Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Nice staff & Atmosphere

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Everything you would expect from this chain of hotels clean comfortable rooms reasonably priced
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly warm and welcoming

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Friendly amazing staff.
Cons: Rooms need renovating but still clean and comfortable
Fabulous staff nothing was too much trouble. Great cosy bar and comfortable lounge area. Lovely food reasonable prices and in a great location.
3 out of 5
by Jovana

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
It was OK for a 3 star hotel
4 out of 5
by Gary

Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Hotels
Used the hotel as a base for a wedding. family room for 2 adults and 2 children very good. Staff very polite and helpful
5 out of 5
by Andrew

By George! a good stay

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
We booked a family room for 3 adults and were pleasantly surprised to get 2 adjoining rooms. The beds were very comfortable as was the service. We ate in the hotel for dinner and included breakfast. The food was good and plenty of choice. We made the mistake of eating in the bar rather than the restaurant which we discovered later. Overall an excellent stay and will use again when in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doncaster

Room allocated NOT as booked

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Not being allocated the room on the ground floor which was confirmed when the booking was made in August but NOT available when we arrived
Cons: THE ROOM BOOKING PROCEDURE
Location: We enjoyed visits to Gooderstone Water Gardens and Gressenhall Farm & Workhouse
The room allocated was not as booked, I requested a GROUND FLOOR room due to my wife's restricted mobility, she has difficulty managing stairs, I was promised the ground floor room by EXEDIA which I confirmed with reception when booked in August but on arrival we were told such a room was not available as the Hotel only had one suitable room, I did not request any special ground floor room only a double room and I do know that there were ground floor rooms in the hotel extension. We had been allocated a room on the first floor which we accepted and my wife struggled up one flight of stairs. I cannot understand why a ground floor room was confirmed when we made the booking, but not available a month later ??. Overall the hotel was clean and comfortable, the food was good and all the staff were friendly and helpful,particularly the lady on reception who was very apologetic regarding the room issue and offered help with luggage, also the bar & restaurant staff.
4 out of 5
by Joanna

Lovely stay

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfy room and good food. I would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Aug 29, 2017
The water pressure to our shower was very low. We were on the 2nd floor which may explain it but in any case water only trickled out of the shower making it a frustrating experience. Otherwise everything was lovely. Clean and nicely decorated with easy to access info, good Wi-Fi and a decent amenities. The food in the restaurant is excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west country UK

Two night stay

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The food and the staff
Cons: the bedroom and en-suite needs updating.
Breakfasts and evening meals were excellent. Beautifully cooked. the Hotel staff were excellent. The only thing that let this Hotel down, was that we were In a room with three windows overlooking a busy main road, one of the Windows was missing its secondary glazing unit, which meant the noise from the road wasnt muffled.
5 out of 5
by John

Nice Norfolk base

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent Norfolk base in a very nice market town and close to a lot of interesting places to visit. Large comfortable rooms and bathrooms and very clean. Nice beds. Very nice informal bar and restaurant downstairs. Both very well used which indicates how good they are. Some traffic noise if your room faces the main square. Breakfast exceptional value. Staff delightful . Overall highly recommended as a very tradition English pub hotel. Very good parking too.