Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Nov 5, 2017
A refurbishment has certainly improved this once tired hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Great Sunday lunch and everything you could want breakfast
The Ryder Grill Sunday lunch was very good and all of us thoroughly enjoyed the unhurried 3 courses.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Ticks all the boxes

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Close to motorway, spacious room, lovely breakfast, large open bar area with plenty of seating areas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Food

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Lovely breakfast. Sams have a good choice of food. However the Belfry Grill buffet option if an evening was a let down. Well for my husband who cannot eat rich food. The lamb, steak and cod were all in sauce and the chicken in herbs and lemon. It would be better to serve the sauces next to the dishes so you can help yourself if you want any. Unfortunately he had a few prawns and lettuce as a starter and a panaccotta for desert missing the main meal. Would have been better to have had the al la cart as at least he would have only paid for why he could eat. I had the buffet and it was edible but even too much sauce for me. Having said that I would definitely go back to the Befry for a break.
4 out of 5
by Smuggfifer from Fife

Excellent setting

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, well furnished and maintained rooms. Just a bit small for this standard of hotel. Bar snacks , pricey for what you get.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
Was a good stay in a good room as I requested a quiet room. Very comfy bed and pillows slept well. Service at the bar was a little slow but overall good.
1 out of 5
by Kara

Cook your own dinner!!!!!!

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
Very disappointed....was allocated the disabled room which was very dull with a marked carpet,poor lighting and a weird kitchen against the wall(??!!!!!)
5 out of 5
by Nela

Great hotel, a little pricey

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
We went as 3 adults & 2 teenagers, with the adults taking full advantage of the spa & the teenagers the freedom to be able to go off on their own, as its a very safe contained environment. We all very much enjoyed our stay - the rooms were fantastic, the spa is gorgeous and despite being a big hotel you didn't really feel that. Our stay included breakfast which was buffet style, with a great variety. We had afternoon tea, which was plentiful although probably a little on the expensive side & booked the twilight spa experience which was superb. Two things to point out: 1. it is a very expensive hotel for extras - for example Prosecco was £36/bottle, coffee's £3 each etc. 2. We booked online with pay at the hotel option - they take the payment on the morning of arrival so before you've even checked in. We deliberately chose this option as we were 3 different families with different options on the rooms, so it was inconvenient to sort out for us plus the booking never stated this. Overall a great stay with lovely staff but watch those extras!
4 out of 5
by Penelope

Nice venue

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Nice venue but some minor problems in the room like safe not working weren't fixed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels