Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from USA

Beautiful

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: The beauty of the landscaping and friendly staff.
We were only looking for an overnight stay while traveling to and from the Garden Route. We were not expecting a "resort" where people stay for several days to enjoy the beauty of the landscaping, pool and personal service. The landscaping was meticulously cared for. As we went to our car to leave an employee was washing our car! How many places do that?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Amazing value hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2017
You have to stay here. Everything is perfect, the room, the garden the setting and the breakfast. I am very fussy about hotels, and I could not fault this one. And the price is unbelievable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading, UK

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Very high standard of accommodation. Wonderful grounds and lovely breakfast. Faultless and one if the best pkaces we have ever stayed in. They even wash your car each morning!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by James from Kuala Lumpur

Sometimes, 5 stars does not do justice.

Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Hotels
The term "luxury" to describe amenities is massively overused. I live in SE Asia and am used to very high Asian standards of genuine luxury and exclusivity. Many so called "luxury" resorts in other parts of the world, fall at the first hurdle with substandard amenities or service. Rothmans Manor, on the other hand fulfils any genuine expectation of real indulgent luxury, manifested in an exquisite attention to detail in the rooms, bathrooms, bedding, gardens, pool, public amenities and superlative attitude to personal service. I cannot praise this property enough. It is stunning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stunning spot in Swellendam. Highly recommend!

Posted Nov 19, 2015
The attention to detail was superb. Such a beautiful place to spend a night. The staff and owners could not do enough for us and nothing was too much trouble. It is immaculately clean and well looked after. We will definitely be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset. UK

5stars are not enough.

Posted Nov 9, 2014
I loved it. I have travelled a lot and stayed in some some amazing places but Rothman Manor is one the best, ever. Amazing attention to detail. Wonderful helpful hosts. The setting is fantastic. I could not recommend it highly enough. I miss it already.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartlepool, UK

Nice Room with pleasant Grounds

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The room and grounds.
Location: Very little to do in the area. Stayed here to break the journey from De Kelders to Oudtshoorn.
Stayed for one night. I think we were the only ones staying. The welcome was a little dissappointing - it was the only place where we were not offered a welcome drink on arrival.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

SUPERB IN SWELLENDAM

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels
A wow around every corner in this luxury boutique hotel. From the moment you drive in through the gates you realise that this is somewhere special. On arrival (slightly ahead of the 1400 hrs check in time) I was warmly welcomed by the owner Andreas and given an orientation of the property and the room; if I am honest I just couldn’t stop smiling, it was stunning.I was in the Morning Sky Suite. The room was fabulous, spacious (approx 50 sqm) had a king size four poster bed with canopy, separate sitting area with sofa, LCD TV and reasonably priced mini bar. The room had two separate outdoor patio sitting areas each with their own entrance, one with two sun loungers and a private entrance to the pool, the second with two chairs and a table over looking the pool. The bathroom was immaculate and well equipped; spa bath, separate rain fall shower and twin sinks. The shower gels/soaps/bath salts were all high quality Rothman Manor own brand. The grounds are where the Rothman Manor really comes in to its own; they are fabulous. A swimming pool with plenty of sun loungers and loads of pool side fluffy towels. The grounds are dotted with lots of private areas with a pairs of loungers or chairs in which to relax. The gardens are absolutely immaculate with two ponds and great views. There is a jacuzzi, with a chill out Tepee next to it, on raised decking overlooking the small eco reserve below. I sat in the Jacuzzi watching zebras and springbok below.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Iain from Scotland

Outstanding accommodation

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Pros: Above
Cons: Zero
Location: Beautiful location and restaurants nearby
Idyllic gardens looking on to zebras etc in natural setting. I cannot do this guest house justice through my inadequate comments - simply superb! helpful, friendly and attentive owners