Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth

Disappointing overall

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Has character
Cons: Bathroom fittings , shower curtains are obsolete these days .
Location: Shops
The first room we were put in was very cramped and hot . The double glazing was broken in the window frame and this room was the road side of the hotel so was noisy . We were moved to a much bigger room fortunately at the back of the hotel. I don't understand why you would not be given a decent room in the first place . The bathroom downlights were black and surrounded by mould . An upgrade is required for the bathrooms .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Allocated a nice room in the stables block. Breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
by Paul

Business trip

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, great breakfast and service. The only down side is the bar prices, very expensive £5.50 for a bottle of ale ???
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from Enfield, North London

White Horse Hotel - Quiet, Clean & Friendly

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
I was attending a business course, nearby, and White Horse, was convenient for this. the hotel staff were friendly, and the room was comfortable. If. I need to be back in this area, I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: There is a fabulous bar area/lounge which residents should be encouraged to use. Maybe they would if the staff were available and welcoming.
Reception staff polite and friendly. When asked if we could have a late drink as we had been previously advised it would be fine the member of staff at the bar was blatantly put out and rude.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Comfortable hotel good location for the town.

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Stayed one night here on 6th February. Hotel is well located in the middle of the town. We had no problems with on site parking, it was clean and comfortable albeit a little dated in places. Staff were helpful and efficient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

How has this stayed open so long?

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: It is handy for Dorking town centre
Cons: Decorating the rooms, sorting out the creaky floorboards
We are now frequent visitors to Dorking and are looking for the best place to stay whilst there. We have tried a few but this is the first time at the White Horse. Within 5 minutes of getting into our room we decided that it will be the last! Whilst many may like the Olde Worlde quaintness, I cannot see what really attracts people to stay here and how it has lasted so long. The room we were given was on the first floor (sort of) but we had to negotiate at least 3 sets of steps to get there. I wasn't expecting a lift in an old town hotel, but to have to haul 2 heavy suitcases up so many windy stairs was a pain. But not the end of the world. The room had the loudest creakiest floorboards I have ever experienced. It was impossible to move anywhere in any direction with creaking and groaning. There was no way of keeping quiet during the night when going to the bathroom! The floorboards in the corridor outside were just as nosiy so anyone passing by during the night woke us. The room and the bathrom looked tired and dated, well in need of a spruce up. There were broken floor and wall tiles in the bathroom. The shower is in a pretty narrow bath and has one of those passionate shower curtains that continually wants to give you a cuddle. The door to the bathroom actaully opens against the toilet pan. So to stop it banging into the toilet they have put a door stop sticking up from the floor in front of the toliet. A sure fire way to guarantee a stubbed toe in the dark.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and underwhelmed.

Posted Dec 30, 2015 on Hotels
Overpriced. We booked a "superior room" Not sure what you get for the extra money over a "standard" double. Just found out about the huge mark-up "hotel booking websites" stick on the price of the rooms too.
3 out of 5
by Richard

Ok but tired

Posted Dec 25, 2015 on Hotels
Room and particularly the bathroom, although clean, was tired and in need of updating, no real ales on tap. Breakfast was very good and included in our room cost but would have been very expensive if an addition.
4 out of 5
by Andrew from Norfolk

Average stay

Posted Dec 25, 2015 on Hotels
Average stay, no spaces in car park.