Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: The cosy ambience of the hotel is a departure from other business hotels that I had stayed in. My evening returns are always greeted with beautiful cups of chinese tea in the lobby and mornings are enchanting with the traditional chinese music in the dining room.
Cons: The hotel's layout and facilities are not catered for disabled guests.
4 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Andrew from China

Second and last time staying at Scholars Suzhou

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: This hotel should not be listed on Expedia.
Nice hotel in great location, unfortunately it took one hour to check in and that was only after leaving a cash deposit much more than we paid though Expedia. They only use fax confirmation for online reservations and not email. (Expedia should note this) Also their fax machine only works intermittently and keeps having paper jams therefore losing the fax confirmations Expedia was trying to send. Once we paid a cash deposit for a room that we already paid in full for, the woman at the desk told us she would follow up with Expedia to get it sorted. We wake up the next morning to check out and nothing was done at all. Different woman this time and one more hour for us to check out. And the issue was never completely resolved. Luckily Expedia reimbursed us for the stay and issued a credit for our trouble.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location nice service

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels
Service was good and it was nice to stay somewhere that offers a personal and chinese experience once in a while.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent place, great ambience

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels
This is not a 5-star hotel, but it's certainly comfortable enough. Good value for the cost that we paid, and kid-friendly in that there are few breakable items in the room and little gifts kept appearing daily. The room was clean, not immaculate. Floor could have been vacuumed a touch more, but otherwise it was very nice. Beds were firm, very clean. Nice sheets. Amenities included breakfast (extra cost) and wifi (didn't always work). No pool or conference facilities, but nearby a park and several restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location was very centrally located in SIP

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: Authentic Chinese décor and affordable, very friendly staff.
Cons: More English speaking staff, front desk staff should know basic phrases or know how to get in touch with someone who does.
Location: This hotel is located in the heart of the new SIP which is near everything and a very clean and well located area. Very good for business trips.
Biggest challenge was the lack of English. John speaks English very well and was very helpful. When we had issues, Expedia intervened and they eventually upgraded our hotel. Very nice authentic style, modern comforts. Lots of perks in the form of daily presents and excellent maid service. Internet was pretty good. Decent value compared to other hotels. Furniture and finishes were a little worn and we had trouble finding places to eat other than fast food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from China

Pleasant hotel, would definitely stay there again.

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Nice hotel with great character and even better location in SIP. We had a small problem checking in where the staff didn't see that we had a reservation. Expedia customer service called the hotel and cleared it up within 10 minutes. The staff was very professional the entire time and apologized for the mistake. We would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Sara from 上海

房间古色古香

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
略显逼仄,空间不够。走廊很棒,大厅很有味道。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

気持ちのいいおもてなし

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: おもてなしのお菓子特に【梅】のお菓子
Cons: 一泊だけなので不明
Location: すぐそばの大きなショッピングモールの2階のスーパーのお茶売り場はお土産にお薦めです。ちょっとしたお配り品がみつかります。
ウェルカムドリンクやお菓子、無料のジャーのウォーターなど気持ちのいいおもてなしをいただきました。朝食の【蘇州特徴】の品々と、カウンターでその場でゆでたり調理してくださる品々がとても美味しかったです。 2階のラウンジの無料のボトルウォーターや、お菓子、廊下の無料の果物など、気が利いていると思いました。 インテリアや、備え付けの便箋など、いかにも中国に滞在した【気分】になれます。トイレットペーパーを流さないようにという注意書きもいかにも中国に滞在している【気分】になれました。
4 out of 5
by WING SUM from hk

good stay

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels
high level of clean and tidiness but still need to improve the efficiency for both check in and check out processes. still very very slow