Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin

Nice suprise

Posted May 5, 2017
Warmest greeting from a staff that is professional and genuinely friendly without trying.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
was awosome
5 out of 5
by Nivern

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Paul from UK

Historic hotel in centre of Swakopmund

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
Nice historic hotel in Swakopmund. Rooms large with nice balcony overlooking pool. Food good but service little slow if you order from the al la carte menu. Good location for visiting the town or passing through.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the nicest Swakopmund hotels!

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Everything is great, and we were lucky to stay here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Terrible Service

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: Attractive façade.
Cons: Service!
Location: Walkable to downtown and shopping. I would recommend the Strand or new Desire instead -- this is not worth the price.
When we checked in there was no key to our patio doors so we requested one and were told it would be brought to the room. An hour later, I called again and was told the same story. In the interim we discovered that the safe wasn't bolted to the wall and was easily carried, so I went to reception to check on status of key and notify them that safe needed to be secured and was told that the prior guest had taken the key and they couldn't find another. When I explained that meant that guest now had access to our room and could walk off with the safe I was told they would correct that. After returning from dinner several hours later we were told that the maintenance person was alone so could not address issues but would do so the next day. I asked for a specific time and when they called to get it was told he wouldn't be in the next day but would leave a note for the next person and that it would be done in the morning. Infuriating. We were offered a downgraded room facing a wall which we declined. By noon the next day nothing had been done to the room and a manager was finally available (apparently there's no night manager) who apologized and upgraded us to a secure room. When I called to get the WiFi password for the new room the reception person said he was busy checking someone in a would call right back, but of course did not, and 45 minutes later I had to call again. Service is abysmal. Empty promises. Incredibly frustrating and unacceptable. Don't stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Breakfast was very good with lots of selections. The service was first rate and the size of the room was larger than most. The on site restaurant for dinner was good and well priced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth

Nice but a bit boring

Posted May 29, 2015
Nice hotel but it's a bit boring or traditional if you normally prefer botique style. A little expensive for what you get
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bernd from potomac, MD

Very nicely situated hotel with all amenities

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: The location close by the sea, the spaciousness of the rooms, the breakfast buffet and the whole atmosphere.
Cons: Efficiency and friendliness of the reception staff
Our experience was good, overall; the staff at the reception was less welcoming than could have been. Very good and well assorted breakfast buffet, very nice surroundings and the staff in the Spa was very good. The rooms were spacious, however the so-called "double bed" consisted of two rather narrow single beds which reduced the sleeping comfort.