Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chris from Melbourne

Lovely Swadlincote

Posted Jul 18, 2015 on Hotels
After arriving in the UK at 5.00am and driving directly to The Mill Wheel, the staff ensured that my sister and I were able to check in early and have a shower before heading to meet our mother for the first time in 44 years. They made our short visit very comfortable and easy. Thanks guys. The breakfast is AMAZING!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Short stay weekend

Posted Jul 4, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent evening meal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Terry from Oldham

The Mill Wheel

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
Nice Hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rodney from Peterborough

Happy

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
the owners were very nice and extremely helpful people. The room, although quite comfortable was rather tired. The food in the restaurant was nice and service prompt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Neil from Hampshire

visit to see friends

Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
Food amazing and staff really friendly, just a shame the bed wasn't more comfortable and bathroom finished
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Terrible!

Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Hotels
I booked this hotel via hotels.com for one night. The price included room and breakfast. Upon arrival when I checked in I was told that there would not be any cooked breakfast but just Continental breakfast as the owner/chef was on holiday. Later on I was told that they would give me a muffin and a croissant in the evening to take to my room and when I asked about a hot drink, they told me that I could make tea in my room as there was a kettle. Upon complaining I was also given some yoghurt and some fruit to take up to my room, no fruit juice, no jam, of course no toast. I was the only guest that day in the hotel, however that is definitely not an excuse for this kind of treatment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ning from Cambridge

Worth of the money!

Posted Dec 19, 2014 on Hotels
I went to ski trip on Swadlincote with another seven friends, so we literature booked the whole 4 rooms. The hotel is clean, staff is nice, and definitely worth of the money. Plus the food in the bar is really really nice, and we had the fantastic mulled wines as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by DIEGO from Madrid

En genaral el hotel necesita una renovación

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
En general el hotel necesita una renovación. Y el wifi que anuncian es inexistente.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Geneva, CH

Good beer and food, room small and basic, quiet

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Food and atmosphere
Cons: Bed and room decoration
Location: Was there for work, I guess I would visit Ashby de la Zouch if I had time.
The bar and the mill wheel reastaurant are pleasant, good food, but you better close your eyes and go to sleep right after entering your room#2, no space to do some work on the tiny table.