solve the issue. We had dinner in the restaurant which was lovely but I would say a little more variety would've been appreciate as I don't eat meat but there was only one fish and vegetarian option. Breakfast on the other hand was disappointing to say the least, plates were cold, food again was limited and not even hot. Tables were crammed together and little space to move. If you do want breakfast I would highly recommend you get included within your room rate otherwise you'll have to pay £19.50 per person which for what you get is not worth it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Dirty Bathroom

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: Better cleaning of the rooms Firmer beds Quiet fans
Just about the worst thing when staying at a place, the bathroom was pretty dirty, with some hairs and other detritus about the place. As we only needed the place to put our heads down for the night we didn't bother to complain, had we been staying longer we would have. Oh, and the mattress was back-achingly soft. Other points: All the staff members we spoke to during our stay were very nice and helpful. The included breakfast was decent - apart from the coffee which wasn't great. There was a constant noise from a fan or something that I couldn't turn off which also didn't help with sleeping.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels