Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Lovely hotel, good location.

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness; the room had an iron, kettle, tea & coffee & biscuits, the bathroom good products. The receptionist, Ryan, was particularly helpful.
Cons: The hairdryer in the room needs replacing. (Only one speed, slow and hot) so not very effective....but better than no hairdryer at all.
Location: Great access to the University/student village, the town and beach. Close to Cwmdonkin Park & Dylan Thomas' birthplace.
I arrived very late, but that was not a problem, staff very helpful when I rang through to warn them. The room was very clean (and I am fussy) and comfortable. Good facilities in the room, When booking I was unaware that the kitchen/hallway refurbishment was taking place and it was only after I had paid that I was notified of this; they compensated by upgrading my room and making a reduction in the price (without me asking). Really one would expect them to close whilst refurbishment is occurring in public areas (wet paint signs) on the doors and stairway. I had an attic room: pleasant view. The walls are not completely soundproof; (perhaps attic rooms are nosier than the main house?) I could hear the man next door snoring (fortunately not so loud as to prevent me from sleeping, as I was very tired, but a more sensitive sleeper might find it an issue. This would not stop me from returning (my son is at uni in Swansea). I look forward to having the breakfast next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Close to town centre

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Check in was good room good bit noise on road .btrakfast was outside hotel good value for money
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stratford upon Avon

Misleading

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Location and comfortable bed.
Cons: Communication and accuracy of website information
On arrival we were advised that there had been a change of ownership. Breakfast was no longer available on site and there was no private car park. The room, after changing, was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast in the nearby restaurant was excellent. It was understandable that some issues had been caused by the change of ownership but disappointed that we had not been notified prior to arrival.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

I wanted somewhere to stay before and after weddin

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Cant say I liked anything about it.
Cons: It's not fully operative functional at the time I was there. Dinning room seemed to small tables small just about room for two maybe.
Location: Pokky spot on corner of street.Two small to be called a Hotel.
Staff welcoming.Hotel under a little refurbishment.Could not have breakfast there reduced my premium of 2 night's stay restaurant up the street would do us breakfast and reduced the price too which was a help concerning no breakfast at Hotel which was a little off putting. Had I stayed for a week my room would have been inadiquite where to put all clothes, very small compact for 2 night's
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shrewsbury UK

Disappointing.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The manager was very friendly.
Cons: Change the mattress.
Location: Good location with shops and restaurants nearby.
I paid for two nights but only stayed one. The bed was very uncomfortable and the room too small and stuffy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Small, Friendly Hotel, conveniently Located

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Breakfasts as above, friendliness of staff, nice, roomy room
Cons: The en suite facilities were a little cramped
Location: The hotel is in the Uplands. For those of a church-going disposition there is a nice friendly church opposite, St James. The Uplands pub for pubbites
I chose the hotel because it was in the Uplands where I formerly resided nearly 50 years ago. As I arrived with a sprained ankle I asked the proprietor to help me up with my luggage which he gladly did. Everything went well, the breakfasts were out of this world in quality, quantity and choice. Highly recommended!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice But

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Wonderful breakfast - definitely recommend that, although we had a family room which was a little tired and definitely needed new grouting in the shower!
5 out of 5
by sandra from Winchester

a little gem

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
very comfortable, clean and very friendly. Breakfast was delicious and the surrounding restaurants and bars were a very very short walk away
5 out of 5
by diane

Good service and staff - would come again

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Arrived early evening and greeted by very friendly staff who kindly carried by bag to my room. It was s ingle room and quite small, particularly the bathroom and it was slightly awkward squeezing into the shower due to the sink and toilet squashed into such a small space. But it was all very clean, functional and comfortable. WiFi worked well. Tea & coffee in the room Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Staff were attentive and checking out was easy. No parking but found a space on the street very nearby.
5 out of 5
by Viola

Swansea Hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely small hotel with very nice rooms and a great full English for breakfast. Owners were very friendly and helpful.