Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Andrez

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Breakfast amazing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Such a gem

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast was amazing ... Incl a glass of bubbly ... Fruit etc beautifully presented .... Amazing bread and cakes .. Cooked breakfast was offered .
5 out of 5
by Stacey from Austin, TX

Great value, Amazing Breakfast

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I took a roadtrip to Swellendam from Cape Town. The bed and breakfast was in a nice location with a very relaxing ambience. The breakfast was spectacular. We would stay here again as it was a very good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Great place to stay, really helpful owner (Karin).

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Room, food, owner very helpful, the lovely dogs and cat.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Great restaurant around the corner run by a lovely Scottish Ex-Pat - Powell House. Highly recommended.
We booked using the Trip Advisor app on the 24th December to stay that night. We arrived at the charming, beautiful Old Thatch Lodge and were greeted by the owner, Karin, popping her head out of one of the windows. It's a very picturesque and delightful setting that resembled a small English cottage. The room we requested were all booked after a error on the system through the app, but Karin was really kind and upgraded our room for no extra charge. The room was lovely, completely unlike all the corporate holiday rooms. A bare thatch roof inside, tiled floors, very quiet and realxing. We loved it. That evening Karin and also been kind enough to book us into a local restaurant on Christmas eve - purely optional. We really appreciated this and the food was fantastic and only a 5 minute walk away. On the morning of the 25th Karin presented an amazing breakfast that included everything from beautifully presented fruit, bread, yogurts and a full fry up and fresh juices...all with little flower decorations. She, obviously, takes her food seriously and it was very welcomed. We were also offered a Christmas glass of Champagne for breakfast. Brilliant place to stay. If you someone who likes all the mod-cons then this isn't for you. If you like a slightly quirky, very friendly and relaxing place to stay, this is perfect.
4 out of 5
by Oded from Tel aviv

Old but nice place

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful place , wifi only outside the building. Wonderful breakfast
4 out of 5
by Stephen from Bath

A rustic and secluded charming house.

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels
A rustic and quirky place with plenty of charm and friendly service. The breakfast was excellent on the terrace, the food being accompanied by flowers and a glass of sparkling wine.
3 out of 5
by David from Hampshire

Thatched Building In Swellendam

Posted Feb 7, 2015 on Hotels
Old Thatch Lodge was a strange place, which alternated between good and poor for different things. We stayed two nights and our room was not made up after the first night (maybe because it was Sunday)?? The rooms were clean but lacked a number of features which would normally be expected (e.g. no shower mats, curtains of questionable use). Breakfast was good and owner was very friendly. Swellendam does not have a lot to recommend it for more than a one night stopover.
4 out of 5
by David from Castalla, Spain

Swellendam South Africa

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels
Most enjoyable stay in Swellendam which broke our journey from Cape Town to George. Very friendly welcome, gave us some good tips
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Quaint cottage

Posted Apr 8, 2012 on Hotels
This is a 3 star B&B, with a higher rating felt because of the charming host, beautiful gardens and lovely dogs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels