Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very warm welcome from staff

Posted Dec 5, 2016
The room was comfortable. clean and quiet, the staff made us feel very welcome, outstanding service!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth

Disappointing overall

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Has character
Cons: Bathroom fittings , shower curtains are obsolete these days .
Location: Shops
The first room we were put in was very cramped and hot . The double glazing was broken in the window frame and this room was the road side of the hotel so was noisy . We were moved to a much bigger room fortunately at the back of the hotel. I don't understand why you would not be given a decent room in the first place . The bathroom downlights were black and surrounded by mould . An upgrade is required for the bathrooms .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Allocated a nice room in the stables block. Breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Birmingham

Comfy bed, nice and central for Dorking stays

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Perfectly adequate for an overnight business stay. The main building is a quaint, timbered structure with a nice lounge area and bar. My room was in one of the more modern annexes, which were a bit dated, to be honest, but totally fine, comfortable and clean for a short stay. Surprisingly, the bed was really comfy, and I had a great night's sleep. Definitely great for an easy visit if you're working in or visiting the centre of Dorking. Just a short walk (maybe 15 minutes) from the train station, and right on the main street.
3 out of 5
by Greg

Convenient if a little over priced

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
I've stayed here lots of times now and the experience greatly depends on which room you get. This time I was in one of the courtyard rooms which are definitely the best: quiet comfortable and well maintained. The rooms in the old part of the building are too hot in summer and can be noisy if you are facing the high street or over the kitchen and its extractor fans. The rooms in the new(er) block at the back are a bit scruffy and in need of refurb but are quiet. Service is usually good at the desk but bar staff vary greatly. Food in the restaurant is very average and not worth bothering with especially with so many alternative eaterys nearby
5 out of 5
by Ms.Jane from Portsmouth

family wedding

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
We had a family wedding to attend, hence booking the hotel. I liked the 1950's feel to the room. It was tastefully furnished and comfortable. There were a nice selection of teas an coffees too, always good after a long journey and a busy day.
4 out of 5
by Lois from Chelmsford

Great base for places of interest.

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
We had visited the hotel when our Australian friends were staying there for a birthday celebration and were so impressed by the welcome the staff gave all their clients that we decided to meet friends and stay there for a few days' break. Our room was in the newer section and was quiet and well serviced. All the staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The decor is a little tired but that simply added to its charm, and it had a family feel to it. The breakfasts were excellent. Alice, Geri, Josie, Anka, Molly and Ollie, thank you.
3 out of 5
by John from Swanage

Friendly staff, cental position, no real ale.

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is full of character but it's been a bit neglected. Carpet in bedroom was threadbare. Pitty they don't serve real ale, it meant they lost our custom for evening meals and nightcaps.
4 out of 5
by Brian from Wiltshire

Great for a short break

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Only one night so unable to enjoy fully the ambiance of this historic old coaching house. Would come again.
4 out of 5
by Paul

Business trip

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, great breakfast and service. The only down side is the bar prices, very expensive £5.50 for a bottle of ale ???