Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Comfortable hotel in the Surrey Hills

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The pool was well maintained and had great opening times. Rooms were comfortable and the free bottles of water were very appreciated.
Cons: The hotel is currently being renovated so there were parts that looked a bit tired but are being worked on.
Location: The hotel is situated in fields and trees in the Surrey Hills and is also close to the center of Guildford and many National Trust properties.
Stayed for five days in this comfortable hotel with pool and spa facilities.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Don't book here. This hotel should be closed down.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
A shambolic renovation of a derelict building. I also suspect it may be unsafe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should make outside look better as well as inside.

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: should be good when finished but a long way to go - see previous answers
Cons: as above
Location: good location ,extensive grounds , close to Guildford - visited Polesden Lacey National Trust very nice
Ongoing work inside ,no problem, but outside appearance poor,would put people off if not already booked.Its obvious what needs doing just tidy it up.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fiji

Building Site and Filthy

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Fish and chips
Cons: Close until refurbishment is completed
Location: In the middle of noweher
This is a hotel undergoing refurbishment which in itself is not an issue, however it is dirty and a shambles. Before I go on I have to say the serving staff in the 'restaurant' were charming and the fish and chips surprisingly very good. On approach to the front of the hotel it's evident it's a building site, no hoarding to state they are refurbishing at all, bricks etc everywhere, I have attached a picture of the scene outside the bedroom window with pots every where. No mention on the Expedia listing...is this acceptable.? After a. 30 hour journey we arrived evening to be greeted by a woman at check in who, on printing our check in record asked what rate we have been given as she 'couldn't believe the rate I'm seeing' on her system. I told her we had no idea we were tired and shouldn't she have that? Our iPad was dead so we couldn't log in our selves easily to check. A conversation took place between herself and another staff member at check in whilst we stood there. She then relented and asked for payment, we advised her we'd already paid, she was having none of it, we duly paid...again. I then managed to find a charger for our phone, plugged in and called our bank at great expense as we live in Fiji. The bank advised Expedia had already taken the charge, she relented & made a refund to our account. On arrival to our room it was filthy please see pictures of what greeted us we were woken by builders working under the chimney i recorded the noise. can't upload.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from suffolk

Our stay at this hotel was terrible

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The downstairs of this hotel is partially re-decorated and beginning to look nice, but this didn't help our uncomfortable stay.
Location: The area outside this hotel is a well known beauty spot
This hotel is in the middle of a major uplift, which we didn't see mentioned on their web site, if it was anyway. a) Our room comprised of a mattress which didn't fit the bed frame. b) window blinds had broken slats. c) rainwater stains on the ceiling d) bathroom tiles that required re-grouting. e) a sloping ceiling, which made if difficult to move around the bed. f) the breakfast was of poor quality
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton, UK

Not 3 stars, everything broken, wouldn't recommend

Posted Jun 1, 2016
This 'hotel' is going through some major works. Our room didn't have a frame around the window, the curtains didn't fit and let light through, sheets didn't fit the bed, toilet seat was broken, wall paper hanging off the wall, all furniture old, tatty and horrible looking, no tea/enough pillows for two/only one glass... The whole building is in the same state, it looks horrible. This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. The photos on their website lie.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing special

Posted May 16, 2016
Clearly they are going through a renovation period, everything looked a little dated and could do with a lot of modernisation! No wow factor and considering it is known as a "hotel and spa" the spa was extremely disappointing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It will be nice when the refurb is finished

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Spa/Pool
Cons: It will be improved when the refurb has finished
Spa/Sauna/Steam room and pool very good, hotel is in the middle of a major refurbishment, what has been done is good and i am sure in another couple of months most of the work will have been completed, grounds are really nice, food was good and the service was very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely get-away-from-it-all!

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff are very friendly, particularly Nahid - the manger.
Cons: The buffet breakfast should really be left to be full buffet-style - we serve ourselves instead of a solo employee which created unnecessary queuing
Location: Need to have a car to get to the nearest attraction - no bus service
The hotel is located in an amazingly scenic area, where nature is all you see to the end of the horizon. Perfect for some time out/breathing space.
2 out of 5
by Mr IP

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels