Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy Access to Various Sites

Posted Feb 2, 2016
We were a little disappointed in as much as we found 2 failures. 1. Water came through the ceiling in the early morning as if someone above was washing/showering. 2. The seat on the toilet was not fixes correctly and a little unsafe. However, once reported to a Member of Staff on our departure (we were only staying the one night) this was accepted and an apology immediately forthcoming. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Great breakfast, helpful staff, good breakfast finish time. So you didn't have to wake up to early. And 11am checkout. Good secure parking facilities.
Cons: Bedrooms need modernising. Decor,furniture and bathrooms. Disappointed with the shower. Also a lot of traffic noise windows need double/triple glazing
Location: Centre of Swaffham in Norfolk good for local shops also central for visiting Norwich about 30+ miles away. Sandringham etc.
Stayed in the family room 207/208 actually two separate rooms but there is a separate secure door and corridor meaning even if you have young children. Our son is eight. You can leave the bedroom doors open so they don't get worried about being on there own. Usual coffee/tea making facilities. No mini bar. Our son even had the larger TV in his room. Shower not very powerful in the bathroom which needs updating. Great full English breakfast and breakfast facilities with very attentative staff. Nice check out time of 11am with very helpful reception staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Nice location pity about the staff.

Posted Mar 3, 2015
We booked a 3 night stay at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised st the location and facilities. However our shower was broken. I reported this asap only to find all other double rooms were booked up. Instead we were giving a twin room down the corridor for shower use and for the inconvenience a promise for adjustment in cost. By our 3rd night we had been given a fully functional room with working shower the morning of our checkout we returned the keys and asked if they had come to an agreement on the reduced fee mentioned on the first night. To our complete surprise she denied all mention of it and condescendingly said we had already paid a reduced fee through Expedia. I'm not one to complain and I'm not a penny pincher but the manner of her customer service was unacceptable, I wont be recommending this hotel to family or friends and will book elsewhere on our return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NIce hotel close to friends address

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Very helpful staff and set in an excellent location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Second visit

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, room confortable and all the staff very pleasant especially Joan on reception.
Cons: For goodness sake sort out the disabled parking - it's such a nuisance when it is not marked out correctly or at all as in this case.
Perfectly comfortable and the room has everything you need. Breakfast very good and lots of choice. Pleasant staff this time. Just wish they had sorted out the disabled parking - I mentioned it in my last review some months ago and nothing has changed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from Oxford

Central location

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Bathroom could do with updating, and loo seat was loose.
Location: see above
I came to Swaffham for a School Reunion. Having passed The George on the way to school daily many years ago I had to stay there. The hotel is quite elegant, the bedroom was comfortable, but the bathroom was a little tired. Nice large car park and very central for exploring the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JaxG

Fantastic stay.

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Ebookers
We had a lovely time at this hotel. The staff were very friendly, and the price was very reasonable. Will definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by Polly from Scotland

Hotel centrally situated.

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: The restaurant and bar were excellent Great atmosphere, great food, friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Even more modern rooms are dated. Shower/ washing facilities poor or just about adequate.
Location: Swaffham is a lovely old Market Town. North Norfolk Coast easily accessible. Several good National Trust Properties and great walking
On arrival offered second floor room up narrow fairly steep stairway. Began to feel quite claustrophobic the higher we got. No ensuite. Bathroom across corridor. Returned to desk and was allocated another room after saying they were full. This room was an improvement but bath/shower facilities poor. Church clock chiming every quarter of an hour was charming to us but might not suit everyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from London

Excellent Hotel in a quiet Norfolk Town.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: The location was particularly good as it was situated just off the market square and was in easy reach of the shops. Food, staff and rooms were great.
Cons: The heating. It turned off at just the time we needed the room to be warm, however staff provided us with an electric fan heater.
Location: Near to Oxburgh Hall, Peckover House and the larger market town of Dereham. It is also ideal for those wishing to visit Sandringham.
This is an ideal hotel for anybody who wishes to visit friends in Norfolf or visit National Trust Properties in the area. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for the hotel and we found all the staff exceptionally friendly. On both evenings we decided to stay in the hotel to eat. The menu was varied and the food cooked to order. There was also a fantastic atmosphere in the hotel. Although the hotel does accept pets and in fact there was one in the room next door to us, it was never a problem and in fact we only knew the dog was there when we saw it going out for a walk with the owners. I would highly recommend this hotel and we would certainly stay again in the future as we have friends in the area and it is ideal for visiting them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin G. from Kent

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Location, staff and relaxed atmosphere. People were very friendly [ staff and customers alike]
Cons: The rooms perhaps but it was good value so would not complain.
Location: It was a business visit but lots to do around the area.
Stayed one night on the 25th B/B .It's a great location and we enjoyed our stay which was made all the better by the staff. Would stay there again. Swaffham is a very nice town.