Ratings based on 594 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cornwall

Very very upset absolutely full of refugees150 +

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Absolutely terrible time , nightmare actually, full of refugees . Packed in lounges , reception,couldn't use wifi area because so busy with refugees, staff rude ,very noisy,very very unpleasant all around, felt like a prisoner in my room . Never go there again ,never tell anyone to go there . Am going to write to Britannia head office to complain .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kent


Posted Oct 29, 2015
Pros: Absolutely nothing
Cons: Too late.... it's a lost cause
Location: Middle of nowhere.say no more
What a huge mistake booking here! Lock yourself in your room for your own safety. Once in your room you'll find there's only one socket to power your entire needs although you can get an extension lead from reception for a £5 deposit but expect it to be unfit for purpose-just like this dump! This 'hotel' or should it be 'hostel' should be condemned. Full of refugees and unsuspecting guests. Can't emphasis enough...don't even consider it!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Listen to the reviews and DON'T stay here!

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Hotel is rundown and shabby. Staff made us wait in the lobby until "check in time" even though room was ready. The "restaurant" only serves a buffet. The "lounge" has a light meal menu which we were told was unavailable except for cold sandwiches. There is people loitering in the lobby and front stoop/entrance at all times of night and day...not sure if they were guests or not but definitely did not make us feel safe.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't bother!

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Free parking.
Cons: Everything.
Just terrible, is all i can say. Have a look on Tripadvisor. Do not book here. There is a Travelodge up the road which is £20 more, but at least you will get some sleep in a comfy clean room and the lobby wont be filled with large groups of men smoking weed on the doorstep! Absolutely dreadful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uk

Felt more like a detention camp.

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Hotel in bad need of repainting. Carpet in room was dirty. Hotel is being used as a "halfway house" for immigrants awaiting deportation so lobby, lounge and outside area was full of these people. Some asked UK guests for money etc. People felt uncomfortable & intimidated. I bet this post is deleted.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very kind staff

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Moldy windows have not been properly cleaned for very long.... Very helpful staff at the reception and in restaurant... Big rooms but 0 view... Website not updated since ages. Lots of info on website is not any more valid. No Wi-Fi, no shuttle to airport. A cab is indispensable for every move out of the hotel and back.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Atfirstglance I was not impressed with the amount

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Amount of people in the place did not impress me. It was good experience and the room did not have widows and I felt suffocated in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bearable for one night

Posted Oct 13, 2015
The hotel is older and more tired than the photos show. Our room had one high window which you couldn't see out of so couldn't have it open to provide air. It was very tired and an odd shape and basic facilities. The hotel's own website stated that there was a shuttle bus to the airport but on checking in was informed this had stopped before the summer of 2015 and now a taxi service was available for £9 each way to Gatwick airport - more than the £5 shuttle bus! We only stayed the one night and did not eat at the hotel. It reminded us of Fawlty Towers TV show. It could do with a make over.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Ideal for short stay and for Gatwick link

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: The location was very pleasant
Cons: General refurb
Location: The location of the hotel only lends its self for use for Gatwick airport
Staff were very helpful and pleasant, for the price we paid we were very happy with the accomadation, .....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Disappointing in many ways

Posted Sep 27, 2015
This was our fifth time in recent years staying at Russ Hill. We were very surprised & not at all pleased to discover on arrival at Gatwick that a shuttle bus no longer runs between airport and hotel. This should be clearly stated on the website, instead of which a reference is still made to a shuttle bus & the cost of the round trip. In fact we were referred to a taxi company and had to pay 18 pounds round trip. We were also not at all pleased to be given a room without a window. I'm surprised building codes permit this. We'll certainly think twice about staying at Russ Hill on our future trips.