Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

family party

Posted Jun 26, 2017
We stayed at White Horse because of a family party. Found hotel very interesting with all the stairs and stories about hotel being haunted. Breakfast was good had everything you needed. The only criticism was that two of our party was at the top of the hotel and the water pressure for the shower was not good but other than that all good. Would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Shabby place not worth the price

Posted Jun 23, 2017
What a tired old place. I understand that the building is old and that's part of the charm, but our room was in a sorry state. There wee marks on the walls, stains on one of the pillows chipped paint and holes in a couple of different doors that had been filled in, sanded down and left unpainted. There was an issue with our early check in and then confusion on check out with a "verification fee" that never came out my account but had to be taken from my card despite paying for the room prior to arrival got confused with the charge for breakfast, when it was finally made clear which charge was which. Overall, very disappointing. Breakfast itself was really the only highlight as it was fresh and laid out buffet style.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Weekend break in Surrey

Posted May 2, 2017
Excellent position in the centre of Dorking. Room comfortable & spotlessly clean. Tea facilities available. Provided fresh milk & biscuits on request. Good hot powerful shower. Very good selection of hot & cold buffet breakfast. Would not be good for disabled as lots of stairs, even on one level, due to age of building. This is quaint but a nuisance with luggage. The floorboards are creaky for the same reason and were quite noisy. Decor dated & common areas slightly shabby, more so than rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cape town

Historical hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Cosy characterful hotel with a fascinating history. Evening menu not varied enough and a glass of wine very expensive. Breakfast was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester, UK

Characterful coaching inn

Posted Apr 17, 2017
An old hotel of great character. A maze of old staircases and corridors with creaking floorboards, but the rooms are clean and comfortable, and have all expected facilities. Good bed and bathroom. Message to the owners: Please don't over-modernise! Good buffet breakfast with excellent materials (although I would prefer tea and coffee in a separate pot and not from a flask).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in centre of town

Posted Apr 6, 2017
This is a very convenient hotel for visiting the lovely town of Dorking. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is clean but perhaps a bit dated however this offers relatively good value for money. The serve yourself breakfast was good. Provided that the hotel does not alter then I will return hopefully later this year
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

easy to find on the main street

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: friendly staff
Location: nice town to shop in,good amenities,lots of beautifull countryside with plentiful walking on safe footpaths
friendly staff,lovely breakfast,slept well,quiet room,clean
3 out of 5
by Mr J M

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Bed was rather too soft. Secondary double gazing on the windows had been removed and the traffiic noise from the street was horrendous. The room was very warm and we could not open the windows because of the traffic noise. To be fair we could have asked for a different room but we were is a rush to get out so did not bother - we paid for our mistake by a sleepless night! So we must take some of the blame.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired, run down and noisy

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Do not stay in room 9 if you can avoid it, unbelievably noisy with staff and other guests going past the door, made worse with housekeeping staff having a loud chat very early in the morning - slept terribly both nights. Tired and run down rooms, staff could be more efficient (e.g. they asked me for full payment for the room when checking out even though it had been paid for in full months ago). Generally quite disappointing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location in the heart of Dorking.

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful old hotel - with four-poster beds if you book the fancier rooms.