Ratings based on 2,201 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy Hotel, nice breakfast, clean

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness of the room
Cons: Breakfast staff training, Property renovations
Handy hotel close to the main road. Room was clean. The property is a bit run down and needs a bit of maintenance One breakfast staff member was grumpy and abrupt. The rest of the staff were nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW

Disappointed, room had dirty floors & switches

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: staff was pleasant. Had good reviews which appeared unfounded based our our experience. We saw wild kangaroos and rabbits on site when we arrived.
Cons: Overall cleanliness needs to be addressed. Floor in hotel room had old clothes, food crumbs scattered throughout. Sticky light switches, dirty faucet
Location: Great location, easy access next to highway. About 10 minutes from attractions in Canberra. Questacon, Parliament, War Memorial, Mint, etc.
There was old food on the floor from previous guests. There was left over socks from previous guests. Paint was pealing and the light switches and faucets were sticky and dirty. To top it off, there were lacking linen on the beds. The front desk person was pleasant and tried to be accommodating. She provided us with linen in which we had to make our own beds since housekeeping wouldn't be in until morning. We didn't notice the old food on the floor until we made the beds, so I once again contacted the front desk. She booked us into a different room which had the same cleanliness and linen lacking issues. By this time we were exhausted and had finished making our beds, so we decided to stay in our original room. She did provide us also with a vacuum cleaner, so we could at least vacuum the bits of old food off the floor and make it at least semi respectable. If we weren't so exhausted from a day of driving and touring the city, we would not have stayed. It was a quiet night at least. The next morning, breakfast in the dining room was not much better. The dining room was dirty. The food greasy and the cutlery and dishes had leftover food stuck to them. The pile of dirty dishes which people removed from the pile of clean dishes, soon piled higher than that of clean dishes. Had we not already paid for breakfast, we would have ate elsewhere. The only pleasant part of our stay was the hotel staff who were very pleasant despite the condition of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Ben, Hotel Management
Dear Terry, I sincerely apologise for the poor experience with us. We will review your feedback as a team to identify how we went wrong with the cleanliness in the room and in the restaurant. This is certainly not our usual level of service and can assure you we will review our procedures to ensure the rooms are fully cleaned before we check our guests in. I am delighted you did enjoy the service received from the team. Once again, I sincerely apologise for the poor experience and thank you for your feedback. Sincerely Ben Murphy General Manager
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient stopping point

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Very noisy when somone in another room turns on at 5am. Sounded like a truck starting up in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Ben, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback you have provided. I will work with our maintenance team to see how we can improve. Kind regards Ben Murphy General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Far South Coast NSW

Worst accommodation I have stayed for the price.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: It was quiet.
Cons: Everything. I suppose it caters to the guests that shell out a lot for accommodation.
Location: Nothing close buy. It is out of Canberra a bit. It is actually over the boarder in NSW.
No jug or beverages supplied. Soap dispenser empty. I got in the show, got wet and tried to get the soap out of the dispenser. Nothing in it. Dried myself off a bit and dialed 9 for reception. The phone didn't work. looked up the motel's phone number and used my mobile to tell the of the problem. I had to then get dressed and go to reception for a couple of bars of poor quality soap. I was informed that jugs and coffee making facilities were not supplied for budget accommodation. The receptionist was helpful and found a jug for me and some sugar as I didn't have the sugar. The air con wouldn't turn off so I adjusted the temp settings up a bit so I was not sleeping in a chilled room. Mobile phone reception was poor as was the television in that area. I have booked into a lot of motels around the country with my work and traveling and never had those problems. I will never stay there again and I would never recommend the place to any one of my friends. Maybe I would to people I didn't like. For budget, accommodation there is a cheaper place closer to the city at a better price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Ben, Hotel Management
Thank you taking the time to tell us about your experience Graeme. I sincerely apologise for not meeting your expectations and the overall disappointment caused. Please be assured I will follow up with the Housekeeping team regarding the soap and ensure the phone is working in the room. By way of information we have other rooms (Queen Rooms) which include tea and coffee facilities which may be better suited. Thank you again for the feedback and we do hope you return to enjoy one of our other rooms. Sincerely Ben Murphy General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Price suits the location.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Easy access, free parking, good breakfast, swimming pool.
Cons: Rooms are rundown. Could not use the TV as the "keyboard" was not in the room.
Location: Within driving distance of Canberra.
Removed from the centre of town but only 10-15min drive to the centre of Canberra. Facilities rundown but clean. Good value if the rates are at their lowest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Ben, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. WE are delighted you enjoyed the breakfast and the swimming pool. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience using the TV and not having the keyboard available. I will follow up to ensure this is replaced. WE hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Ben Murphy General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from melbourne

hairdryer dodgy, and TV hard to work.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: pool good, breakfast good but could be hotter
Cons: hairdryer and TV, noisy cleaning staff, and hotter breakfast
Location: breakfast, pool and price good, but location a bit far from city
mostly all good. cleaning staff in the morning a bit noisy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Good hotel with a good price.

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Friendly staff and good breakfast. Will come back to this hotel again :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Ben, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel Tong. We are delighted you will come back and see us. Kind regards Ben Murphy General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the price

Posted Jan 22, 2017
You get what u pay for We stayed just for the night and it was cheap and decent for the stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Ben, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. It is great to hear you enjoyed the value. Kind regards Ben Murphy General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Great value with excellent facilities. Beds comfortable but rooms & bathrooms need a freshen up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Ben, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Was a great stay for the two nights me and my partner were there. Air con was very nice and cold, room neat and tidy. Would stay again :)