Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No hotel must care more about cleaniless

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Pros: That the staff really did care about cleanliness
Cons: mattress could be a little more yielding
Location: Not sure, did not stay long
The cleaning in the morning is to be praised, and the warmth and friendliness of the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Stayed one night

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Pros: Staff and look
Cons: Shower maybe a power shower
Location: Pubs restaurants near by
Stayed one night on arrival wow 😮 looked amazing hotel entrance bar area and food. Got to my room which is clean all what you require. Only down side was the shower had no pressure so hard to get a decent shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place music a little loud

Posted Nov 28, 2017
The music can be alittle loud at the weekends but other than that nice place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and package

Posted Nov 27, 2017
The Kings is a lovely pub. The rooms aren’t the same standard as the pub area downstairs. The rate we got for a twin en-suite room was great, it included free parking and breakfast. The room was absolutely freezing even when the heating was on. The windows were single glazed and it was a really cold weekend. But it did make it a bit uncomfortable. We were told there was a disco until 3am, so we’d brought earplugs, but it was quite loud. On the plus side it was a good location, great breakfast and parking was included.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2017 on Hotels
First impression - reception staff didnt seem too bothered. First thing they asked was for my card. Then they just handed the keys and said your room is upstairs. Unhappy with the noise level, there was a party next to my room which went on til midnight. During checkout, the lady just said leave your keys at reception, without any regard for asking how my stay was or anything.
3 out of 5
by anthony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Fantastic hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2017
I was on a training course and need to stay over and used Expedia and found 20 the king's wood Street and was on 2 mins away from the course hotel staff and locals was very friendly and approachable would stay again and recommend to friends and family
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

So noisy from staff clearing up.

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Manager customer service
I was expecting bar noise and I was OK with that but i was not expecting so much noise from the staff clearing up. The doors were banging so loudly underneath my room and they obviously made no effort to prop them open whilst they were walking through them. They were shouting and banging as they cleared up. It was horrific. And it went on for so long, they started clearing up at 2:45 and it went on until nearly 4am. The cleaners started again at 7:30 am. When I checked in I explained I was here for work and that I needed to be gone by 9am I asked if there was anyway I could have some breakfast or something to take for breakfast. The manager was quite curt and very unhelpful by just repeating that no one was in until 9am. I asked if I could just have some fruit or cereal to which she flatly refused. She begrudgingly agreed that I could have a box of cereal but made no effort to help me get some and the room was packed with chairs so I had to move about 8 chairs out of the way to get something for the morning. Ironically there was a girl setting up at 8:45 and she was more than happy to let me have some fruit and cereal. I'm really not a moaner and usually very happy with most things, but I was really disappointed with the service from the manager. I reckon if your out on the town and need somewhere to lay your head for a night to avoid getting a taxi this would be OK but I wouldn't recommend for anyone who was sober or wanted more than 3 hours sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bristol

20 at the kings

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: one of the best breakfasts I have ever had
Cons: rooms need updating
found out on arrival was disco night very busy and loud till early hours this would have been a problem if needing early night room very basic smallest tv I have ever seen plus side a great breakfast fantastic choices staff at breakfast very helpfull
3 out of 5
by Tina

Wood chip rooms

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel it’s self is lovely in the bar/dining area but step into the bedroom and we were really disappointed. It’s like they have forgot to do the rooms. Staff & food were lovely.