Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Susan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Josh from Canada

Very rude host, mould in showers. Don't stay here.

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
We booked one night at the Lawn Guesthouse since we had an overnight layover on our way home. We knew we would arrive past regular check in hours, so we included this information in our reservation. However when we arrived the house was locked and we had no way in. We rang the buzzer only to be yelled at by the host and accused of being rude. He told us to let ourselves in or go away. Another guest came out for a smoke and we were able to get in and retrieve our key from inside. The room was clean, except for the stench of mould coming from the bathroom. I've seen other reviewers complaining about this same problem and the host always replies as though he is shocked to hear it. The hotel hasn't addressed their mould problem, they simply spray more air fresheners to try and cover it up. The next morning, we were eager to leave, but we saw posters all throughout the hotel advertising breakfast that gave the impression it was included with your stay. It wasn't until after we helped ourselves to the meagre continental breakfast that the host came out and informed us that it wasn't included with our particular room (probably because he was angry at us for checking in late). 5 pounds for a dry piece of toast and an egg is severely overpriced. Overall I would not recommend staying here. There are dozens of accommodation options in the area, all of which would be 100% better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Josh, it is not in my interest to treat guests in the way you have explained. Let me be clear with your reservation. You arrived at 1am without prior notification and therefore you wasnt given the late entry instructions. It would have been good for you to have contacted us to advise that you are arriving late. You made your reservation without breakfast and therefore I advised that there is an additional charge for this. There is a greater selection than your description of what is included with the £5 supplement. Mould in bathrooms are constantly being addressed and cleaned regularly. We appologies we couldnt satisfy you on this occasion. Regards Quasim Suhail
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice people, not impressed with hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Nice people at hotel but very hard beds, mold in shower, wifi very slow then stopped working, dirty carpet, side of bath coming apart, water damage to floor of bathroom, window did not work properly etc...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Small windows. Toilet seat broken and on the floor

Posted Jul 23, 2016
The weather outside was very hot. I was on the top (3rd) floor and the room had little ventilation. Ceiling fan was inadequate. Toilet seat not attached and sitting on floor. Asked for refund because I chose not to stay the 2nd night and was only given £20 back, whereas the room cost £76/night. Clerk stated he didn't want to impact his commissions and that I'm lucky to get any money back at all. He was kind and understood that it was just just bad luck with the weather, but I do feel like I was not properly refunded.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great host!

Posted Jul 20, 2016
This was a perfect place to stay, the host was so gracious and clearly wanted everything to go perfectly for our stay. Restaurants were minutes away, the rooms were well kept and the ride to the airport was cheaper than the cab to the guest house. The breakfast was very nice as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great location for one night stay

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Great location for one night stay close to the airport. Great restaurants close by - walking distance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Friendly greeting upon arrival, comfortable and clean room, great included breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy access from the airport. Friendly staff

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Pleasant experience for travelers needing a place near Gatwick
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pitt Meadows, BC

good priced hotel close to Gatwick Airport

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: Close to Gatwick, in nice quiet walkable village
Cons: ensuite size
Location: Restraunts, pub & shopping with-in 3 minute walk
Nice Hotel, provides good breakfast, pick up & drop off shuttle to Gatwick Airport, very Friendly family run Hotel in quiet village with quaint shopping Pub's & Restaurants
2 out of 5
by francis from Nivelle

à déconseiller

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Vieillot,demande a être rafraîchi.Absolument pas conforme aux photos publiees´...moins bien que sur les,photos.Petit'dejeuner' compris..heureusement:très peu varie,peu goûteux,dans une vaisselle usée,porte fermée ã 8h45.A déconseiller