Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, UK

An absolute gem!

Posted Apr 2, 2017
What a beautiful hotel in fantastic grounds. Really helpful, smiling staff. Stayed here after visiting the NEC and it was well worth the short drive. One word of caution! If you're using your satnav - stay on Walmsley Road for the hotel access. Otherwise you're taken to a gated emergency exit somewhere else entirely - and turning round can be a tad tricky. This happened to the people checking in behind us too..so it wasn't just us. Fab hotel though - despite the scenic route to get there!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Quiet Seclusion

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: I liked the way that the external fabric of the building has maintained its character without compromising on the interior comfort of the hotel.
Cons: They are currently re-fitting the bathrooms throughout the hotel which was probably the one thing in my room that could be improved.
Location: Location ideal for an escape or accessing the local area by car with good quick access onto the major road networks.
Lovely old building full of character set in stunning grounds give the impression of total isolation if your looking to escape the noise of city life.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by New Hall GM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for the review. I am surprised that we only warranted a 3 star rating considering the negative aspects of your review are clearly an area that we are addressing at the present time as noted within your comments. Maybe next time we will be able to impress you even more with the new bathrooms. Regards Gareth Davies General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aldridge

Perfect!!

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Such an amazing hotel, we wanted pure relaxation in beautiful surroundings, and that was certainly what we got. This is our favourite hotel and considering it's a 15 min drive from home, you feel like your a million miles away, would definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by GM New Hall, Hotel Management
Dear Guest It is delightful to read that your most recent stay with us was such an enjoyable one and thank you for the recommendation. Best wishes Gareth Davies General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
beautiful hotel...love the history, so quiet!! Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable as to the history
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by G Davies- General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest- Thank you for the review I am really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to New Hall. Best wishes Gareth Davies General manaegr
4 out of 5
by Hester

Lovely, but food obscenely overpriced

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is elegant and immaculately maintained. The service is good all round. The food is exceptional and beautifully presented. However, paying £159 for a meal for three people takes the pleasure away. One person had only one course, the other two three courses. I therefore cannot rate the hotel at more than four stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review. The price that you have quoted for dinner does seem very high and thus I would like to look into this for you. When looking at our food prices I can not see how a figure such as this has been reached without wine and other drinks forming part of the overall bill. If you would like to contact me here at the hotel and provide further details I will happy look into this for you. It is good however to read that all other aspects of your stay met expectatations. Best wishes Gareth Davies
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota USA

Top Notch Hotel with "OK-ish" food

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Ambiance, walking trails, quiet
Cons: Food and its pricing
Hotel was fantastic with walking paths that are very scenic including an old mill. Historic facility started its construction in the 1300's. The former castle walls are extremely thick resulting in a completely quiet room. There are many quiet places to meet up and have conversations in the facility. The food was just ok and pricey. Staff was outstanding! Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by G Davies- General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guests Thank you for the review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Gareth Davies General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Wedding Venue Hotel beware!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Spectacular 800 year old moated house set in lovely grounds.
Cons: Only 2 coat hangers in each wardrobe 1 small bottle of water expected to last 2 people 2 days. No Desk Lamp Poor quality loo roll
Location: Easy access to events in the West Midlands
Wedding guests had taken all parking spaces on our arrival. Both bar and reception staff use phases such as the all too familiar “are you all right there” rather than “may I help you”. The Reception area is quite small and there was a noisy discussion between management and several hotel guests while we were checking in. Hall porter very good, he remembered our name each time we passed through reception. Sunday morning breakfast, ushered to a table of the waiter’s choice and very quickly someone came to take our order leaving no time to take cereals and juice before the main cooked breakfast arrived. There were several noisy discussions by staff followed by clearing away of adjacent vacated and unused tables. Not an enjoyable occasion which is a pity because the food quality and choice was good. Monday morning, very different. We were shown to a table by a very pleasant Indian lady who asked if this table was acceptable to us. We were shown every courtesy one could wish for throughout breakfast. It was a very enjoyable affair without the previous day’s distractions. This hotel is situated in a lovely location and our room was spacious and comfortable with, for us, the perfect bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your detailed feedback and overall rating of 4/5. Your feedback good and bad has been noted and has been discussed with the team. We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future. Regards Gareth Davies General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Staff were friendly, and no request was too much trouble. The food was Tasty and well presented. Overall, a very pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by GM New Hall, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Bets wishes Gareth Davies General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel. Lovely on the outside and inside.

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Ebookers
Hidden away in Sutton Coldfield. Castle like. Moated. Beautiful inside. Warm. Great rooms and ensuite. Very good food. Excellent Spa. Good fun pitch and pu.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by GM New Hall, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for the positive review, we are delighted that you enjoyed New Hall. Best wishes Gareth Davies General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
very pleased. Beautiful grounds