Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Timeslip

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Style and locations, grounds.
Cons: The standard rooms look a little dated.
Location: We never left the hotel
Lovely country hotel but in a very accessible location, fabulous old building, modern rooms that are pretty good, great value for money. Marvellous gardens and surroundings. Good facilities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Beautiful well kept gardens a pleasure on a sunny

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: The grounds, beautiful gardens and terraces with lots of places to sit and relax.
Cons: The windows are dangerous as they could slip down and smash they need to make sure they can be opened. Proper dining tables in the bar.
Location: Denbies Winery was disappointing, not much to see, very commercial and loads of kids running around unchecked which was very annoying.
Booking in was quick and easy and reception staff were pleasant. The rooms were quite small and hot and we had to wedge the bath mat into the sash to keep the window open. The old desk fan provided in the bottom of the wardrobe didn't work properly and the TV was very, very old, although our friends had a flat screen in their room. We thought the restaurant was expensive so opted for the bar food and I ordered curry but was told there was no rice did I want it with cous cous! Quite disappointed because we expected better from this posh hotel, ended up with fish and chips which was OK but had to eat outside because the bar tables were far too low to eat from. The gardens were magnificent a real pleasure to walk around with lots of hidden and wonderful surprises like the tortoise pond and walled garden. Car parking was good and plentiful. Breakfast was excellent and the service also very good. Wouldn't recommend to anyone driving from the North on a Saturday as we were stuck on the M25 for hours to get to Junction 9 at Dorking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: The gardens
Cons: Reception area, need full length mirror in room, shower cap, flannel, bottled water, we shared 1 biscuit in 2 days!! dated TV !
We stayed for 2 nights attending a wedding. I thought the reception area was very dull, it didn't feel very welcoming. Our room was small but nice, the window was very tiny, so therefore quite hot as well. There was no full length mirror, I felt they were a little mean with the tea, coffee, biscuits and also the shampoo etc in the bathroom, only tap water left in a refilled bottle. The bed was comfortable but very soft, so anyone suffering with a back problem like me would have struggled. Overall we had a nice stay here, although the purpose of our visit was for a wedding. The food was excellent at the wedding reception and the breakfast was very good too. The gardens are beautiful, unfortunately we didn't get to use the spa at all, but thought it was quite small and limited. Overall, a lovely weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wirral

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: Location and overall facilities were excellent. My room was slightly dated, but I am more than happy to accept given the standard of cleanliness
Visiting friends nearby, location was ideal. Reception staff were helpful and warm. Room spacious and very clean. Only problem was that the rooms were very hot, tried to cool and open window to assist, but to no avail. Would have welcomed the option of just a sheet on the bed, but as in so many hotels just a duvet - light but very warm. Made sleeping difficult and spasmodic
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel, shame about staff

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Location, setting and charcater.
Cons: Staff attitude and speed of service.
Location: Not far from Gatwick airport and we were flying to Spain from Gatwick.
Hotel facilities are excellent. Stayed for 1 night as location is good to meet with friends who live locally. 5 of us had dinner in the bar. Food was fine however service was slow. Hotel appeared not to have sufficent staff to cover for the 2 events which were taking place. This meant that staff were over stretched and this resulted in them having a less than perfect sense of customer service. Disappointed that at 4pm when ordering tea and coffee that no cakes or scones were available. Another guest also requested a biscuit with tea so there is a demand! Very poor for a hotel of this standard in my experience.On ordering sticky toffee pudding for dessert from the menu we were presented with chocolate tart, on advising bar staff we were told "what do you expect me to do about it" Although an apology was forthcoming some time later.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Very peaceful and set in beautiful and extensive grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from crawley

Absolutely fantastic.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Had an amazing three days away. Hotel was stunning and the gardens were equally beautiful. Swimming pool was lovely as was the food. Only downside was their were no spa treatments as they temporarily didn't have a beauty lady. Other than that it was absolutely supurb
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerset

Nice old house converted into hotel

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Impressive building & grounds
Cons: Maintenance of rooms
Impressive building, nice grounds, unfortunately the day we stayed they must have been painting as there was a smell of turps in the corridor. Room comfortable but shower was very poor pressure and hose support broken so kept sliding down. We reported this when we checked out but no note was made and little interest shown so I expect it will stay broken.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Diane from Northop

Poor facilities very expensive

Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
TV didn't work very well. Couldn't get a clear reception on BBC1 even. Receptionist said nobody around from maintenance. She brought another TV still very snowy on all channels. Brought a 3rd one slightly better but remote didn't work. Poor facilities for extortionate prices.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels