Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Gillian

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
We have stayed here a few times and it has always been excellent ! The garden was beautiful , rooms spotless and well appointed and breakfast delicious . Service was excellent at all times . Can highly recommend this hotel . I found the bed a little hard but that's my opinion , we like soft beds and others like hard ones !
5 out of 5
by Eva

Real German efficiency and friendliness

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in the XL Suite which is situated in the loft of the building. We loved every moment of it. This Guest House is run by a German couple, and you shall receive the service you expect from Germans. The Suite consisted of bedroom with large kingsize bed, nice firm mattress, large cupboard with lots of hanging space and hangars, and plenty of light both in the room and to read with. Aircon does have heating setting as well. The bathroom was magnificent with shower, jet bath, 2 basins and is a large comfortable room. There is a kitchenette with coffee machine, cutlery and crockery, stocked fridge. The living area has a small round dining room table, couches, TV and everything you need. It was COLD and not once did I feel this cold in our Suite. That to me was a definite plus! The breakfast were delicious, great selection of items, freshly baked goodies, great tasting hot breakfast meals. There are umbrellas to use in the common room. Any problems were resolved immediately resolved. Small maintenance issues were sorted as promised. And the WiFi worked extremely well and did not cut out. That was a great feature. I can highly recommend this Guest House.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from USA

Beautiful

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: The beauty of the landscaping and friendly staff.
We were only looking for an overnight stay while traveling to and from the Garden Route. We were not expecting a "resort" where people stay for several days to enjoy the beauty of the landscaping, pool and personal service. The landscaping was meticulously cared for. As we went to our car to leave an employee was washing our car! How many places do that?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Amazing value hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2017
You have to stay here. Everything is perfect, the room, the garden the setting and the breakfast. I am very fussy about hotels, and I could not fault this one. And the price is unbelievable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading, UK

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Very high standard of accommodation. Wonderful grounds and lovely breakfast. Faultless and one if the best pkaces we have ever stayed in. They even wash your car each morning!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by James from Kuala Lumpur

Sometimes, 5 stars does not do justice.

Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Hotels
The term "luxury" to describe amenities is massively overused. I live in SE Asia and am used to very high Asian standards of genuine luxury and exclusivity. Many so called "luxury" resorts in other parts of the world, fall at the first hurdle with substandard amenities or service. Rothmans Manor, on the other hand fulfils any genuine expectation of real indulgent luxury, manifested in an exquisite attention to detail in the rooms, bathrooms, bedding, gardens, pool, public amenities and superlative attitude to personal service. I cannot praise this property enough. It is stunning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stunning spot in Swellendam. Highly recommend!

Posted Nov 19, 2015
The attention to detail was superb. Such a beautiful place to spend a night. The staff and owners could not do enough for us and nothing was too much trouble. It is immaculately clean and well looked after. We will definitely be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset. UK

5stars are not enough.

Posted Nov 9, 2014
I loved it. I have travelled a lot and stayed in some some amazing places but Rothman Manor is one the best, ever. Amazing attention to detail. Wonderful helpful hosts. The setting is fantastic. I could not recommend it highly enough. I miss it already.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartlepool, UK

Nice Room with pleasant Grounds

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The room and grounds.
Location: Very little to do in the area. Stayed here to break the journey from De Kelders to Oudtshoorn.
Stayed for one night. I think we were the only ones staying. The welcome was a little dissappointing - it was the only place where we were not offered a welcome drink on arrival.