Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

For the view!!!!

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The view.....
Cons: Foosd!!!.....first dinner was a steal......for 40 Euros for two (no alcohol) for plain pasta and soup.....much better offering in the village.
Location: You should plan your dinners off site (in the village)....better food, better value.
The view was just outstanding!!. Do not get discouraged when using a GPS.......the narrow uphill road will finally take you to the hotel - located at about 2000 m. Very quiet area right on the ski slopes.
2 out of 5
by davide

What a disaster...

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
Well, let's start from the beginning. We get on top of this beautiful mountain and we find this good looking place and we were told the room was ready. So we get in but the room is actually not ready. So we go back and wait. The room was good at the end. Quite clean and spacious. The hotel overall lacked the feeling of a mountain resort. It is a modern hotel without character in the middle of the mountain. What a shame. With just a few touches would have been amazing. Worse bit: the restaurant. Big open modern restaurant with no character at all. Positive: the price. You think you get a 4 star for cheap, but you actually pay the right amount for what can bearly be defined as 3 stars. The second day we got stuck at the top as the road was not cleaned by the local services and there was too much snow. Last but not the least we were lucky to have cash as the credit card did not work at checkout. What kind of 4 stars has no credit cards?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel in a great location, beautiful view

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: location, view,
Cons: expedia s service and expedias communication with the hotel
Location: great slopes, it was not busy when we stayed, good snow and conditions. nice restaurants in town.
Great location- right by the slope and ski lift. Blue and red runs. Beautiful view overlooking the mountains. The hotel is quite high up but offers free shuttle until 7pm to the town centre and other slopes. after 7pm it is 10 euros per person but they are reliable and come when needed. Staff were very nice and helpful. The swimming pool and sauna were great after whole day of skiing. Breakfast and dinner were good. However, Expedia messed up my reservation and instead of informing the hotel I booked two twin rooms , they only informed the hotel about one room booking so we had to stay in one room, Room comfort was okish but because i did not get proper bed but a sofa it was not the most comfortable and the room was small.
4 out of 5
by Natanya

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Laszlo Leslie from cambridge, canada

excellen stay

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
comfOrtable and Relaxing
5 out of 5
by Zeva

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by stewart milne from London

On the slopes

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel sits at the top of the gondola at 2000m and is perfect for short ski breaks. The Gondola station isonly about an hour from Turin Airport. For seasoned skiers the lifts are a little old fashioned - 2 seater chairs and drags but this is more than made up for by the lack of people on the slopes and the fast gondola. We stayed for 4 nights. Meals were great with 4 course dinners of waiter served good food. Ski hire is on site and they will get your lift passes. (Call ahead for this). A regular 5 minute free bus ride connects the gondola and Campo Smith lift in Bardonecchia. Rooms were of a good standard and, as they were quiet, they gave us 2 adjoing double rooms instead of a 4 bed room. Very nice touch. Staff wewre always very helpful but certainly not overpowering. The only minus would be that if you went B&B there is nowhere else to go for dinner in the evening except the Hotel restaurant unless you make your way to the village by car or taxi. The gondola runs only until 16.45 Hrs. So suggest Half Board.
2 out of 5
by Nicolas from Montreal

Ideal location - disappointing standard

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: hotel has lots of potential (room cleanliness, driver was really nice, panorama, skistation...) but it doesn't deserve a 4 star.
Cons: front desk staff should be more welcoming and understanding of clients concerns and questions.
Location: skistation, panorama from the hotel is astonishing, village of Bardonnechia and their restaurants.
We expected to have an excellent experience in Italy. However, we were disappointed by: - the lack of basic standard (1 channel for TV - Eurosport, Internet is slow and works randomly), - if you are on the last floor under the skylights (velux windows), you will have neither a view nor natural light nor fresh air since they don't shovel the roof after it has snowed. During our 4 days stay, they denied our request to clear the windows or to change us the room (hotel was fully booked). One of the other consequences was the average temperature in the room (between 24C and 30C). - the elevator doesn't reach the last floor. - The dress code of the staff was not always professional for a 4 star hotel as we were wondering sometimes who was an employee from a guest. the employees lacked some authority and sometimes we had the impression of a free for all (some guests were smoking in the lobby, kids playing with their ball in the hallway...) - the food was basic and lacked the italian flavor. you should definitely go to the restaurants in the village of Bardonnechia. It could be a good deal for a family but a wrong choice for a romantic gateway.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great spa hotel up the mountain right on the piste

Posted Apr 6, 2013 on Hotels
Having read some bad reviews on Trip Advisor just before we went I was quite worried, but I am pleased to say this hotel was really very good. Our room was very comfortable and a good size. We had a balcony in the sun with a wonderful view. The spa was lovely and towels, slippers etc were provided. Being located right in the middle of a piste was excellent and if you wanted to go to the other ski area this was very easy with the free shuttle bus from the bottom of the pist. The food was very nice and we hadn't realised but our dinners were included in the price of the stay, such good value. There was some excellent wine to buy too. A lot of the reviews on Trip Advisor say that the staff are rude but we found them to be very helpful and friendly. Maybe the problem was these people spoke no Italian because the hotel and whole resort is very Italian focused, so maybe we had a better stay because speaking Italian we could understand what was going on. But to me that is perfect, I would not want a "Brits abroad" holiday in any case so the lack of fry up in the morning and English speakers was refreshing. I had such a great stay in this clean, friendly, comfortable, relaxing, excellent location hotel. I would not hesitate to return. The only thing I would say is that due to the location some taxi drivers may struggle, ours had to get his snow chains on at the end. But you can always walk the last few metres or call the hotel for help if necessary.
4 out of 5
by Eve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2013 on Hotels