Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA.

Nice hotel.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Cons: Rooms are a little dated, a little bit of soundproofing would help so you can't hear nearby residents talking in nearby rooms/hallway.
We travelled down to stay at the hotel as it was nearby where a family member lived. The Hotel itself is very hard to find at night, so better road signs would help, especially around the local villages, after traveling all day due to arriving from the USA earlier in the day then hitting continuous road diversions enroute from Lancashire....heck I was ready to just sleep in the car on the roadside as we had so many problems trying to locate the hotel, The front desk guy was polite when we rang through to say we would be late & helpful when we eventually arrived. We stayed mid week for one night, but it was noisy as a group on the same floor were constantly going from room to room....and the walls are basically paper thin. We didn't try any food there, so can't comment on that. The bed was pretty hard, but luckily we were exhausted so managed to fall asleep. An extractor fan in the bathroom would be helpful as there are none. Anyone 6ft tall, be prepared to duck your head in the shower, as the ceilings are low. The hotel is situated in a nice quiet area, surrounded by greenery which was nice to see, and private car park which I appreciated as I had a car full of items that I really didn't want to have to remove that night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crete

Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: More or less everything!
Location: As I was visiting friends near the Hotel i did not go and see the Tourist side!
Spend 2 Nights there. Room very comfortable and quiet. Staff very friendly. Easy Access from Mainroad.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Ok nothing great or bad. Busy main road some traffic noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Extremely friendly staff

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Although some areas need a little updating, overall it was a most pleasant stay and we would recommend it to anyone
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for noisy A31

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms are dated and no aircon. Not worth the nightly cost they charge. No room service menu in the room (even though 24hr room service available). Bar not stocked that well - no Bacardi and Guinness only in a can. Worthington smooth was about as smooth as sandpaper. Mediocre breakfast not worth £10.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Always great to stay at The Hogs Back

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff as always
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
All OK, however felt the air-con unit was a little intrusive for the size of the room. Staff helpful, leisure facilities enjoyable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay for the Price.

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Took a while to get TV to work. Probably, just an old TV or bad remote. Constantly had to click the remote control countless time to get it to work. Confidentiality is nonexistent. They gave my room number to my Uncle (just because we have the same last name) without my consent. What if he were a Hired Assassin or Robber ? Everything else was okay, until my last night. I was sitting in the lobby when another distant-10th degree relative walked up to the guys on the night shift, asked for my Cousin's room number, and they gave it to her !!! Was sitting in the lobby and a straight lady and her gay male friend were "hitting" and flirting with me in the lobby. Asking if I want her to come to my room. Told her I was going back to the US in few hours, nicely turned her down, but I tried to engage them in reasonable conversation about other small talks. Few minutes when I was about to leave the lobby, I walked towards the lady to say good night - only for the Receptionist Andreas, to walk up to me and in a stern, abrasive, disrespectful tone of voice tell me " She doesn't like you, leave her alone, go away, don't talk to her" !!! I was stunned.Here I am, thinking about the fact that this lady was asking me to take her to my room, she told me Andreas is gay and she will like to hook Andreas up with the other friend, etc. To say I was confused is an understatement. I assumed that common sense or courtesy could have suggested that the receptionist pull me aside, tell me to go away
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Cant really say much as visit was for a family funeral so stay was brief
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Peace and relative quiet!

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
We had an indulgent and relaxing time. Our room was a fair size, and clean, and although the decor of the room, as of the hotel, is a little dated, there was nothing wrong with it. We very much enjoyed using the sauna, steam and pool facilities, and slept very well. The hotel is located next to a busy road, but set back in its own grounds, so it will never be completely quiet, especially with windows open during hot weather. However, it was a welcome change from city centres, and the customer service is very good indeed