Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

A Nice Place in the Country

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: The best feature was the history of the house which was documented throughout the house, especially the exhibit in the basement going back to 1830s
Cons: Opportunity to have more conversations with the owner or managers. This is what we enjoy about B&Bs. A little larger breakfast and appliances work.
Location: There are things to do around Harrisonburg, but the information on the website stated near Luray, Va. approx. 15 minutes, but actually 45 minutes.
Hannah never made us feel welcomed. Our confirmation stated availability at 3pm, but when we arrived were told 4pm and we had to sit in a downstairs room until 4pm. While she did help carry some of the luggage, there never was an opportunity to have a conversation with her. She served breakfast and thankfully there was another couple to communicate with during breakfast. Breakfast was rather light and in fact the other couple who are hikers commented on it not providing a lot of energy input for an active person. Also our TV, which was Dish network never worked the whole time indicating service interruption.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Good breakfasts. Nice and pleasant management. Lovely location.
5 out of 5
by helena

Lovely

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful b&b. Beautiful house and a lovely Rom in a very very Nice area. We were the only guests and the owner tok good Cate of us. Lovely breakfast.
2 out of 5
by Bobbi

Not imppressed

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed for the week for business and was the only guest. I thought I'd be able to access breakfast from the normal B&B times of 6 am - 9 am. I was wrong. The owner didn't provide breakfast until 9am, so I was not able to eat as I needed to be at work by 7 am. Apparently she didn't want to be inconvenienced by making breakfast for just me. I won't be staying there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Windsor, NY

Charming Historic B&B on Quiet Farm

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Convenience of location, peaceful surroundings, friendliness of staff and guests, gas fireplace in room, availability of tea/coffee at any time of day
Cons: A complimentary glass of wine in the evening would be nice, especially if the varietal is from a local vineyard.
Location: Although we did not have time to explore further, we heard that there is a beautiful lavender farm nearby and the town of Harrisonburg too.
My husband and I stayed two nights in the Gold Room of the Cave Hill Farm B&B, which was a convenient stop on our way from Florida to New York. While situated on a quiet farm road with magnificent views of cows roaming the fields and of the misty mountain tops in the distance, the inn is close to interstate 81 for easy state-to-state travel. While there, we enjoyed exploring the house with its many antiques and artifacts that date back to its construction date of 1830. Each morning Hannah, caretaker of the inn, prepared a delicious breakfast for us to start our day. In addition, she provided information about the house and about the surrounding area. Thanks to her, we had a very comfortable stay and hope to revisit on another of our trips! Our goal this trip was to see Jefferson's home, Monticello, which was about an hour's trip from Cave Hill on easy roads: Route 340 and Interstate 64. While visiting there, we left the property for a traditional Southern lunch served by women dressed in colonial attire at Michie Tavern's restaurant, The Ordinary. It is located at the foot of the road going to Monticello. Lunch is served from 11:00 to 3:00 and no dinner, so we left Monticello and then returned to the grounds after our meal and a self-guided tour of the tavern. It is well worth the side visit and convenient to do so.
5 out of 5
by Leontine

Great Place!!

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing place to stay..off the beaten path but so quiet and charming. Thank you Hannah for providing us with the history of the home and the area. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fredericksburg VA

Loaded with history, from a family's point of view

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Caverns
Each room has a story about a different family member. Lots of historic items to see. Beautiful location. Wonderful breakfast. Great looking cows too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Quaint B&B

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Orbitz
Close to Massanutten, though you will have to drive to get there. This B&B feels very rural but is approximately 15 minutes from Harrisonburg. It is easy to access main roads/interstates and get to anywhere you want.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Historic House

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The room was very comfortable, and the staff was incredibly friendly.
Cons: Nothing needs to be changed. Very charming and comfortable.
Location: Shenandoah Valley B&B with easy access to the National Park. Great place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
Interesting B and B with many artifact/ historical memoribilia