Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Graeme from Somerset West

Rusty recommends de Kloof Hotel

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the service provided by the staff was first class. Thank you for looking after us so well.
5 out of 5
by Aksel from Frederiksberg

two nice days in Swellendam

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
We found the place on the internet. There was a special offer, much reduced price. It turned out to be 2 very good days in Swellendam.
5 out of 5
by Jane from Camberra, Australia

Elegant and sophisticated boutique hotel estate

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
We had a lovely one night stay att DeKloof. The boutique hotel is set in an 1801 buildings and has been lovingly and sympathetically restored by the current owners. It is in an old historic area of town with lovely walks to view other old houses and cottage gardens. The nature reserve was also special. We really enjoyed the sumptuous breakfast. There was only small negative was with the wifi, which was a bit hit and miss, but we were happy to do without it to enjoy the ambience of the estate. We will return on another trip to South Africa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stirling scotland

Fantastic service and food

Posted Apr 11, 2016
From checking in to departure you were treated like VIP's rooms food and ambiance were superb
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
very nice hotel, good breakfast. Spa - disappointing, don't go for luxury 90 minutes - which is a hot stone massage, expensive and order it only if you like to be massaged in rubber gloves
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire UK

Such a beautiful boutique Hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: The Pool, the rooms, everything!
Cons: Check in. It was hot, we were tired and others were checking in which left us sat for quite a while waiting.
Location: Swellendam is very sweet, a stroll up the town included little cafes and shops and a museum. Lots of old cars in perfect condition too!
Set at the back of Swellendam, just a short walk from the old town, this Hotel is simple, elegant and peaceful (apart from the geese occasionally!). The pool is wonderful, perfect temperature and offers huge cushions which you can float on peacefully. There is pool service via a bell and we tried the Cheese Platter with Wine which was gorgeous and served promptly with a smile. Our room was awesome! A huge water bed, double Jacuzzi bath and twin showers and basins, we giggled our way through the tour round, waiting to jump on the bed and see if we got sea sick! We ate there in the evening, tired after a long journey and had great food, good service and good wine. I recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Pleasant surprise

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Plenty of space here, lots on offer, but just relax by the pool if thats what you want.
Cons: Service by the pool, the bell there is not often answered.
Location: Not far off the N2 easy to find.
As most travellers, we used this as a one night stopover to break our journey to Cape Town. We have now added this hotel to our list and will spend a bit longer there on our next rip later in the year.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Modernised Dutch Farm in parkland setting

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: The way in which the staff went out of their way to ensure that our visit was memorable.
Cons: Some of the steps were difficult for senior people to navigate.The access approach made it difficult to call reception, without exiting our car.
Location: The Drostdy museum and the church should be viisted.
Staff exceeded expectations to make us comfortable. Their waterbed in their stunning Pinot Noir suite gave us a sound night's sleep. There were many antique items of furniture. Breakfast and dinner were beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. The staff made a point of ensuring that the contents of the meals were to our liking. The lounge and pool areas were comfortably appointed. Interesting publications about the South African environment were freely available. They stocked first class wines. We particularly enjoyed the 2013 Esona red wine. A visit to the Drostdy Museum is a must.