Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire UK

PRETTY MOATED HOTEL

Posted Oct 23, 2017
LOVELY HELFUL STAFF.Pretty GROUNDS. GOOD FOOD.Warm pool and a comfy peaceful room in an old manor house.Perfect stay .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Beer, East Devon

Great historic hotel with a homely ambience.

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Comfortable and spacious room. Hotel setting for me with its 12th century history and a moat. It was like being in a castle.
Cons: Stayed here 3 years a go and the room with breakfast cost £109. This time it w as £189. A big jump in price. This might deter some people.
Location: Tennis and mini golf course at the hotel. Didn't have time to explore the area as it was a business trip.
All staff were friendly and helpful. A beautiful hotel surrounded by a moat. Restaurant was excellent for a cosy evening meal and breakfast had a great selection of dishes. Much better than the usual help yourself approach at most hotels. Would like to have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rutland, UK

Historic country Hotel with a real "cosy feeling"'

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Very conveniently situated near the M42 + M6 motorways and 25 minutes from Birmingham Airport. Excellent staff. Great breakfast selection. We could not embrace all the facilities for 1 night including the Spa etc. We will return and the 10% code discount made this a Value stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice setting but was less than I expected

Posted Sep 30, 2017
It looks great on the photos but I just found it a little higgledy piggledy in terms of layout. The spa and gym could do with a permanent walk way through from main hotel to cover from bad weather and give a more together feeling. The walk to breakfast was a long one and not a great setting and choice when I got there. Coned off parking with tape isn't a welcome sight when you arrive either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Yorkshire

Relaxing

Posted Sep 11, 2017
This was a very relaxing weekend in a very good hotel. Polite and friendly staff in all areas of the hotel. Good walks in extensive, private grounds. Nice swimming pool. Very comfortable room with large bed! Very good food in the restaurant. I would book again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lacking in certain areas

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Not enough spaces in the car park,with the amount of ground the hotel occupies this could be easily put right. Check in was supposed to be 3.00 pm, but we could not get into our room till 4.30 . Some areas of the hotel could do with refurbishing.The breakfast the following morning was a bit disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North of England

Quiet, tranquil oasis in the middle of Birmingham!

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: All the above...and the breakfast was second to none
Cons: No
Location: as already stated and close enough to Birmingham city centre, Edgbaston and NEC
A delightful setting, beautiful grounds and a historic building which has been modernized in the right way to maintain its features but keep up with modern standards. Well equipped gym, decent sized pool and well maintained Jacuzzi, steam and sauna.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Hidden Gem

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Smart but friendly and welcoming
Cons: Perhaps a lift, but there are only two floors so liveable with.
Location: We played golf at two local courses
So close to Birmingham but set in a lovely rural location. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Room was a good size, nice view over courtyard. Good facilities, iron, hairdryer, internet access, DVD player, TV, small fridge (only contained free water and milk for coffee/tea) Kettle, free biscuits, good guide to hotel and local facilities. Lovely spa facility (though you do have to go outside to access it but hotel provide robes in the room) with swimming pool, steam room, sauna and lots of treatments available. We sat outside on the sun loungers as well which overlooks the lake. There was also a tennis court and nine hole golf course, which we did not use but both looked in good condition. Breakfast consisted of cereals, fruit, pastries, then lots of choices for a cooked option. I had the veggy option which was enormous and in fact I asked for half a portion the following day which was still plenty. Evening meals were served in the ornate restaurant and although not cheap was well presented and very tasty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel situated in castle like setting

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Good hotel. Nice grounds. Supportive staff. Food was okay. Not the best at picking up room service dishes, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Great hotel full of character. Paid for an upgrade to a better room but I'd say it looked a little tired overall and would benefit from some new furniture - threadbare chair etc. Breakfast was disappointing - burnt toast was served and my muffin (with salmon and scrambled eggs) tasted stale and was chewy.