Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Godalming, Surrey

Good hotel on N2 route

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Character of hotel. Good food.
Location: Ideal location for overnight stop or longer stayed.
Stayed overnight to break journey from Knysna to Cape Town and booked this hotel which was a good find and recommended. A lovely old building with very good food for breakfast and dinner as well as comfortable room and helpful and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2016 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Trev, thank you so much for this great review. You've put a spring in our step this morning, thank you. We loved spending a small part of your holiday with you and hope you'll visit with us again soon. With much love from the Schoone Oordt Family.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Tooles Hotel in viktorianischem Stil. Tolles Zimmer Nr 1 mit schönem Garten. Top!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2016 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Vielen Dank für diese wunderbare Bewertung! Wir sind so glücklich, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt genossen und freuen uns, Sie wieder zu besuchen. Mit Grüßen von uns allen bei Schoone Oordt
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Reise in eine andere Zeit

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Pros: Ausstattung, Lage, Service
Location: Perfekt für eine Garden Route Rundreise.
Wenn man in die "good old times" zurückreisen möchte sollte man einen Stop im Schoone Oordt Country House machen! Die Ausstattung und das gesamte Erscheinungsbild sind fantastisch. Die Zimmer mit viel Liebe zum Detail eingerichtet. Das Personal absolut hilfsbereit. Wir hatten Probleme mit unserem Mietwagen, nach 10 Minuten war vom Hotel organisierte Hilfe da.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2016 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
sehr geehrter A Vielen Dank für dieses fantastische Kritik! Wir sind so froh, dass Sie Ihren Besuch genossen und danken Ihnen für die Wahl in Swellendam und bei Schoone Oordt zu bleiben. Wir liebten die Zeit mit Ihnen und hoffe, dass bald es wieder tun. Mit viel Liebe von uns allen.
5 out of 5
by Göran

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous little Gem

Posted Jan 21, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel, carefully restored with great attention to detail. Completely charming. Excellent level of service. Awesome breakfast. We will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2016 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
This is SUCH a great review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. Come back and see us soon. Much love from The Schoone Oordt Family
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2016 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Fabulous review! Thank you SO much. You've made us all very happy this morning. See you soon! :) With love from the Schoone Oordt Family
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The place to stay in Swellendam

Posted Dec 24, 2015 on Hotels
A great place to stay. Very professional and attentive service. Good food. Beautiful garden.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2016 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Thank you for this superb review! We so appreciate your kind words of encouragement and very much look forward to your return visit. With much love from All of us at Schoone Oordt
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very welcoming

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: Warmth of the welcome.
Cons: The pool only had one skimmer with a hose/floor vacuum always attached. This meant that the floor of the pool was pristine but the surface dirty.
Location: Very pleasant and photogenic quiet village with a real sense of the area's history.
Stopped off for one night en route from Knysna to Cape Town. Once we found the right gate - on the main road - the welcome was very warm and efficient. We were given tea and booked in, then chose a local restaurant for the evening with their advice and they booked it. Room was very pleasant, though short on wardrobe space for a longer stay. In the morning we went for a swim and had breakfast before continuing our journey.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your lovely detailed review! We so appreciate your kind words and we thank you for pointing out the pool issue. We shall have a chat with our groundsman and ensure that the surface is clean. We hope you'll visit with us again, to find a perfectly pristine pool! :) With love, The Schoone Oordt Family
5 out of 5
by Christian from Morges

Hôtel très romantique et charmant

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Une chambre magnifique avec cheminée, très grande salle de bain. Repas du soir excellent. Personnel très gentil et professionnel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pfalz

Liebevoll restaurierte Hotelanlage

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Wir übernachteten im Hotel Ende Oktober 2015. Unser Zimmer war mit allem Komfort ausgestattet und sehr individuell eingerichtet mit antiken Möbeln. Vom Balkon aus schauten wir in den Garten. Leider hatten wir nicht ausreichend Zeit, um den schönen Polobereich zu nutzen. Vom Hotel aus konnten wir die Restaurants in unmittelbarer Umgebung zu Fuss erreichen. Sonette und alle anderen Bediensteten waren sehr freundlich, umsichtig und hilfreich. Das Drei-Gänge-Frühstück war sehr gut. Das Hotel hat eine sehr individuelle Geschichte engagierte Bedienstete und achtet besonders auf nachhaltigen Umgang mit Ressourcen. Wir können dieses Haus auf jeden Fall weiter empfehlen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2015 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Vielen, vielen Dank für diese wundervolle Bewertung. Bitte entschuldigen Sie unsere amateur Deutsch, aber wir, Ihnen zu sagen, wie sehr wir danken Ihnen für Ihre freundliche und großzügige Worte wollten. Wir liebten die Zeit mit euch beide und freuen uns auf Ihren nächsten Besuch. Mit viel Liebe vom Schoone Oordt Familie
5 out of 5
by Graeme from Tewantin Australia

Can't Get Any Better

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
From the moment we arrived until the moment we left this hotel was first class in friendliness, service, food, room, staff--- we could not fault it in any way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Thank you SO much Graeme, for your amazing review. You've made us very happy today! Hope to see you again soon.