Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bath

Average Hotel for a great price

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Pleasant staff, great 'room only' price with added breakfast option at a very reasonable cost.
Cons: More than one ale on tap in the bar.
Location: National Trust site - The Devils Punchbowl
My wife and I needed somewhere to stay in the area and the Devils Punchbowl offered a rate including breakfast that was far more competitive than anywhere else in the vicinity. We got a pleasant welcome from reception on arrival and our room was clean, comfortable and tidy. Breakfast was good value and the only reason our overall rating wasn't higher was the bar, which only offered only one real ale (which was past its best) with draught lager, cider and bottled beer as the only alternative. I would recommend the Devils Punchbowl to anyone who puts value for money ahead of a special place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely old-fashioned hotel right by the woods

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Gorgeous old fashioned hotel right by the Punchbowl, perfect location for a weekend away in the country. The staff are truly wonderful. We had a little trouble with our room and they went out of their way to make us comfortable, above and beyond what we expected. The evening meals were lovely and the room facilities adequate. Special thanks to the night manager who ensures we were happy and comfortable. We would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad & Tobago

Charming and comfortable hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: It's charm, the friendliness and the food
Cons: instructions on how to use the shower
Location: I only stayed overnight as I was attending a wedding nearby.
It's an old hotel and full of charm. I had a delicious pub style lunch in the restaurant/pub and an amazing full English breakfast (eat as much as you like) in the morning. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I couldn't get hot water in my shower and the front desk clerk came up promptly and showed me how to use it. The room was spacious and warm (October) with lots of storage space and a modern bathroom. I was very pleased with my stay there.
5 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Peter from Canterbury

Great hotel for good price. Nice pub downstairs.

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel for good price. Nice pub downstairs.
4 out of 5
by Colin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Very good in quiet location.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of staff, food and quiet location.
Cons: Maybe a movable ramp so to have ease of access to the ground floor rooms.
Location: We were there for a wedding so unfortunately unable to comment on things to do.
Disabled parking could be clearer and bigger plus there were two steps,and that is where the negative ends, the management apologised for not being fully disabled friendly. The hotel was better than expected for the price and the rooms were on the ground floor and with the exception of the two steps was easily accessible. Evening meal was as good as any hotel in the area and even better than some of the more expensive ones (worth dining there even if you do not stay there. Breakfast was £5 per head and all you can eat, from cereal's and yogurt to full English with a selection of teas and coffees. Overall even with the disabled problem it was a very good stay,
3 out of 5
by Chris from Guilden morden

Basil

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Bad points : The room we stayed in room 208 on 30th July was in need of a facelift, the bathroom was disgusting the ceiling had black mould, floor tile broke , the room smelt of damp, We also booked a table for a meal as we had arranged to meet our friend there , their was a kareoke going on had to shout our order then ten minutes later waiter came back and told us they had run out of what we ordered . As this was supposed to be a new menu then why run out , when we asked why they said they had had a busy lunch time trade , we we booked in early 13:30 and the place was empty, then the main course came out before the starters. Good points : ?? In 2 words Faulty towers,