Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Julie

Stepping Back In Time

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Like stepping back into 16th c. China -- this place is amazing. The rooms are beautifully furnished & bathrooms were very nice with luxury appointments. Loved our stay, however there were some issues, if they addressed these it would be perfect: floors very dingy, not well vacuumed (I wore socks). Check-in staff seemed to need training, nice enough but not knowledgeable about things like when/where breakfast was served, checkout time, etc. We did meet the new owner and he was very welcoming and concerned about our stay. All told I would definitely stay there again in Suzhou, you cannot beat the location or the vibe.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel with lots of charm

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
The location for this place was deceiving - at first, you have to navigate some tricky alleyways through very condensed residential areas. However, once you explore the Pingjiang area along the river, it's an incredible array of shops, juice bars, coffee shops, and restaurants...along with optional riverboat rides, art, and more. It's within walking distance of several major attractions in Suzhou, though some of the major streets are pretty dangerous to navigate through. The traveler photos do not do the place justice. It has incredible charm and history, the bathrooms were surprisingly nice. However, some of the cloth in the canopy bed was torn and the carpets could use some love - it looks like lots of wear and tear on this incredible property.
3 out of 5
by Daniel from Taipei

Great surprise!

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great location near the canal. Perfect for walking and snacking!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Moo

The hotel location is considered

Posted Jan 1, 2011 on HotelClub
The hotel location is considered o.k. but we experience the worst holiday stay in this hotel. They do not have hot water supply! And the room we stayed are so cold even with the heater working. The furnitures are old and the hotel is without proper maintenance. We definitely will not go back to this hotel anymore !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sheila

A really nice place to stay. Felt

Posted Sep 20, 2010 on HotelClub
A really nice place to stay. Felt like a real Chinese place. Location very pleasant and easy to get to many attractions. would highly recommend to other expats for a one or 2 night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anonymous

you''ll have to climb many steps

Posted May 26, 2010 on HotelClub
you''ll have to climb many steps in order to get to the lodge. The lodge itself is average in every respect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anonymous

I was having trouble to go to

Posted Apr 19, 2010 on HotelClub
I was having trouble to go to the hotel when I arrived at Suchou Bus Terminal. Taxi refused to take me there because of road works near the hotel. Finally, I managed to get a pick-up to send me to the hotel. It's was right in a small lane and the driver has to call the hotel for direction. Anyway, it's worth the trip. I would recommend friends to stay at this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
不错的体验,如果不是黄梅天下雨感觉会更好
4 out of 5
by CHU CHENG from Taiwan

Location很好的一個販店

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
Location真的很好...離觀前街近,旁邊就是平江路...很好逛...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 大連市

蘇州観光のベースとして便利な子民家旅館

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: 蘇州の雰囲気抜群の平江路沿いにあり世界遺産である獅子林、拙政園まで徒歩10分位、蘇州の中心地である観前街も徒歩15分位、新しく出来た地下鉄1号線の駅まで徒歩7~8分のロケーション。
Cons: 客室の整備(特に浴室周りの使い勝手が悪い)、庭の整備。
ホテルというにはちょっと建物、設備が古すぎる。タクシーで直接乗り付けが困難なのでちょっと不便。それでも古くからの蘇州の雰囲気を味わいながら蘇州観光のベースにするのにはちょうど良い旅館だと思います。