Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great value for the money!

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: It's surroundings
Cons: You could always improve something but as a general observation,for the money,it's a bargain I think
Location: I was just transiting but coming back I travelled the A roads from the hotel via Reigate hill on a wintery but sunny day and the views were quite beau
Great value and convenient for Gatwick, Taxi to Airprt 15 mins and costs £9.00 each way staff are friendly and food choice is acceptable,all in all a good experience and I would recommend it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Suits purpose

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Perfect location. Repeat visitor Would recommend Value for money
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tired Hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Location, quiet
Cons: general condition, room refurbishment, nicer beds
Although hotel is big and located OK the rooms are small, and in need of much needed refurbishment. Beds squeak
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Decent for the price

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Nice washroom, clean and big.
Room was freezing, took a while to get heater to turn on because there were so many buttons. Staff at the desk barely spoke to me and the hotel is so huge is was a long walk to my room and hard to find your way out again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid this hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Room in terrible condition, dirty. No shuttle available, no public access except by taxi.I would not rate this hotel as three stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Basic nothing fancy. You get what you pay for.

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: It's an old hotel with old charm. The rooms are basic, clean and comfortable. The price for the room was great.
Cons: I wasn't there long enough to find a complaint.
Location: Well its very close to the airport, that's why I've stayed there . The price was good.
I'll give it an 8 out of 10 for it being comfortable and clean but there are no extra's . For example i wanted a cup of tea with no caffeine but there wasn't any tea other than plain black. The TV was from the early 2000 but it worked. I only stayed one night so I was closer to Gatwick airport. I got a little lost finding the hotel as you have to drive down a country road and it was night and pitch black. There are sign posts if you look for them. I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Tired hotel and far from Gatwick

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything. And a shuttle service to airport.
Location: Far away if you are using public transport. Only taxi to get there
I needed to be at Gatwick airport early in the morning and decided to find an hotel close to the airport. I was using public transport and this hotel is far and does not have a shuttle service as advertised and the taxi cost £18 a round trip. I should rather have booked into a Premier or hotel within walking distance of Gatwick. The Russ Hill Hotel is tired. I definitely would never book here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Weston Super Mare

Mixed views but good value

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Rocco and our evening meal, plus great value.
Cons: Wi-Fi, better receptionist at all times, signs for where hotel guests park, sound proofing of rooms
Location: Close to Gatwick Airport and not that far from Crawley and Horsham
At check in the receptionist never even spoke to us and even though we booked a double room we got given a cramped twin room with a high window that showed and heard the planes. Next day on reception Rocco was on duty and I would give him 5 stars as he was polite and efficiently swapped us for our remaining 2 nights for a double where you barely heard the planes and you had room at the side of your bed. The evening meal was good and exceptional value. Downside no Wi-Fi ANYWHERE EXCEPT RECEPTION area and EE phone reception non existent. Basically our first night 1 star at everything other 2 nights at least a 3 star. Rocco also told us about cheaper meal deals if you book on arrival, this was not said by original receptionist whom I was told has now been fired.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I was disappointed...

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: The price was low
Cons: internet in the rooms
Location: It was a little out so you needed a car or tour bus
One of the desk clerks was not personable and he was short, not quit courteous. I had to tell the room service to change the shower curtain because it had mildew and you could smell it in the bathroom. There is NO INTERNET IN THE ROOMS. I guess you get what you pay for!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Literally right next to the runway of Gatwick Airp

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Fairly close to Gatwick
Cons: New flooring in the rooms Slightly nicer tv's would be nice
Ok place to stay as a transition for the night before a flight. Food is way overpriced as is drink. (2.50 pounds for a tiny bottle of coke!) Bed was hard but I like that so we slept well. Clean minus the old, yucky carpets. Nothing in the room to speak of. Very bare bones with a tiny tv. Like I said, fine for a night but wouldn't want to be there long term.