Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Paul from UK

Historic hotel in centre of Swakopmund

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
Nice historic hotel in Swakopmund. Rooms large with nice balcony overlooking pool. Food good but service little slow if you order from the al la carte menu. Good location for visiting the town or passing through.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the nicest Swakopmund hotels!

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Everything is great, and we were lucky to stay here.
3 out of 5
by KYOICHI from 東京都


Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Terrible Service

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: Attractive façade.
Cons: Service!
Location: Walkable to downtown and shopping. I would recommend the Strand or new Desire instead -- this is not worth the price.
When we checked in there was no key to our patio doors so we requested one and were told it would be brought to the room. An hour later, I called again and was told the same story. In the interim we discovered that the safe wasn't bolted to the wall and was easily carried, so I went to reception to check on status of key and notify them that safe needed to be secured and was told that the prior guest had taken the key and they couldn't find another. When I explained that meant that guest now had access to our room and could walk off with the safe I was told they would correct that. After returning from dinner several hours later we were told that the maintenance person was alone so could not address issues but would do so the next day. I asked for a specific time and when they called to get it was told he wouldn't be in the next day but would leave a note for the next person and that it would be done in the morning. Infuriating. We were offered a downgraded room facing a wall which we declined. By noon the next day nothing had been done to the room and a manager was finally available (apparently there's no night manager) who apologized and upgraded us to a secure room. When I called to get the WiFi password for the new room the reception person said he was busy checking someone in a would call right back, but of course did not, and 45 minutes later I had to call again. Service is abysmal. Empty promises. Incredibly frustrating and unacceptable. Don't stay here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Breakfast was very good with lots of selections. The service was first rate and the size of the room was larger than most. The on site restaurant for dinner was good and well priced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DAS Hotel am Platz! liegt zentral u sehr ruhig

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Alles gut; nur das sehr laute Klappen der Zimmertüren der anderen Gäste beendet die Nachtruhe spätestens um 7 Uhr - meistens früher! In Namibis geht das Leben und damit die Unruhe im Hotel eben mit Hellwerden los. Und das ist um 6 Uhr früh.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth

Nice but a bit boring

Posted May 29, 2015
Nice hotel but it's a bit boring or traditional if you normally prefer botique style. A little expensive for what you get
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lille

Superbe hotel de charme

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Le cadre ( vieille gare allemande 1901tres bien rénovée) et la gentillesse du service.
Cons: Le bar: aucun charme carte inexistante ( pas de cocktail !)
Location: Centre ville,la plage les boutiques.les vieilles demeures....
Deux jours de repos dans un cadre enchanteur .belle piscine.calme.