Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
beautiful hotel...love the history, so quiet!! Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable as to the history
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by G Davies- General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest- Thank you for the review I am really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to New Hall. Best wishes Gareth Davies General manaegr
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota USA

Top Notch Hotel with "OK-ish" food

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Ambiance, walking trails, quiet
Cons: Food and its pricing
Hotel was fantastic with walking paths that are very scenic including an old mill. Historic facility started its construction in the 1300's. The former castle walls are extremely thick resulting in a completely quiet room. There are many quiet places to meet up and have conversations in the facility. The food was just ok and pricey. Staff was outstanding! Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by G Davies- General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guests Thank you for the review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Gareth Davies General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Wedding Venue Hotel beware!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Spectacular 800 year old moated house set in lovely grounds.
Cons: Only 2 coat hangers in each wardrobe 1 small bottle of water expected to last 2 people 2 days. No Desk Lamp Poor quality loo roll
Location: Easy access to events in the West Midlands
Wedding guests had taken all parking spaces on our arrival. Both bar and reception staff use phases such as the all too familiar “are you all right there” rather than “may I help you”. The Reception area is quite small and there was a noisy discussion between management and several hotel guests while we were checking in. Hall porter very good, he remembered our name each time we passed through reception. Sunday morning breakfast, ushered to a table of the waiter’s choice and very quickly someone came to take our order leaving no time to take cereals and juice before the main cooked breakfast arrived. There were several noisy discussions by staff followed by clearing away of adjacent vacated and unused tables. Not an enjoyable occasion which is a pity because the food quality and choice was good. Monday morning, very different. We were shown to a table by a very pleasant Indian lady who asked if this table was acceptable to us. We were shown every courtesy one could wish for throughout breakfast. It was a very enjoyable affair without the previous day’s distractions. This hotel is situated in a lovely location and our room was spacious and comfortable with, for us, the perfect bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Staff were friendly, and no request was too much trouble. The food was Tasty and well presented. Overall, a very pleasant experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tiny rooms.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
The hotel is probably great for a wedding or an event. Very picturesque. I made the mistake of booking a standard room, which was pretty miserable. View of a brick wall. Small, awkwardly arranged room. Easy to hear the guests in the next room. On the plus side: Good internet, nice grounds, decent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good !!!

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Beautiful hotel, very clean, staff very good would recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from WI & SC USA

New Hall is great choice near Birmingham

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Ambience, setting, amenities
Cons: Needs better climate control since rooms can be stuffy and very hot in summer. Beds much too soft.
Have stayed twice within one month. Hotel staff is very helpful. Restaurant & Bar not organized, some with minimal English & cuisine has ups and downs. Great venue for weddings as the grounds and buildings are lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from shropshire

Beautiful historic building in enormous grounds

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: It is convenient to Birmingham but located in its own beautiful grounds alongside Sutton Park which provides for excellent longer walks/runs.
Cons: A drop off point closer to the reception would be helpful particularly in wet weather.
Location: Very pleasant suburb of Birmingham with good rail links to city centre.
Returned after two years to this excellent hotel with tasteful spa and extensive private grounds. Staff very pleasant and service good. Tremendous breakfast choice and basic double room was of very high quality. Ample safe parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2016
No service from nec to hotel can't get to it by public transport unless u wanna walk 2 mile from train station , nothing simple on menu had to walk 1.5 mile to nearest shop for something to eat so I would recommend you hire a car if u want to visit this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful building full of character

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: We also liked the spa where we had a swim and a sauna. Even during Saturday this didn't get that busy.
Cons: The service at breakfast was a bit uncoordinated, with staff not seeming to know who'd ordered what, but that's a minor point really.
We needed a nice relaxing weekend away to do nothing in peace, and that's exactly what we got. A lovely hotel with pleasant staff, quiet rooms and tasty food. Perfect.