Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Way to bad

Posted Jul 17, 2016
hotel is too old. Not worth :(((((((((((((( Staff good tho but it's not worth for 230 Cad
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice location by the lake, but needs new mattress

Posted Dec 4, 2015
we booked a mini suite with club benefits for 2 nights during a weekend in late November. nice big tub, nice bidet, nice indoor pool w/ views to the lake but my kids complained that the water was too cold. breakfast was so crowded that weekend (as there was a corporate event that weekend so it was fully booked), instead of having buffet breakfast at the buffet, we were sent to the Chinese restaurant across the hall for breakfast (still buffet style, but not as organized as it was in the buffet room). there were 5-6 little kids running around playing and shouting, really downgraded the image and aura of this supposed to be top notch hotel. furniture and mattress is a little dated, but still very clean. I requested to have kids packages ( toothbrush and slippers, etc) but they said they can only provide kids slippers and robes. My kids loved the Hello Kitty slippers and robes, also enjoyed soaking in the 6 ft diameter round tub in the bathroom. Lounge was OK, looks better in pictures, happy hour snacks were just OK, they have ice cream locked up and told us only available during breakfast and dinner hours???!!!!!! Staff are friendly and helpful. Taxi from the front of the hotel is convenient, 2 kinds: 1. is Didi (like Uber in the states) drivers who can take appointments and drive you around in their private cars (we got ripped off) 2. is the regular cab, regulated with cameras on the front dash, more honest than the Didi drivers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in central Suzhou

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Rooms are spacious and clean. Restaurant was good and not too expensive. Convenient lounge. The breakfast coffee is good and strong.
Cons: Breakfast room is crowded at peak time, the overspill served in the lounge is not quite as good.
I travel a *lot* (over 20 weeks in a year) and have stayed in hotels all over Asia. The Intercontinetal in Suzhou was a bit of an unknown quantity when I booked but I'm glad I did. The location, within a 30-minute cab ride from the Suzhou HST station and walking distance from the International Conference Centre is convenient and the view over the lake very pleasing. Rooms are spacious, modern and clean and staff friendly and helpful. A colleague was upgraded and said that her room was the best she'd ever had. I would definitely stay here again. I rarely eat in hotel restaurants, finding them often mediocre and overpriced, but the Chinese restaurant at the Intercontinent was good and reasonably priced for its standard. The lounge is relaxed and the bar reasonably-priced considering it is a hotel. Pro tip: The breakfast room is crowded at peak times and they serve the overspill in the lounge. Whilst they offer basically the same menu in the lounge, the fare in the breakfast room is better and fresher - wise guests will time their breakfast schedule to eat in the main room. That said, I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Best of all

Posted Oct 19, 2015
What could I asked more? Intercontinental had everything. Dinner buffet 10/10. Sky lounge 27th floor skyline view at night with best selection of wines 10/10. Hotel staffs 10/10. Location 10/10 (time square and big shopping malls all within a few mins of walking distance). Luxurious room and comfortable bed 10/10. Wish I could've stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable, clean, and convenient.

Posted Apr 25, 2015
A world class hotel with helpful and attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Always my best in Suzhou

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The condition and the view is just amazing
Cons: If the staff members could speak a little more English will be great.
Have been to several hotels in Suzhou and this one is by far one of my favorites!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

All hotel services and staff were excellent

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Cons: The only unfortunate incident was with the black taxis outside far to expensive and poor service.
Reception and general repoire with staff was excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AT from Singapore

Relaxing n peaceful.

Posted Mar 12, 2013
Pros: Peaceful n near to nature as hotel is next to a lake.
Cons: Far away from city centre. About 30 - 40 mins by car.
The room we stayed was very well designed and comfortable, with high ceiling and good air flow. The bathroom has individual cubicle for toilet and standing bath, with another separate bath tub. Ventilation was good with no smell. We enjoyed the 3 nights' stay very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from China

Brand new, best hotel in Suzhou

Posted Nov 11, 2011
Located 10mn from the train station, on a nice lake. International shopping center next door and pedestrian place nearbye full of restaurants and coffee shops. Nice both for business and leisure travelers. Cuban bar where you can smoke. Nice buffet all day long. Bit pricey given its cureent occupancy. Definitely no-go of you are looking for old style hotel close to the gardens, or want to have a stroll around. All modern new Suzhou around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Excellent hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Above. Plus very thoughtful housekeeping staff. They left a box of ginger drink in our room when they found I am taking cold and flu herbal medicine.
Cons: Nil
Location: Within walking distance are : Elite book store Suzhou, shopping malls, culture and expo centre, subway stations, high speed train station, Jinji Lake,
Comfortable. Clean. Modern. Spacious. Great location.Thoughtful.