Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Surrey

Beautiful, historic and charming staff

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
A warm welcome, a comfortable room, decent swimming pool, very good food and helpful, friendly people. What's not to like?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2016
No service from nec to hotel can't get to it by public transport unless u wanna walk 2 mile from train station , nothing simple on menu had to walk 1.5 mile to nearest shop for something to eat so I would recommend you hire a car if u want to visit this hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely building, service needs improving

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
I've stayed at New Hall twice recently for business. The building is amazing, and room décor is lovely too. Some of the staff just don't deliver the service to match - refreshments late for scheduled meeting breaks, corridors blocked by repair men, staff discussing their rotas loudly while you are trying to relax over dinner. Service was a bit better on the second visit, so maybe they are getting the training and support they need from management? Should say though, the reception staff and the excess pillow removal service ("turn down" team) were lovely and very helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful building full of character

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: We also liked the spa where we had a swim and a sauna. Even during Saturday this didn't get that busy.
Cons: The service at breakfast was a bit uncoordinated, with staff not seeming to know who'd ordered what, but that's a minor point really.
We needed a nice relaxing weekend away to do nothing in peace, and that's exactly what we got. A lovely hotel with pleasant staff, quiet rooms and tasty food. Perfect.
5 out of 5
by Martin from Cambridge

Meeting with friends

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
One night stay to meet up with friends who live nearby, New hall was perfect location and a lovely hotel, food in restaurant was very good, lived up to other reviews, would recommend if staying in the area
5 out of 5
by John from Swinton Manchester

Posted Dec 19, 2015 on Hotels
overnight stay for concert at NEC, warm friendly staff and an excellent breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Andrew from York

Great hotel, fantastic location , very freindly ,

Posted Dec 3, 2015 on Hotels
We had a weekend break in November , visited local attractions and relaxed in hotel. The stay was very good , service excellent , accommodation superb, staying in a 800 year old hotel . All the staff were very helpful , attentive and friendly . The room we stayed in was well furnished, made us feel special and would stay again The negatives parts were , as the hotel is remote the restaurant and bar are exclusive And very expensive, we have travelled extensively , and understand that costs of hotel service and food are higher that high street but the costs of sandwich .£11.50 and wine @ £ 35.00 is prohibitive and detracts from the very positive aspects of this hotel. also we were on a romantic break and wanted to have a romantic meal but the restaurant is very brightly lit, very little atmosphere and not an area you would like to relax in
4 out of 5
by Matthew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sarah from Walsall

Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
Out stay was just perfect friendly staff clean bedroom bathroom the room was spectacular and the views from our room brilliant it's such a beautiful hotel, I will most defiantly stay there again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

50th Birthday Supprise

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: Friendly attentive staff and beautiful surroundings. Relaxing spa including swimming pool
Cons: Breakfast was a bit chaotic especially during busy times.
Location: Convenient for central Birmingham with it's many attractions.
Hotel is ideally located for a shopping trip to Birmingham, but has the feel of being in the countryside. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Booked this for a surprise stay for my wife's 50th birthday complete with a full days spa treatment. The restaurant organised a cake for the evening meal and although this was booked in advance the staff singing happy birthday was a nice addition to the three day stay.