Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very welcoming

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: Warmth of the welcome.
Cons: The pool only had one skimmer with a hose/floor vacuum always attached. This meant that the floor of the pool was pristine but the surface dirty.
Location: Very pleasant and photogenic quiet village with a real sense of the area's history.
Stopped off for one night en route from Knysna to Cape Town. Once we found the right gate - on the main road - the welcome was very warm and efficient. We were given tea and booked in, then chose a local restaurant for the evening with their advice and they booked it. Room was very pleasant, though short on wardrobe space for a longer stay. In the morning we went for a swim and had breakfast before continuing our journey.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your lovely detailed review! We so appreciate your kind words and we thank you for pointing out the pool issue. We shall have a chat with our groundsman and ensure that the surface is clean. We hope you'll visit with us again, to find a perfectly pristine pool! :) With love, The Schoone Oordt Family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Christian from Morges

Hôtel très romantique et charmant

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Une chambre magnifique avec cheminée, très grande salle de bain. Repas du soir excellent. Personnel très gentil et professionnel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pfalz

Liebevoll restaurierte Hotelanlage

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Wir übernachteten im Hotel Ende Oktober 2015. Unser Zimmer war mit allem Komfort ausgestattet und sehr individuell eingerichtet mit antiken Möbeln. Vom Balkon aus schauten wir in den Garten. Leider hatten wir nicht ausreichend Zeit, um den schönen Polobereich zu nutzen. Vom Hotel aus konnten wir die Restaurants in unmittelbarer Umgebung zu Fuss erreichen. Sonette und alle anderen Bediensteten waren sehr freundlich, umsichtig und hilfreich. Das Drei-Gänge-Frühstück war sehr gut. Das Hotel hat eine sehr individuelle Geschichte engagierte Bedienstete und achtet besonders auf nachhaltigen Umgang mit Ressourcen. Wir können dieses Haus auf jeden Fall weiter empfehlen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2015 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Vielen, vielen Dank für diese wundervolle Bewertung. Bitte entschuldigen Sie unsere amateur Deutsch, aber wir, Ihnen zu sagen, wie sehr wir danken Ihnen für Ihre freundliche und großzügige Worte wollten. Wir liebten die Zeit mit euch beide und freuen uns auf Ihren nächsten Besuch. Mit viel Liebe vom Schoone Oordt Familie
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Graeme from Tewantin Australia

Can't Get Any Better

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
From the moment we arrived until the moment we left this hotel was first class in friendliness, service, food, room, staff--- we could not fault it in any way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Thank you SO much Graeme, for your amazing review. You've made us very happy today! Hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gerrie

WOW Stay

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant one night stay enroute to George from Cape town. Perfect half way stop to break the journey.Very pleasant and professional welcome from Sunette. Accommodation met all our expectations, dinner was exceptional, thanks to Wander for his special touch to the cuisine that was prepared and served. The Breakfast was wow!!! We will return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for mentioning Sonette & Wander by name Gerrie. It means so much to us. We are super grateful for your stunning review and can't wait for your return visit. With much love from all of us at Schoone Oordt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mohammad from Dubai

Exceptenal trip

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mohammad from Dubai

Exceptional stay in exceptional hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2015 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Ah, thank you Mohammed for your exceptional rating! We loved spending time with you. Come back soon! With love from the entire Schoone Oordt Family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience!

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Everything! There was a frost in the morning so we even had our car washed while we ate breakfast!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: We had lunch in Stellenbosch on the way and a walk around the town which was lovely.
Our stay at Schoone Oordt was outstanding: it far exceeded our expectations and we thoroughly enjoyed the fire, the beautiful bathroom, the hot water bottle & the exquisite breakfast!!! I liked that the room had a book in it explaining the history of the house too. A highlight of our holiday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by Alison Wallker, Hotel Management
Such a fantastic review! Thank you so so much. We've read it out to all our staff and everybody is walking around with big smiles on their faces. Thank you so much for making us all very happy and proud. With love.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rod from Cape Town

Great weekend getaway

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
what a welcome we received on check in, a hot cup of coffee with scones,cheese and jam. Rooms are beautifully decorated and to top it off they washed our car the following morning before we headed off to our new destination. great service