Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SUUSEX

GOOD HOTEL EASY TO GET TO SKI SLOPES AND TOWN

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Pros: LOVELY POOL AND SPA . BUT ON THE WHOLE NO BETTER THAN ANY OTHER HOTEL
Cons: COULD DO WITH A BIT OF TIDYING UP AS BEGINNING TO LOOK A BIT DATED
Location: SLIGHTLY OUT OF TOWN BUT EASY TO GET TO AND THE HOTEL RUNS A SHUTTLE BUS TO SKI SLOPES AND BACK
AFTER BEING TOLD WE HAD NO BOOKING AND THAT THEY DONT DEAL WITH EXPEDIA WE WERE GIVEN A ROOM. THIS WAS AFTER A LONG DELAY AT GATWICK AIRPORT AND A TIRING DAY. MY ADVICE TO ANYONE IS CHECK WITH HOTEL TO CONFIRM BOOKING PERSONALLY BEFORE ARRIVING TO SAVE A GREAT DEAL OF STRESS.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel Besson - made good by it's staff & spa

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Hotel Staff - very friendly, excellent service! Spa - very well equipped relaxing spa Breakfast buffet - wide range of food to start the day right
Cons: Cleanliness - it was really bad. Sheets didn't get changed all week & the flooring was filthy, fragrance isn't cleaning. Room climate control to hot
Location: Picturesque views. Sportina lift only good with shuttle, otherwise use clotes. Sugo's for dinner! Everything is in easy walking distance!!
Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly lady on reception who made us feel welcomed and gave us an intro into Sauze d'oulx as we were an early arrival so our room wasn't ready as it still needed cleaning. We got all our bits done, ski pass, hire etc sorted and made our way back to the hotel at around 16:00 - and room 210 awaited us. Unfortunately room 210 was very small (which the reception staff admitted to) and the bed barely managed to fit in the room, not something we were expecting from a 4* hotel. After the initial 'wow this is small' passed we noticed the floor was filthy and clearly hadn't been cleaned - especially as we found a pair of socks covered in dust by the bed as well as an assortment of food scraps. So we went to ask to be moved and were told by a separate receptionist that they had no other rooms, we would have to wait until tomorrow and only apologised about the cleanliness - didn't even offer to get it clean. The next day we did get moved to room 309, a much bigger room, suitable for the price we paid, however the floor again was a state - cleaning service needs improving. One of our party had a bad injury so was off the slopes for the duration of our stay. The receptionists were great offering help and the barman also was attentive with the daily ice. I presume it to be the hotel manager who was most helpful also in calling the loal trauma centre so we could get medical assistance. We only had 1 day in the spa, but wish we went in it more!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Nice hotel, great staff...

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Good facilities, good spa, great staff...
Cons: Spa staff could be better at asking parents with noisy kids to keep the noise down, or better still, not allow young kids in.
Location: 5 mins walk from lifts....
Hotel is nice, just far enough away from the main town to be peaceful. Staff were great. The spa was good but there were occasions where there were too many noisy kids. The spa should be peaceful and there should be an age limit to avoid the noisy toddlers. Facilities were good.
3 out of 5
by MC from France

Great Shuttle service to the slopes

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels
Very disappointed with the cleanliness of the spa. Looked a little un-loved. The hotel had some corporate guests in, who had no care for other people in the hotel. One of the worst nights sleep ever. The staff at reception were very helpful.
2 out of 5
by Travel a lot from currently UK

Nothing "grand" but the price tag.

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was nice. Mattresses were comfortable. Beautiful view to the mountains from balcony.
Cons: Cleanliness! Update the bathrooms!
Location: Old part of Sauze d'Oulx is very charming to walk about. Skiing is spectacular.
Nice from the outside, not so much from the inside. Hotel has nice potential, however, nobody seems to care. Rooms are dirty, staff not responsive (asked twice to vacuum the floor, nothing happened). Bathrooms totally not acceptable (original design from probably the 70's, no shower, no shower curtain for bathtub) considering the price they charge per night (we paid 285 Euro per night incl. breakfast for 2 persons).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels
We had a very pleasant stay. The personnel were very friendly and efficient. The rooms were a bit on the small side, but comfortable. The meals were all delicious. The spa was nice, too. On the whole, we would go back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by LES from essex

FAIRLY GOOD HOTEL

Posted Jan 12, 2013
Pros: good position
Cons: uncomfortable seating in the evening listening to a boring piano
Location: good
The hotel could do more to make it more inviting in the evening. The beds were very uncomfortable. Cold coffee and tea at breakfast Overall it was an average fairly good hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Watch out for tiny rooms!

Posted Mar 19, 2012 on Hotels
Functional hotel but a tiny room with barely any floorspace (guessing that may be something to do with the Hotels.com rate we paid!). Annoying drip inside the wall was not fixed for our stay despite requests. Lobby area and restaurant were nice and the location ok - 15min walk to lifts - fine for me but less so for friends in ski boots!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ascot

Grand Hotel Besson, Sauze d'Oulx

Posted Sep 11, 2011 on Hotels
This hotel is in a fabulous location, on the outskirts of the delightful small town. Great service and I would certainly recommend it.
4 out of 5
by Philip from Stockholm

Helt OK!

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
Bra hotell nära gamla stan. Väldigt mysig by. Små rum men fin lobby och terass. Spa ingår inte i priset, bra SPA dock.