Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by steven r

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
We spent the weekend in Bardonecchia at the Residence villa Frejus. It was conveniently located near the train stations and other attractions in Bardonecchia. The front desk is only staffed for a few hours a day, but the staff leave contact information for those who arrive outside of posted times. We arrived a little late and a staff member stuck around outside of posted hours to check us in, which we greatly appreciated. I think it is important to let the staff know if you plan to arrive outside of posted front desk hours. The room(s) were very nice and we had two balconies with mountain views. Entrances to some of the hiking trails in the region are a stone's throw from the Residence villa Frejus. Overall, we had a very positive experience and would definitely consider the Residence villa Frejus again if and when we return to Bardonecchia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2017 by Federica Bertello, Hotel Management
Hello! thank you for your accurate review, which we appreciate a lot! We are really glad you underlined the staff's attention to late check ins, because our guests are always welcome! I hope you'll come to Bardonecchia in winter as well, our winter season is great as well! Best regards Federica
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Conveniently located spacious appartment

Posted Apr 10, 2017
The hotel is a short walk from the train station so if you don't have a car it's perfect. The appartment was clean and very spacious with all amenities. The owner and the receptionist were very helpful, e.g. gave us a lift to a ski rent place with the discount for residents (and it was much cheaper than in other places). As it was end of season and we were yhe only guests the reception is open within the specified hours only so it's better to plan your arrival for those hours.
1 out of 5
by john from italy

This is not a hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels
This is a hostel complete with printed rules, etc., it is not a hotel! There is a 3 star hotel nearby at less than half the cost!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2015 by Federica Bertello, Hotel Management
Hello, the Villa Frejus is a Residence, a holiday house. Pictures show the kitchenette and descriptions specify the different kinds of apartments (studios, one and two-bedroom apartments). Therefore, I'm sorry but I cannot feel responsible for a wrong guest's choice! Our guests look for apartments and self catering. Hotels are different in services and room measure, too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Sydney

great apartment

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Looked new , very clean . Got great warm response from Frederica regarding driving directions. Nothing was too much trouble.
Cons: Parking in basement very tight squeeze if you have a large car. We parked in street on 2nd night.
Location: About 100 m up via vittoria (away from town centre and freeway) is a cosy family run bar restaurant with the best pizzas we have ever tasted ! Value
Big , very clean ,seperate bedroom , fold away dble bed, kitchen , sauna/gym downstairs - it was perfect. Nice mountain views from balcony
4 out of 5
by Ingram from Bexley

Excellent place to stay,

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels
My friends and I thought the complex was generally excellent with its close location to all amenities, underground parking and friendly staff. Our only complaint would be that the free wifi didn't seem to function far from the lounge area.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2015 by Federica Bertello, Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for your description, we're happy when our guests feel comfortable. We had some problems with the wi-fi antenna; now the problem has been solved and internet access is good in each apartment. Hope to have you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Ideal location for skiing.

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Good location for skiing and facilities in town.
Cons: There was only 1 mirror in the apartment, which made getting ready interesting.
The hotel is situated within a five minute walk of the town and ski slopes at Campo Smith and a the free ski bus stops outside. We travelled with our 2 children and found the quality of the apartment and equipment to be ideal for our needs and exceed our expectation. There was plenty of hot water and good heating with clean towels provided. There are a number of good places to eat in the town and we were surprised to find that there weren't queues everywhere due to half term. Would certainly stay here again should we return to this resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great experience

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel was conveniently located near the train station, and the room was very large and comfortable for the price. While the guy who was usually at reception did not speak much English, there was a lady who also worked there that he would call when we needed a translation. The residence is about a 5-minute walk to the train station and a 10-15-minute walk to Campo Smith (all along the same road) where we went to ski.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AK Traveler from Washington

A good residence, not a regular hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, good location near bus lines, indoor (though very small) parking. Pedestrian access to both viale Vittoria and via Roma LARGE rooms.
Cons: Someone seems to regularly park their BMW SUV in the entrance blocking easy access to the garage. Sound travels through the building.
Location: Their is great skiing at Campo Smith and Jaferau. Rent equipment from Ski Dain Rent and Go Enjoy the Italian Mountain life on via Medail
The staff of the hotel Frejus are incredibly friendly when they are checking you in and out. This is one of the strengths of the Residence. The other great strength is the size of the rooms. In Europe where everything is small and cramped, the villa Frejus provides generous sized rooms with kitchenettes and a friendly staff. Some of the challenges are the smoking culture in Italy. While the Residence may be a non-smoking facility, it is clear that some guests choose to smoke in their rooms. This travels through the hallway to other rooms. Similarly, sound travels throughout the residence. During our stay there was noisy partying in two apartments. While everyone sleeps from 12:30 AM (0:30) to 8AM, the rest of the time you can expect to hear your neighbors, smell their cooking, or smell their smoking. Their is a lovely gym and a sauna available. Our shower was custom built with space (60cmx140cm) for multiple people. Sometimes the hot water would run out after the whole building would return from skiing or get up at the same time and shower. Finally, as is the tradition throughout Bardonecchia, the heat is turned on in the morning and evening but is off during the day and through the night. There are not room thermostats. This is a normal thing in Italian mountain towns. It is something to remember especially if you think about opening a window in the evening for some fresh air.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Out of season ski lodge

Posted Jul 13, 2009 on Hotels
We oveernighted at the Villa Frejus en route back to Paris from Bologna. Check in took an age as the guy on the desk recorded every last personal detail. We were about to give up and go someplace else when we finally got our keys. In the end, I was glad we stayed. The mezanine style apartment was ideal for an overnight stay, and as it was the middle of summer and not a skiier in sight, it was cheap as chips. I was also impressetd that they had a garage in the basement for secure parking.
4 out of 5
by Bruno

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels