Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A wonderful night stop

Posted Mar 8, 2018 on Hotels
We stopped in Swellendam for a night whilst driving the garden route. Service here was impeccable, food was excellent, and the prices in the hotel were extremely reasonable. Loved the hote, and loved the staff. If we had to find any criticism that would be perhaps it’s time to replace the CD player in the honeymoon suit for something more modern.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2018 by Alison Walker, owner, Hotel Management
Haha Alexander, yes, you are probably right! That CD player has been around for years. Funny how you don't see those things after a while... Thank you for the suggestion. Thank you too for your lovely review and beautiful words. Come and see us again soon! With much love from all of us at Schoone Oordt
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2018 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2018 by Alison Walker, owner, Hotel Management
Thank you so much Stuart! Do come and visit with us again. Much love from all of us at Schoone Oordt
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfection

Posted Jan 14, 2018 on Hotels
Flawless. Possibly the best hotel we’ve ever stayed in. We didn’t want to leave!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Alison Walker, owner, Hotel Management
Wow! Amazing review! Thank you SO much. You have put springs in our steps and huge smiles on our faces this morning. Thank you!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2018 on Hotels
Amazing hotel. Great food, fantastic service. Would have loved to stay longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Alison Walker, owner, Hotel Management
Such stunning feedback! Thank you so much for taking the time to share and for the comment on staying longer... We would've loved you to too. :) Until next time...
5 out of 5
by Hennie

Proudly South African!

Posted Jan 3, 2018 on Hotels
Ian and Alison treats their geusts in such a manor that you would think they are the owners of the business. We have never had an experience like this before. From the moment we arrived until we drove out the gates with a clean washed car. The dining was on another level and the breakfast from another planet. The room was spacious,minimalistic and stylishly furnished. The linen was crispy and fresh and the bathroom big,clean and fresh. Very good value for money and a lasted good memory.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Alison Walker, owner, Hotel Management
Aaaah, Hennie, what an amazing review! Thank you so much. You have made our entire Schoone Oordt Family very very happy today. Please do come and visit with us again soon. With much love from all of us
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

A step back in time at a gorgeous hideaway

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: We ate some excellent breakfasts on our trip but this was the winner - a three course masterpiece served in the beautiful conservatory!
Cons: Nothing to do with the hotel, but the town is very small and sleepy. The hotel is a destination itself, but unless you have plans, one night is enough
Location: There is a charming museum within walking distance, and some quaint shops. We ate an outstanding dinner in a nearby restaurant (Field and Fork).
This hotel oozes charm from the moment you arrive. Every detail in the main house and rooms is perfectly crafted, from the decor to the chocolates left in your room at turndown with an accompanying note about tomorrow's weather forecast. The owners have taken a huge amount of care to ensure that the service you receive for your stay is flawless.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
This is such a beautiful review, thank you every so much Michelle! We shall most definitely share your kind words of praise and encouragement with our Schoone Oordt Family and hope you'll visit us again. We do think that 2-nights is the perfect Swellendam getaway though, especially if you like hiking, mountainbiking, horseriding or simply getting out into nature. :)
5 out of 5
by POLLY

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Helpful friendly staff, delicious food, comfortable and lovely room. Loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Alison Walker, Hotel Management
Ah, Polly, thank you so much for this wonderful rating and review! We loved sharing our Swellendam and Schoone Oordt with you. Please do come and visit again. With much love from all of us.
5 out of 5
by MR S J

Historical with grest facilities and welcoming

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing lovely atmosphere Lana was farming Excellent food we loved our 2 nights here would recommend this as a stop
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
What a wonderful review to receive this morning! Thank you SO much Mrs SJ. We shall share with the Schoone Oordt Family, but especially Lana and very much look forward to visiting with you again. With love Alison
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extraordinary!

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
If you're anywhere near Swellendam this place is a must. Beautiful house, nice neighborhood, amazingly helpful and friendly manager an staff, gourmet breakfast, walk to great restaurants, and......they wash your car!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
What a spectacular review! Thank you so so much. We have shared your review with all of our team to huge smiles and happy faces this morning. Thank you. We loved having you to stay and hope to visit with you again soon. Much love from all of us at Schoone Oordt. from Alison, the owner
5 out of 5
by GS from Cape Town

We would recommend Schoone Oordt highly.

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
We found Schoone Oordt to be delightful, and the room spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff couldn't have been pleasanter or more helpful. We had one of our two Swellendam dinners in, and should have had both in because our meal at Schoone Oordt was marvellous. Excellent chef. Add to that, his breakfasts were wonderful too - imaginative and different each day. One could have a boring old "full English" or scrambled, or omelette etc if one wanted, but the day's "chef's special breakfast" has to be highly recommended. Tea/ coffee and delicious home made cake, crunchie biscuits & rusks were on offer and complementary at any time in the afternoon. All in all it was a great couple of days and Schoone Oordt is highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Oh, thank you so much for this spectacular review! Chef Obie says an extra thank you too :). We loved sharing Swellendam and Schoone Oordt with you and we hope you'll visit us again soon. Much love from Alison, the owner and the rest of the Schoone Oordt Family