Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Nov 5, 2017
A refurbishment has certainly improved this once tired hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Great Sunday lunch and everything you could want breakfast
The Ryder Grill Sunday lunch was very good and all of us thoroughly enjoyed the unhurried 3 courses.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Ticks all the boxes

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Close to motorway, spacious room, lovely breakfast, large open bar area with plenty of seating areas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Food

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Lovely breakfast. Sams have a good choice of food. However the Belfry Grill buffet option if an evening was a let down. Well for my husband who cannot eat rich food. The lamb, steak and cod were all in sauce and the chicken in herbs and lemon. It would be better to serve the sauces next to the dishes so you can help yourself if you want any. Unfortunately he had a few prawns and lettuce as a starter and a panaccotta for desert missing the main meal. Would have been better to have had the al la cart as at least he would have only paid for why he could eat. I had the buffet and it was edible but even too much sauce for me. Having said that I would definitely go back to the Befry for a break.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Do not except rooms 1510 or 1511

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Finally we had the chance to get away without the kids for a peaceful weekend only to be placed in a room next to the sports bar which the belfry had decided to reopen at 3am to show the boxing! Our room was directly outside the bar and opposite the toilets. This caused a sleepless night with the sound of shouting men and toilet doors opening and closing all night till 6/7am. They should not have occupied these rooms if their intention was to show the event or at least put the toilets out of use and made them use toilets elsewhere. Also we were assured that there was plenty appointments available at the spa so didn't require booking and can do it on day to find it was fully booked when we got there (our own fault really, should have booked to be on safe side), lesson learnt there!! Other then that the place is lovely and would love to return with my clubs for a round
4 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Sam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pakefield, suffolk

Nice location but!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Bearing in mind the cost of this hotel was a bit disappointed. Queue to check in. Room nice but not exceptional. No fridge, shower pathetic. Bed comfortable. First night kept awake till 2.30 by guests partying outside reception presumably waiting for taxis etc. Had booked 2 night's to enable us to walk round but guess what it's golfers only beyond hotel so could not enjoy beautiful scenery. Bar drinks expensive as expected although draft beer not too bad. Pool nice but packed with people on spa days in white gowns. Meal at function was nice. Overall a very costly weekend and would not repeat it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northamptionshire UK

Iconic Hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: History, Ambiance, Location, Food
Cons: Add Air Con to rooms,
Large complex, easy to find, beautiful grounds, as one would expect from this iconicly situated hotel 'The Belfrey' home to PGA and all its history associated. Facilities very good, interiors throughout beautifully designed. Room was adequate, no air con therefore room was very hot over night, did have a Dyson Cool Fan to run, however I do not like the noise whilst I try to sleep, could not leave window open due to Motorway noise. Room 2210 Spa must be good at the numbers using this facility Brabazon Bar pricing is extortionate £15.75 for a 250ml of ARA wine!!! I purchase this wine when on special at £7.99 a bottle. Dinner in Ryder Grill was excellent, ate Sirloin Steak, (best I've had in years) Green Beans, and Cauli at £37.50. Breakfast excellent, everything one would wish for, nice change not to have the chopped fruit in a near frozen bowl. Overall an interesting experience, staff, food and ambiance, at the rate I paid via Expedia I cannot complain. Would I recommend to a friend, difficult decision here
4 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels