Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading, UK

Beautiful location

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Beautiful location, close to beach
Cons: Hotel Upgrade
Location: Quiet location, beautiful scenery and walk to beaches. Tavernas close. Bus stop right outside to capital.
So We read the reviews before we left , which are mixed, and if you are looking for a five star hotel you will be disappointed. However, once you get past Showergate (OMG! - you mean I have to hold the shower head?) or the fact that the staff are naturally friendly rather than fawning, everything about this hotel becomes charming. It does need upgrading, but money is tight and other hotels around are similar. However, the location is beautiful, you get a wonderful sea view, - close to two beaches - there are great tavernas 5 minutes walk away - the pool is large and fine - rooms are clean and have fridge and aircon. A quiet holiday and great for families. Food not five star, and no entertainment in evening, but, hey, go out.. Surprised no reviews mentioned planes - you are close to runway, but only a few per day and the local sport is to video them coming down on beach. We will go again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Last minute booking

Posted Aug 27, 2017
We had a really lovely week here and I could have stayed a 2nd week. Admittedly the hotel is in need of refurbishment but it is clean and has the most fantastic beautiful pool area. Here you do not need to fight or get up early just to get a sunbed - even if you want to wander down to the pool in the afternoon you will get a sunbed - it is that relaxed here. Yes there are the planes flying over the pool area but they are so few and far in between it did not bother me, in fact I found it fascinating seeing them from the pool! The plus side on this is that your transfer from the airport to the hotel is only around 15 miniutes so no long hot coach transfer. I would recommend you try this hotel for the quiet, laid back, relaxed holiday it is with no fancy mod cons. It is also very central to a few good taverna and a couple of bars and 2 fantastic beautiful beaches. If you are looking for a more busier evening or day you can easily catch the bus to Argostoli where there are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops as where the Irinna Hotel is the area is very quiet - hence why you will come back home very relaxed :0)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old style charm on a budget

Posted Aug 5, 2017
With a large pool, within 5 minutes of beaches,and a stones throw from the airport this hotel has an old fashioned charm and really helpful friendly staff. As a budget option we accepted the tiny shower and rather dated decor.The location was good for exploring the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly and rekaxing

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Beautiful pool - an oasis surrounded by flowers. Very quiet hotel. Close to many wonderful tavernas and two beaches. Quick airport transfers. All in all slow key, tranquil setting for a peaceful holiday on a gorgeous Greek island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Pleasant hotel in a nice quiet resort

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Excellent pool and very friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wells

Very friendly hotrl

Posted Jul 12, 2017
The only negative thing about the hotel is the sun beds are very uncomfortable, but easily solved with lilos. The staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel is very clean, the food was basic but tasty. All in all I had a very relaxing stay and would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Jun 27, 2017
First up - we had a great week. The positives - the most welcoming of staff; fantastic 30m pool which was very clean; lovely breakfast veranda overlooking nice garden; stylish calm bar with very nice veranda as well. Our room was spacious with excellent air conditioning, new towels daily, and a fantastic view of mountains. The surrounding area is good for families. There are two lovely clean beaches with wonderful fine sand (one is just and good umbrellas (€3.50 for a bed). One is just 800 m away. There are several nice family restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is old and a little faded but if you look beyond that, you can have a really lovely holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Surprisingly pleasant stay.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: The location was just where we wanted to be. The pleasant veranda overlooking the pool. Our room had an excellent sea view.
Cons: The breakfast orange! As I said the place could be updated. A decent sound system for the pool bar would make a difference to the ambiance.
Location: Beaches are small and clean. Local tavernas are good, Milos at Ammes and Fois are our favourites. The pool bar at Ammes is another favourite of ours.
We spent our first holidays in Kefalonia at the Irrina more than 20 years ago, we had several wonderful holidays as a family before going to other places. In more recent years, as a couple, we returned to Svoronata staying in other accommodation. This time, our preferred hotel was full so we tried the Irrina again. Little has changed since our first visit, it does need updating, but the staff were helpful, polite and smiley. Everywhere was clean, the pool is very big and spotless. The breakfast buffet was very good by Greek standards. As always we had a fantastic holiday. The Irrina suited us and we wouldn't hesitate to book it again, if you want somewhere lively with all mod cons, go somewhere else! Thank you to everyone at the hotel for making our stay so pleasant.
5 out of 5
by JENNIFER HOPE from BOURNEMOUTH

IRINNA IS 'PEACE' IN GREEK - AND LIVES UP TO IT!

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed at the Irinna Hotel almost every year for the past ten years. The atmosphere is relaxed, warm and ideal for the single traveller, like myself. Although the hotel would be classified as retro from the early 1970s, everything works, the pool is gorgeous and the beaches a short walking distance, where the sea is safe for children and swimming - provided the weather is good and sea not choppy. The restaurant is good and very reasonably priced, and there are plenty of Tavernas within easy walking distance if you want a change of scenery. The area is peaceful - Irinna means 'Peace' in Greek - and it really is! Enjoy your trip and stay at the Irinna - you never know, I might see you there!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Clean but tired hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2016
I got the impression this used to be 4/5 star hotel but due to lack of investment has now slipped to 3. Staff are very helpful and hotel is clean but maintaince and renovation needed before tired fixtures and fittings become beyond repair. Still had a great holiday due to location and the fact we only used hotel as a base.