Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North of England

Quiet, tranquil oasis in the middle of Birmingham!

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: All the above...and the breakfast was second to none
Cons: No
Location: as already stated and close enough to Birmingham city centre, Edgbaston and NEC
A delightful setting, beautiful grounds and a historic building which has been modernized in the right way to maintain its features but keep up with modern standards. Well equipped gym, decent sized pool and well maintained Jacuzzi, steam and sauna.
5 out of 5
by Dawn

A relaxing family gathering.

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was spacious comfortable very relaxing the staff attentive and good team work.There is plenty of activities to keep you occupied , swimming/ walking/ tennis / board games and many more. You can get a taxi/bus/train to go into the local large town of Sutton Coldfield or into the big city centre of Birmingham where there are many interesting places to visit.The staff are very attentive and there is a good choice of rooms for you to choose from with all the amenities you may require. It has a choice of bar food or restaurant service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Hidden Gem

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Smart but friendly and welcoming
Cons: Perhaps a lift, but there are only two floors so liveable with.
Location: We played golf at two local courses
So close to Birmingham but set in a lovely rural location. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Room was a good size, nice view over courtyard. Good facilities, iron, hairdryer, internet access, DVD player, TV, small fridge (only contained free water and milk for coffee/tea) Kettle, free biscuits, good guide to hotel and local facilities. Lovely spa facility (though you do have to go outside to access it but hotel provide robes in the room) with swimming pool, steam room, sauna and lots of treatments available. We sat outside on the sun loungers as well which overlooks the lake. There was also a tennis court and nine hole golf course, which we did not use but both looked in good condition. Breakfast consisted of cereals, fruit, pastries, then lots of choices for a cooked option. I had the veggy option which was enormous and in fact I asked for half a portion the following day which was still plenty. Evening meals were served in the ornate restaurant and although not cheap was well presented and very tasty.
5 out of 5
by Nikki

Very nice place to stay.

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
New Hall is an amazing place to relax and unwind. We stayed one night and had afternoon tea on arrival (not so good value). The room was a basic double and had everything you needed with a lovely view of the grounds. We had a lovely walk around the grounds and gardens. The pool is nice and there is a sauna and steam room and gym. We were looking forward to dinner in the restaurant as it was advertised as a 2AA rosette restaurant but we did not think the food was up to that standard. Breakfast was however very good with a lot of nice choices. Overall a lovely stay and friendly helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by Nicholas

Eggs benedict please

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent staff throughout and top rating breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel situated in castle like setting

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Good hotel. Nice grounds. Supportive staff. Food was okay. Not the best at picking up room service dishes, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Great hotel full of character. Paid for an upgrade to a better room but I'd say it looked a little tired overall and would benefit from some new furniture - threadbare chair etc. Breakfast was disappointing - burnt toast was served and my muffin (with salmon and scrambled eggs) tasted stale and was chewy.
5 out of 5
by Victoria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Castle Treat

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: Nothing stood out.
We booked one of the premium rooms (each one is named) and were treated to a wonderfully spacious and comfortable room. The service, from reception to dining to other access of hotel facilities was excellent. We were fortunate to enjoy lovely weather so we could make the most of the beautiful grounds, and it is no wonder this is a very popular wedding venue. Food was excellent.