Ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland new zealand

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Nice hotel sitting on the sea but the maintaining was very poor air con do not work properly flooded three times then they decided to move rooms very late in housekeeping.I would Thank this Staff from the bottom of my heart He really went out of his way to make my family comfortable and enjoy the holiday. Even when my daughter was sick MR CHETTY Thank you so much for your help Your service was so professional You are the True Asset to this hotel Thank you so much and hopefully see you this year again You are the only reason for coming back Vinak Vaka Levu Mr Chetty
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Rooms are filthy looking. Cleaners do a good job but the rooms it self are old and not worth what you pay for. Place needs a total renovation. I recommend you pay couple extra hundreds and stay at Holiday Inn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new Zealand

Nice hotel.

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Some staff are very rude also the room was not ready at 2..the room was giving to us after 5.30pm. Overall the room was ok..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Alisi R, Hotel Management
Bula Mark Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and be assured that issue raised will be addressed. Thank you again for sharing your concern and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Vinaka & Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Look at all the fish!

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Price Location Comfort Staff Food (not thesoup)
Cons: Food prices
Location: Flea market Vege market Fiji museum. If you want an original shirt or sulu, by fabric in town and have it made at flea market. Only takes a day.
Close to Suva yet quiet and pleasant. Taxi from downtown under $9. Friendly and helpful staff. Evidence of good management. There are some rough edges but generally facility in good condition. Room allocated was uncomfortable for my wife so the receptionist gave us a better room facing the lagoon. View great except for ugly barge party room tied up beside restaurant. Comfy beds. Great breakfast buffet. Staff feed fish in lagoon so allways many of various types hanging around to look at.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Alisi R, Hotel Management
Bula Bob Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington, New Zealand

Close to Suva but needs a refitt

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Stayed 3 nights here. The pool is small and was usually full of kids. The place is dated and needs renovation. The rooms look out onto the sea which is nice (mind the toads..).. the staff need to go on a customer service course, service is pretty slack. Never any towels for the pool. They also cancelled my booking and charged a cancellation fee, because they added the wrong dates from Expedia to there system. So when I arrived I had to sort that. They didn't seem to really care that they had done this. I think this is advertised as 4 stars - but it's not.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2018 by Alisi R, Hotel Management
Bula Sarah Thank you for posting your review and I am sorry to hear that there was a miscommunication regarding your booking conditions. I do appreciate you sharing your opinion about our services and please rest assured that we are committed to ensure these issues do not happen again. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon for a much more relaxing and smooth stay. Vinaka & Kind Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs work

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Location: We had a wonderful time visiting Governors Restaurant for dinner and the Grand Pacific Hotel for brunch. We also took a walk in the rainforest.
The entrance to the hotel is stunning. You walk in and look out over the bay, with its beautiful islands. This is our second stay at this hotel. The reason I chose it was because it's convenient to Suva while being out of the hustle and bustle. The dining area and the food are good, and we enjoyed the pool and outdoor area. Unfortunately, when you go to your room, you'll find it smells bad, with constant smell coming through the airconditioning and what looks like black mould in several places. The room was generally dirty. The couch cushions need cleaning or replacing, and the bed had lost its feet at one end (it sloped down towards the head of the bed!). We won't be back a third time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Alisi R, Hotel Management
Bula Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you were unhappy with your room. We do appreciate you sharing your opinion about our services and rest assured that we will work hard to fix the issue you had experienced. Thank you again for sharing your experience and for choosing to stay with us Vinaka & Kind Regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new zealand

disappointing, unclean, reception lady was grumpy

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Stayed for 7 days. Booked out early due to not liking the hotel. Paid for deluxe room with ocean view ended up with a room directly outside the pool. Too noisey not enough privacy. Unclean rooms shower had soap scum in it. Was missing towels one of the days
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Alisi R, Hotel Management
Bula Kayz Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short We do appreciate you sharing your opinion about our services and rest assured that we will work hard to fix the issue you had experienced. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Vinaka & Kind Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Room and hotel reception staff

Posted Jan 1, 2018
I arrived at the hotel at 9pm at night and the reception staff asked me to take a seat while they served other lighter coloured skin guests.I was then told that they are fully booked,after 30minutes of waiting I went up to the desk and informed the reception staff and the Duty Manager that there are only two people booked for the room, they apologised and advised me that they will upgrade me to a water view room.This room had the air conditioning leaking the whole night. The hotel rooms needs a bit of touch up or updating the beds,bathroom,fixtures. Thank you to Loraini and Litia from the restaurant for a great service with their beautiful smiles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Alisi R, Hotel Management
Bula Thank you for posting your review and I am sorry to hear that there was a miscommunication regarding your booking conditions. We do appreciate you sharing your opinion about our service especially your check in and our rooms, please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and to prevent future occurrence. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back. Vinaka & Kind Regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland, nz

its good enough

Posted Dec 30, 2017
It was nice stay just cuz of wheather cudnt enjoy the outside much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Alisi R, Hotel Management
Bula Daizy Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the weather and we look forward to your next one
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Seafront Hotel(no Beach)

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: The Seaviews from hotel lobby and room.
Cons: Handy porter available and service of aircon in rooms on the older wing.
Location: Close enough to Suva(about 15minutes drive). Taxis available for trips or bus stops by road in front of hotel.
We booked and paid for 2 rooms(family of 5), a deluxe and an Executive room for one night stay as it was a last minute booking. Found it quite expensive for one night stay. Front office staff very friendly and helpful(although porter services is somewhat limited the staff tried to assist us and we appreciated it as had a long drive down from the West. Bar services was great with an attentive barman who took the time to share a joke and he made sure we were always ok. We enjoyed the serenading by a staff member while enjoying the lovely sea views. Breakfast was buffet although there was no sign of pancakes and bacon(we had those at the Novotel Nadi) we welcomed the inclusion of the vegetarian curry and roti to the menu. Thank you for that. Our room on the right wing was dated but suited us for the one night stay, our aircon was not that cold but we made do. The left wing is updated and we had an executive room. Modern decor and fittings and an awesome shower head. Aircon in this side is great. Well worth paying the extra for the rooms on this side in my opinion(stronger aircon and updated. Upon checkout we could not locate a porter and the front office lady made no attempt to get us a porter so we just took the trolley ourselves and loaded up our luggage.(I suppose the porter was attending to other tasks). Was just a shame that the front office lady made no attempt like the staff the previous day to find us a porter. Great stay though for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Alisi R, Hotel Management
Bula Thanks for your review and for letting us know on the areas that we could improve our services on. I do appreciate you sharing your opinion about our services and please rest assured that we are committed to ensure these issues do not happen again Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Vinaka & Kind Regards