Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from anonymous

Very dissapointed

Posted Aug 26, 2015
This hotel was close to airport and noise was very loud. Breakfast was not fresh everything seemed stale. There were 2 tvs in the bedroom that didnt work somehow had a timer of 5 minutes you leave it on and it switches off. The lady at front desk told us we had to pay for wifi thought that was pathetic considering that every other hotels in greece have it for free. When asked for car hire got told a ridiculous price of 65euro per day the staff couldn't even give us directions to anything gave us a photocopied map. The beds and pillows are hard like a rock. The sheets had stains on it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Nice rooms, but strong smell of bleach

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Pool great, gardens lovely, breakfast good.
Cons: Towel charges should tell airport is very close.
Location: Beach, restaurants
Requested 2 rooms together but didnt get them, rooms expensive f ok r what you got, charge extra for beach towels which was i thought was rude when paying 260 euros 2 rooms one night.
4 out of 5
by Wolfie934 from Portsmouth

Great Over Nighter

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels
Only stayed for one night as I travelled from Ithaka to Athens, but had a very pleasant stay. Alexandra on reception was helpful and organised a take-away breakfast as I was travelling early the following day. The room was OK but not fantastic and TV options were limited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful and relaxing place to stay in Kefalonia

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Mainly the fact is was so well-kept and there was all you could need - bar, pool, mini market, sun balconies. There was even a treatment/spa centre!
Location: Location is very near to the airport. Not much else to do nearby but excellent beaches - shallow, calm water, and so clear.
Astra is simply perfect for a relaxing break in the hot Greek sun. Friendly staff, very chilled-out place, all buildings and decor in excellent conditions, the gardens are fantastic. Super pool, lots of sun beds, even in August we always got lots of pool-side time. The sea and a little beach called Ammes is literally 250 metres from Astra, so it's perfect for an afternoon dip. Restaurant is decent enough but probably the only weak link, especially as there's not that many restaurants nearby either. The only watch-out....if you don't like aeroplanes landing/taking off, then this isn't the place for you! It's very close to the runway, but the planes only land a few times a day, and even then they're actually quite a cool spectacle.
1 out of 5
by Disgruntled from Cambridgeshire

Rip off taxi fee and twin bed misrepresentation

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels
DO NOT wait until last minute to book a taxi to the airport. It's a two minute drive but the hotel wouldn't call a cab unless they arranged payment for 20 Euros "to book in advance as they come a long way" went to reception and they hadn't booked it, called a taxi from the airport who was really grumpy as he wouldn't see much of the fare. Worse.. Booked Quad room with double and 2 singles. No... One single was a narrow bed setee with wooden arms restricting the length. The other was a narrow camp bed. Refused to change room as 'all booked' and offered to provide another camp bed that would have meant climbing over them to reach the bathrom..which didn't have thermostat on shower...boiling/cold/boiling/cold. Upside? At least the A/c worked but nothing could charge if we didn't have the key in the holder. Breakfast was good - drinks predictably expensive. Only there one night before flying but be aware that many ground floor rooms have tiny 'patio' and a view of a wall. Steep hill would be challenging for physically challenged. No pool towels available. Shop across the road and nearby Tavernas were a big help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by W. from CA

A great hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2013
A great stay at this hotel. We were given a second room without additional charge when the staff discovered that they reserved a room for three instead of four people. The suites are spacious with great patios and views. The dinner and the complementary breakfast buffets were exceptional with large varieties of food choices. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Monica from Cumbria

Great location for the airport

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: The slighty tired bathroom with its broken toilet seat and shower head
Location: Perfectly located for the airport and a fantastic, sandy, beach
The hotel is well located for the airport. The facilities were good. The pool area was well maintained and attractive. The breakfast was good with lots of variety. The restaurant meals were okay, but we had better in the Tavernas and there was more atmosphere. All in all a good stop over for a couple of days but I would not have wanted to be there for a full week. We had issues with the air conditioning which the staff did try and resolve, but they were unsuccessful.The bathroom was in need of some maintainance and a deep clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from Christchurch New Zealand

A pleasant hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2012
Location: Close to airport
Lovely hotel. Only stayed one night for proximity to the airport.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TEL AVIV ISRAEL

disappointment

Posted Jul 28, 2011 on Hotels
We stayed for 4 nights in the hotel whan arrived we got a very dirty room. the hotel is near the airport so you hear all the noise . the pool is nice but it cost 2 euro for each towel. the room has a very simple furniture . I was very very disappointed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Athens, Greece

Family with 2 kids

Posted Jul 6, 2011
We stayed in Astra Village for 5 nights and it was an enjoyable and pleasant stay. The kids liked it so much that they want to come back again. The rooms are very clean and well equipped. Facilities makes your stay more relaxed such as the mini-market, snack bar, all-day restaurant and parking. The hotel staff are very friendly and recommend nice place to visit. In summary, the value of money is reasonable especially if you are planning to spend a big amount of time visiting the island.