Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Comfortable hotel good location for the town.

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Stayed one night here on 6th February. Hotel is well located in the middle of the town. We had no problems with on site parking, it was clean and comfortable albeit a little dated in places. Staff were helpful and efficient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

How has this stayed open so long?

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: It is handy for Dorking town centre
Cons: Decorating the rooms, sorting out the creaky floorboards
We are now frequent visitors to Dorking and are looking for the best place to stay whilst there. We have tried a few but this is the first time at the White Horse. Within 5 minutes of getting into our room we decided that it will be the last! Whilst many may like the Olde Worlde quaintness, I cannot see what really attracts people to stay here and how it has lasted so long. The room we were given was on the first floor (sort of) but we had to negotiate at least 3 sets of steps to get there. I wasn't expecting a lift in an old town hotel, but to have to haul 2 heavy suitcases up so many windy stairs was a pain. But not the end of the world. The room had the loudest creakiest floorboards I have ever experienced. It was impossible to move anywhere in any direction with creaking and groaning. There was no way of keeping quiet during the night when going to the bathroom! The floorboards in the corridor outside were just as nosiy so anyone passing by during the night woke us. The room and the bathrom looked tired and dated, well in need of a spruce up. There were broken floor and wall tiles in the bathroom. The shower is in a pretty narrow bath and has one of those passionate shower curtains that continually wants to give you a cuddle. The door to the bathroom actaully opens against the toilet pan. So to stop it banging into the toilet they have put a door stop sticking up from the floor in front of the toliet. A sure fire way to guarantee a stubbed toe in the dark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from croydon

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Stayed for a wedding rather than at the more expensive Mercure down the road , was nice a clean, comfy beds and not bad atall for the money , staff were helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by anthony edward

Mmmmmm......

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely old hotel.....sadly we were in the 1970s block at the back, not pointed out in the booking. We booked it to stay in an old fashioned coaching inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Not Provided

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul from Blandford

Upstairs downstairs.

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, more of a restaurant than a bar. Heating was broke but not a problem. Superior room was sadly lacking as upstairs was almost inside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jennifer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from plymouth

Jaded!

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Wonderful position, great building, but all a little sad. Poor choice of beers, And even worse selection of wine- the Pinot was awful, a view shared by several people in the bar. The food tasted ok but the presentation was very lacklustre. Breakfast was ok- poached eggs ordered and delivered not quite done! Staff very pleasant, but v.youngband I guess working to tight budgets- not balanced by budget charge!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Carl E. from Drammen

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
Fint opphold på et hotell med flott beliggenhet nær Surrey Hills
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rye, NY

Old fashioned charm

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: Old fashioned charm, with comfortable queen beds in the garden wing. Good amenities in the room (tea, coffee, iron, hairdryer, fridge and TV)
Cons: Heating and air conditioning should be fully automatic. I suffered in cold conditions as air con, although set to 30C, did not heat the room.
Location: Quiet town with decent walks nearby and train line to London
I've stayed here on several occasions as it is close to family in the Dorking area, but it is really the only decent choice. It is in a great location, being right in the middle of Dorking, and the restaurants and train stations are an easy walk away. The rooms do vary a bit in size and quality though - those in the main building are older and smaller for example.