Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Heng from Singapore

Right in the middle of the action

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is right on the bank of one of the canals where all the tourist action is. Everyday, tens of thousands of tourists pass right under our room - that might give you an indication of the beauty of the view. The night view is fantastic too, but the lights go off promptly at 9pm, so all the tourists disappear and it becomes quiet. The hotel is also in a very central location where there are direct buses to all the other places (eg #1 Silk Factory, Administrator's Garden, etc), but you need to know Chinese to read the routes posted at the bust stop. It is also about 150m from the Shan Tang subway station (exit #3), which itself is one stop from the Suzhou Railway station. The rooms are old, but is well maintained and everything works, except for the bathroom tap (see below). Con: the hotel staff are next to useless. They look like country mouse villagers working temporarily. She was eating her noodles right in front of us while checking us out. Knows nothing about everything. Con: the facuet in the bathroom is too near the edge of the wash basin, making use very very difficult.
2 out of 5
by Hong

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by HK from HK

Not really good

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels
Not really good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by janet from england

Needs maintainence

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Maintenance
Location: Good location.
Our room needed some redecoration with wallpaper coming away from the wall in places and tiles missing in the bathroom. Some odour of drains in the bathroom. Unfortunately the room we had was adjacent to the next door restaurant courtyard so we could hear their music until midnight and on occasion people talking. Hotel was however well placed by the water. Although their English was limited staff did try and help with queries.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by naskah from KL Malaysia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2013
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Charlotte from Beijing

Maybe old, maybe not

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location. However at the moment the area has a lot of construction at the moment. Restaurants in the area are quite pricey, but great atmosphere. We had two rooms...one was good and had lots of charm (though not overly clean) - but the other one was small and had an unpleasant smell. Actually the first room we were shown had no door to the bathroom.....but after convincing the friendly receptionist that is was not appropriate for westerners, she kindly changed it. I would probably stay again but would shop around.
4 out of 5
by Per from Bangor, Maine, USA

Great location

Posted May 28, 2013 on Hotels
The room is small, and the shower drains drain slowly, just like I had read from other reviewers. But the location is fantastic. We had a balcony facing the canal (and big windows that open) and there is a great restaurant right next to the hotel with outdoor dining on a roof terrace as well as at the canal. Drawbacks is that public transportation is not very good so bring good shoes for walking. We arrived by taxi but the driver could not find a way to drive there so we had to drag our luggage for about 800 meters. But safe nice alleys along canals to get there. I'd recommend this place if you like historic charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

awesome location on the canal

Posted Apr 27, 2013
best location in the city. right on the canal. heaps of bars and restaurants right outside. would definitely stay here again. very well priced for the location. clean enough and English speaking staff
2 out of 5
by Dan from Canada

Unfriendly Staffs, Smelly Room

Posted Apr 22, 2013 on Hotels
The room was filled with dirty water smell from the bathroom. Clearly it doesn't match the price you paid. We booked a large room and ended given a tiny room. The staff wouldn't help to call a taxi for you because it cause them 5c of the local minute on phone. Just look for a better hotel near by ShanTang. This hotel is not worth your time.