Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA USA

Wonderful hotel close to Windsor

Posted May 3, 2017
The Runnymede on Thames was a wonderful hotel central to Windsor and the Egham train station so it was easy to get into London or enjoy A nice relaxing day in Windsor. The room was very clean and exactly as expected. The staff was welcoming and so pleasant! We enjoyed sitting in the lounge having a pint of beer or cider and scones and tea. The grounds are lovely. My friend enjoyed the gym a lot! Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Craig Spencer, Hotel Management
Thank you for your glowing review of the runnymede~on~thames. I am glad you found us well situated for Windsor and Egham train station. I am also pleased the team were friendly and welcoming and you managed to relax in the lounge. It is also glad to know your friend enjoyed the gym. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Craig Spencer Guest Relations / Resident Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nicely run hotel. Pleasant courteous staff

Posted May 2, 2017
Would go back soon. Pleasant location on the Thames
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Craig Spencer, Hotel Management
Thank you for your amazing review of the runnymede~on~thames and I am delighted you found us to be a nicely run hotel with pleasant and courteous staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Craig Spencer Guest Relations / Resident Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Great location

Posted May 2, 2017
Great service, friendly staff. Had a bit of a hiccup checking in. They tried to charge me a substantial amount more than my reservation. Manager came and took a copy of my reservation confirmation and changed the price. Also found it strange that both restaurants stopped serving food at 2pm. Reopened at 5 or 6. That was inconvenient, especially if you have just arrived.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Craig Spencer, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the runnymede~on~thames and I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay and experienced great service from our friendly team. I am however sorry that we accidentally tried to charge you an incorrect amount upon check in, however I am glad this was quickly resolved by the manager on duty. I am sorry that you were not able to get into the restaurant of your choice on arrival. We do serve food throughout the day in our lounge bar but fully accept that this may not have been preferred option. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Craig Spencer Guest Relations / Resident Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bromley Kent

Nice hotel on the river

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Greeted by pleasant hotel staff,courteous,informative and helpful.Only critisiscm i would have is a shame balconies wern,t fitted at time of construction si we could sit out on them in evening looking out onto river.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Craig Spencer, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fantastic review of the runnymede~on~thames and I am delighted you were greeted by “pleasant, courteous, informative and helpful staff” I will be sure to pass this feedback onto management as it’s always good for them to know their efforts are appreciated. With regards to the balconies it is something we aren’t able to implement unfortunately but we do have outdoor terrace space available where guests can sit outside and enjoy the view. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Craig Spencer Guest Relations / Resident Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pontypridd

Close to the Thames

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location Spa and food
Cons: Nothing
Stayed for one night over Easter. Room was small but more than adequate. Food in the left bar was excellent for both evening meal and breakfast. Hotel is situated on the bank of the Thames which affords lovely walks and easy access to Windsor and other attractions. The spa and swimming pool were both spotlessly clean and I would recommend a visit to enjoy all the facilities
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Craig Spencer, Hotel Management
Thank you for your glowing review of the runnymede-on-thames and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us over Easter finding the food in Leftbank excellent at both dinner and breakfast and the location on the banks of the River Thames and close to Windsor and the local attractions ideal. I am also glad that you found the spa spotlessly clean and that you would recommend the runnymede to others. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Beautiful hotel for a girlie spa weekend.

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Thank you Runnymede for a wonderful stay! The staff couldn't do enough to help and went out of their way to ensure my birthday was one to remember. Fabulous place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by Craig Spencer, Hotel Management
Thank you for your glowing review of the runnymede and I am delighted to see that the team here went out of their way to ensure that you had a wonderful birthday. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Very nice hotel.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
It was a very pleasant stay! The food at the lock bar and kitchen was amazing! The rooms were very tired and the spa was good. I would definitely recommend this accomodation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Harry, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the runnymede~on~thames and I am delighted you had a very pleasant stay with us and indulged in the amazing food at the Lock Bar & Kitchen as well as making the most of the spa. I am sorry you felt the rooms were very tired, as our maintenance team do endeavour to maintain our rooms and we have a rolling refurbishment programme. I am delighted you would recommend us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Craig Spencer Guest Relations / Resident Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

As always very welcoming, very good staff.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: The location, the service, the rooms and amenities
Location: Very near to Windsor, juyst off motorway.
Staff are always very freindly and professional. They could not be more helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by craig, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the runnymede-on-thames and rating the hotel 5 out of 5. I am delighted that you liked the location on the banks of the River Thames close to Windsor. I am also pleased that the team were friendly and helpful and that you liked the rooms and hotel facilities. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Theta from were extremely friendly and went out of there way to help in any way they could.
We had a one night stop over before flying out from Heathrow. Found the hotel very pleasant,lovely location on the banks of the Thames. Very comfortable room and will certainly stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by craig, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review of the runnymede and I am delighted that you found the team friendly and that they went out of their way to help you during your stay. I am also pleased that you liked the hotel’s location on the banks of the River Thames. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Craig Spencer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stressful check in but all resolved

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Given a room with no bath, so asked to move rooms. Check in staff obliged and moved us to another room downstairs that still had no bath. Moved out of the room again and informed reception, who could not understand why there was no bsth in the room as the system was showing there was? Waited in lounge and was then taken to a room that had a bath! 3rd time lucky. My wife and I also had treatments booked, there were no bath robes in the room (which we were told to put on before we came down for our treatments) rang housekeeping who then brought up 2 wet robes. Explained this we not good enough waited another 15mins no robes arrived, phoned reception who said they would investigate. My wife decided to go and find the house keeping lady, who gave us 2 out of a clean laundry bag there and then, she apoligised and said she had forgotten to bring them back to our room. A rather stressful start to what was meant to be a relaxing break. However, a very good hotel, clean, excellent food, lovely spa and cosy. Also a nice touch was the £50 taken from our final bill for the inconvenience caused at the start of our break.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Craig, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Tucker Thank you for your review of the runnymede although I am sorry that the start of your stay with us was not as relaxed as both you or we would have liked. I apologise that on two occasions you were allocated rooms with only walk in showers it and I have made a note on your client profile so that on future visits you will always be allocated a room with a bath. There was indeed an error on our system which has now been rectified but I am truly sorry for the inconvenience caused. As there was a delay in allocating you the room we spoke to Housekeeping who informed us that your final room was ready but needed bathrobes; in an attempt to get you settled in the room as quickly as possible the Housekeepers were asked to take the robes to the room. Please accept my sincere apologies that this was not done and the delay resulted in your wife having to find a housekeeper. I am however, pleased that despite a bad start, you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and our Reception Manager adjusted your room bill by way of an apology. I do hope you visit us again soon. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager