Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It didn't happen

Posted Aug 28, 2016
I cannot offer any opinion on this hotel as I was never able to arrive. Despite booking in May for an August stay (for a wedding locally) I received an e-mail from Expedia 3 days before the stay to say that the establishment would not be able to fulfill my reservation. I called the hotel in slight astonishment to be told that they had an exclusive wedding (not the one I was attending) booked that night and they made an error in thinking I was part of that party (despite my booking being entirely separate and through Expedia). They were reasonably helpful on the phone, and they arranged alternative accommodation (Holiday Inn - London Gatwick, noting they never called me back or emailed to confirm this, I had to call the Holiday Inn myself to do so) so no big loss in the end, and it may well be that this was just a one off case of human error (hence the 2 stars rather than one). I would say though to anyone considering a stay at Stanhill Court that you cannot take a reservation as red, it is more just a gamble that they may be able to accommodate you on that date. The photos of the place look lovely, and I'm sure it is, is just a shame I never got to experience it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic place full of character

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly clean welcoming great venue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We look forward to welcoming you back , thank you
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Quaint & Charming

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Setting and quiet.
Location: Very remote actually.
Check in staff was lovely and the bar man was absolutely a gem.
5 out of 5
by Fiona from Victoria, BC

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We look forward to welcoming you back , thank you for taking the time to post .
5 out of 5
by John

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
had an very comfortable stay
4 out of 5
by Ann Patricia from københavn

Dejligt ophold på et dejlidt hotel

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
Vi fik meget kvalitet til prisen. Det var en dejlig, rolig atmosfære på hotellet, og vi slappede 100 pct. af. Morgenmaden var dejlig. Der var en anelse lydt mellem værelserne, vi kunne høre naboens TV.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2016
A bit dated and tired. My bathroom smelled of urine. Nice quiet location. Average for the price and if you prefer a something a little different to budget hotels such as premier inn etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gloucester

Great but could improve

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere, the food was amazing and there is a no nonsense feel to this hotel
Cons: The heating in the common areas and the lights in the corridor next to my room, these were out but there was no one to report it too.
Location: N/A
The fire alarm was faulty and kept going off and no explanation was given, however I believe it was just a fault in the kitchen which was beyond normal.
4 out of 5
by MaryAnn from Blaenau Ffestiniog

Unique and full of character

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
This is a lovely old building with a beautiful hall and staircase in a stunning woodland setting, very handy for Gatwick airport. The staff are incredibly helpful and nice. The only downside is that it is getting a little worn around the edges and the decor could do with a refresh.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Fantastic getaway

Posted Dec 10, 2015
Stayed at hotel as a short anniversary getaway. The hotel has a friendly atmosphere. The bedroom and bathroom are a little on the small size but the four poster bed is amazing and very comfortable. Very quiet and suspect we were the only guests in the entire hotel but it was late November. Breakfast was very good with excellent service. Overall a beautiful hotel and will certainly stay again.