Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

A step back in time at a gorgeous hideaway

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: We ate some excellent breakfasts on our trip but this was the winner - a three course masterpiece served in the beautiful conservatory!
Cons: Nothing to do with the hotel, but the town is very small and sleepy. The hotel is a destination itself, but unless you have plans, one night is enough
Location: There is a charming museum within walking distance, and some quaint shops. We ate an outstanding dinner in a nearby restaurant (Field and Fork).
This hotel oozes charm from the moment you arrive. Every detail in the main house and rooms is perfectly crafted, from the decor to the chocolates left in your room at turndown with an accompanying note about tomorrow's weather forecast. The owners have taken a huge amount of care to ensure that the service you receive for your stay is flawless.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
This is such a beautiful review, thank you every so much Michelle! We shall most definitely share your kind words of praise and encouragement with our Schoone Oordt Family and hope you'll visit us again. We do think that 2-nights is the perfect Swellendam getaway though, especially if you like hiking, mountainbiking, horseriding or simply getting out into nature. :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extraordinary!

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
If you're anywhere near Swellendam this place is a must. Beautiful house, nice neighborhood, amazingly helpful and friendly manager an staff, gourmet breakfast, walk to great restaurants, and......they wash your car!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
What a spectacular review! Thank you so so much. We have shared your review with all of our team to huge smiles and happy faces this morning. Thank you. We loved having you to stay and hope to visit with you again soon. Much love from all of us at Schoone Oordt. from Alison, the owner
5 out of 5
by GS from Cape Town

We would recommend Schoone Oordt highly.

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
We found Schoone Oordt to be delightful, and the room spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff couldn't have been pleasanter or more helpful. We had one of our two Swellendam dinners in, and should have had both in because our meal at Schoone Oordt was marvellous. Excellent chef. Add to that, his breakfasts were wonderful too - imaginative and different each day. One could have a boring old "full English" or scrambled, or omelette etc if one wanted, but the day's "chef's special breakfast" has to be highly recommended. Tea/ coffee and delicious home made cake, crunchie biscuits & rusks were on offer and complementary at any time in the afternoon. All in all it was a great couple of days and Schoone Oordt is highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Oh, thank you so much for this spectacular review! Chef Obie says an extra thank you too :). We loved sharing Swellendam and Schoone Oordt with you and we hope you'll visit us again soon. Much love from Alison, the owner and the rest of the Schoone Oordt Family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Memorable stay

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: It is a beautiful building, lovingly restored. Friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere.
This hotel is a gem. It was one of the highlights of our 10 day trip to South Africa and exceeded our expectations. The staff were excellent, the setting beautiful and the evening dinner was lovely too. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Oh, this is a wonderful review Steven, thank you SO much! You've put big smiles on our faces and springs in our steps :) Thank you.. We look forward to sharing Swellendam with you again in the not too distant future... With much love from all of us at Schoone Oordt.
5 out of 5
by Johan from Stockholm

Nice hotel with good service

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
For the price you pay you get a lot. Good service and nice rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Such a great review! Thank you so much Johan. We look forward to visiting again with you soon. With much love from all of us at Schoone Oordt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Godalming, Surrey

Good hotel on N2 route

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Character of hotel. Good food.
Location: Ideal location for overnight stop or longer stayed.
Stayed overnight to break journey from Knysna to Cape Town and booked this hotel which was a good find and recommended. A lovely old building with very good food for breakfast and dinner as well as comfortable room and helpful and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2016 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Trev, thank you so much for this great review. You've put a spring in our step this morning, thank you. We loved spending a small part of your holiday with you and hope you'll visit with us again soon. With much love from the Schoone Oordt Family.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous little Gem

Posted Jan 21, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel, carefully restored with great attention to detail. Completely charming. Excellent level of service. Awesome breakfast. We will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2016 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Fabulous review! Thank you SO much. You've made us all very happy this morning. See you soon! :) With love from the Schoone Oordt Family
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The place to stay in Swellendam

Posted Dec 24, 2015 on Hotels
A great place to stay. Very professional and attentive service. Good food. Beautiful garden.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2016 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Thank you for this superb review! We so appreciate your kind words of encouragement and very much look forward to your return visit. With much love from All of us at Schoone Oordt
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very welcoming

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: Warmth of the welcome.
Cons: The pool only had one skimmer with a hose/floor vacuum always attached. This meant that the floor of the pool was pristine but the surface dirty.
Location: Very pleasant and photogenic quiet village with a real sense of the area's history.
Stopped off for one night en route from Knysna to Cape Town. Once we found the right gate - on the main road - the welcome was very warm and efficient. We were given tea and booked in, then chose a local restaurant for the evening with their advice and they booked it. Room was very pleasant, though short on wardrobe space for a longer stay. In the morning we went for a swim and had breakfast before continuing our journey.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your lovely detailed review! We so appreciate your kind words and we thank you for pointing out the pool issue. We shall have a chat with our groundsman and ensure that the surface is clean. We hope you'll visit with us again, to find a perfectly pristine pool! :) With love, The Schoone Oordt Family
5 out of 5
by Graeme from Tewantin Australia

Can't Get Any Better

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
From the moment we arrived until the moment we left this hotel was first class in friendliness, service, food, room, staff--- we could not fault it in any way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Thank you SO much Graeme, for your amazing review. You've made us very happy today! Hope to see you again soon.