Ratings based on 800 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kidsgrove

Posted May 18, 2017
Conveniently located near to Gatwick north terminal. Ideal for a pre-flight overnight stay. Basic, but good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from peckham

Was grate

Posted May 14, 2017
It was onederfull I love it on I will always go back for it's a nice place to go on every ting about it it grate , so yes I would tell a friend to go there if them looking for a hotel for a night or the weekend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable hotel near Gatwick

Posted May 12, 2017
This hotel is fine if you need to be near Gatwick, but prepare to pay £10-£16 in cab fees back and forth. Hotel staff was great. The beds were comfortable but sheets weren't very soft and pillow wasn't very good. Loud with air traffic overhead. Had a pricey breakfast option that we didn't try.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close Gatwick airport but old style bath taps

Posted May 8, 2017
very old style bath taps are separate very hot or cold , you can't mix them staff was roud no smile no well coming Hard to find parking don't order food, better to go out even for breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
Fine for the money if a bit remote from the airport. The money you save is spent on taxis
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waterloo

Pre-flight Hotel

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Cons: Wi-fi in the room would help, but Brittania are reluctant to invest.
Location: Reasonable distance from the airport so you do not hear the 'planes, but there really is nothing to do but visit the local pubs.
Hotel needs some TLC - much in need of repair and re-decorating. Restaurant is like a school canteen and gets very crowded and noisy when bus trips stop (a frequent occurrence). Breakfast adequate but expensive, as was the evening meal. There are good pubs in the village to eat which give better value. Room was clean, as was the linen. Adequate hotel to stop overnight before taking a flight from Gatwick.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Only positive is that it is 5 mins to the airport

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Change management first. Improve food quality. Needs big upgrade. Change carpet in hallways.
There was no warm friendly greeting at the desk. TV was very antiquated and when we wanted a remote control they just gave us any old one with no back on it that didn't work either. Very unhelpful. Room very pokey with no window and very stuffy. Very poor food. Tasteless food, cheap cafe style restaurant. We were even quizzed when we wanted extra coffee and tea in the room. Passageways smelt musty and old. Would not recommend or stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta GA

Relaxing Stay

Posted May 2, 2017
The Hotel is in the forest gardens near the Gatwick airport. You have to have a car to go to restaurants etc. we got a very good deal with Expedia and stayed 7 nights. The staff are very helpful and rooms on the upper floor are comfortable and have windows that can open. For a couple room 123 and 135 are preferred. The room cleaning is good. However, as we were staying longer they did not change the sheets for two consecutive days. Also the tea and coffee were not supplied. So we had to request every time. Overall it's a nice hotel and when the windows are closed there are no noice from the aeroplanes. However, as the hotel has many guests staying just overnight for the next day flight there is noice at night as guests come and go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice clean basic hotel with great staff

Posted May 2, 2017
This hotel was real value for money, we stayed over a bank holiday for 2 nights myself and my son. Basic rooms but very clean and cleaned whilst we were there ( replaced towels n beds remade) friendly helpful staff. Would recommend to friends and will use again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Overnight stay to meet with family

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was good - staff pleasant and generally hotel was clean.
Cons: Booked breakfast when I booked the room - would suggest waiting until arrival as it would have been 30% cheaper at check in!
Location: Good for Gatwick - Easy journey to South Coast.
Booked for location - hotel has ample parking and adequate facilities. I have had both good and less than good experiences staying (and booking) Britannia Hotels - overall this wasn't bad. A few areas could do with some maintenance, but generally clean and acceptable. The ground floor room with skylight was fine - apart from the bed! so firm almost to the point of painful on hips shoulders knees and elbows!