Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Convenient location for the Hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The kitchen
Location: N/A
We arrived and were pleased with the location and the initial impression was good. No convenient restaurant nearby so had a meal at the hotel. Service was very slow, no comment on the food was invited. We ordered a well done and medium rare steak both of which were dry and very much overcooked, the accompanying chips/french fries were cooked in oil which had been scorched and had a burned taste . The deserts did not match the menu and appeared to be from a packet served with no finesse. We were hungry and ate the meal but should have complained at the time. Following this experience we omitted breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely staff

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Could do with updating but outweighed by friendly & helpful staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2015
The hotel met my needs for the duration of my stay. The staff were really helpful. The room was very clean.
1 out of 5
by Steve from Chester

Tired, dated, in some disrepair

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is dated and tired with masking tape holding a lot of carpet together. It is clean and the staff are reasonably friendly but the beds are terrible and I was awoken at 0410 by the water pipes screeching like a banshee. Lasted about 20 minutes and made the whole stay awful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Co Durham

Lovely location near canal and nature reserves

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Relaxing and nice food. Rural location near motorway.
1 out of 5
by Barry from International

Overpriced and overrated

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Overpriced and overrated, family room was very small and dated and a long way away from the car park, so was a struggle with young kids and bags. Bed was very hard, no hotel information in the room, no room service menus, overall a VERY basic hotel. Bathroom was very clean, that's about the only good point.
2 out of 5
by barry from UK travel

Very poor

Posted May 9, 2015 on Hotels
Vile bathroom had poo on the door. The meal was from a cheap cafe but charged £18 for it will not be staying there again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tunbridge Wells

Overall a nice place to stay

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Nice friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: Room decor and a shower room upgrade rather long overdue.
Location: By the canal which was lovely for walking the dog. Only stayed o ernifht for meeting in Sutton Coldfield the next day.
Pleasant room with a comfy small double bed & en-suite shower facility which was all very clean. Old fashioned traditional decor but still very outdated. Great dog friendly hotel and lovely walks alongside the canal. Nice food served in the bar, friendly waiting staff, reasonably priced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from durham

A bit tired

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Quite
Cons: Decor
Ok but needs a refurb, limited food choice in both bar and restaurant
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels