Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Friendly town centre hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Staff where great enjoyed the food and ambiance will definitely use again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, terrible room!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The initial appearance of the hotel was good - lovely decor, etc. but my room was awful. Very small, cramped and dingy looking out to the back of the kitchen. The bed was awful!I know I only paid £40 but I would have expected more. I reported the bed to the Manager who had it wapped with the one next door! When I caught up with her she was very defensive about it. "We haven't had any other complaints..." Not good. There are other comments on Expedia website. What surprised me was that someone else will have to sleep in that bed until they replace it. It was saggy and uncomfortable and I could feel the springs. A case of being used so many times that it had basically given up. The replacement wasn't much better. Hard as boards. I noted that the Manager didn't inspect the bed but relied on a staff member to feed back information. She thought it was ok!! Would have thought that the comfort of the beds would have taken priority. Time to get new ones? I think so. Apart from that, great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely pub hotel right in the centre of old town

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Lovely pub hotel in great location. Small but comfortable room and delicious breakfast. Good staff and services.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from midlands

Noisy

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Noisy room. If you are allocated rooms 31, 23 or 24, ask to be moved as they are above smoking area, late night staff exit and bottle bin area. Also if you expedia to book room using card to guarantee booking, your card will be pre charged and you won't get that money back for over 7 days...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Good for insomniacs

Posted May 30, 2017
This Hotel has good, but slightly small, rooms, it is clean and tidy and the staff are very helpful. Okay then why the poor rating? If you are going to Swindon for a night out then great but I was going there for work, up at 5 o'clock.... There was a disco until the early hours on the Saturday and a live band followed by a disco on the Sunday, both nights there were loud and inconsiderate people in the accommodation hallways, so the result was very little sleep. To be fair, there is mention of the disco (music) in the hotel write-up but I did not open that up when booking the room so I will take some of the blame hence two bars and not one for the overall rating.
3 out of 5
by David

Pretty basis but just about fit for pirpose

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
Did what I needed but room was very basic and would have been nice if the sink was in the bathroom rather than the corner of the bedroom. Great location in Swindon Old Town and convenient for town centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucester

Good hotel

Posted May 1, 2017
Lovely welcome on arrival, shown to our room and young man carried my suitcase. Good on site parking. Great decor, lovely breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Loopylou from Chiseldon

Excellent as usual

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Had a lovely three nights here. The staff are smiley and helpful, the nightclub was banging with lots of people, the doormen manage to be both lovely and take no nonsense, I've been a few times now and as a woman on her own I have no doubts I'm as safe as can be there. Great old hotel, full of character, even if a bit creaky in places and the breakfast is supreme. For a budget hotel you get a lot for your money. Will be back next month!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

weeknd off

Posted May 1, 2017
Good stuff happy to back there:-) excellent serving friendly people
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Cold

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Cold, Cold, Cold. We asked the staff over 6 times for the heating to be turned on. On the first night it was finally turned on at 22.00hrs approx and turned off 2 hours later. The next day again we repeated our requests about the heating which again was finally turned on at 22.00hrs and stayed on until we left the room for breakfast. The staff were very friendly even though they couldn't turn the heating on and the food was great. Just a shame that we spent most of our time very cold!