Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

No TV, room very hot, shower on hot only!

Posted Jun 23, 2017
I appreciate the recent weather was unusually hot, but the room Was unbearably hot, no fan or air con, no TV, then supplied on that didn't work! Shower only ran hot so couldn't even have a cools shower to cool off! Staff tried to help but were both scarce and unsuccessful! Not good! Very dated hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Always friendly staff

Posted May 18, 2017
Fun, friendly staff, great bar food ..,stayed a few times now , only problem is the TV and remote , staff always on hand to help .comfy bed and great shower
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2017
All good, thanks .
4 out of 5
by Verity

Nice

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic location. Only downside was limescale in kettles so cups of tea were tainted all the time, and the doors to rooms would slam shut so either you would wake people or people would wake you at any time! Very nice overall and lovely staff
2 out of 5
by Janice

Tired rooms and staff need retraining in all areas

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Housekeeping and cleaning was poor. All staff need retraining in housekeeping and those on reception need to train in welcoming guests and general politeness.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Realistically reasonable

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
A very good deal, and the room and breakfast were quite reasonable given that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Cons: The hotel rooms and corridors are in need of refurbishment, with old-fashioned bathroom taps and shower, shabby carpets and some shabby furniture.
The hotel was easy to find and we had a comfortable stay for three nights, with no excessive noise from the nearby road. We enjoyed the breakfasts and bar meals were good. Plenty of free parking. We thought the rooms and corridors were in need of refurbishment, with shabby carpets in places and plain old-fashioned bathrooms. Also some of the lounge furniture was looking a little battered. Reception and dining-room staff were very helpful. Overall a very good stay a nd we will definitely book this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by Graham

Amazing stay! Will be coming back ☆

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing stay at thatchers. Only problem we found was the hotel had no atmosphere to it as it was too quiet. Not many other guests was there. We used the local pub/restaurant across the road and had an amazing night in there. The hotel was a warm and welcoming place to come back to and was brilliant service. Will deffinately be coming back
5 out of 5
by Dawn

Overall good

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Very helpful staff. A little dated but clean and cosy very good area historic area. Beautiful scenery
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
no problems - great shower