Ratings based on 347 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newbury

Nice Hotel, M4 & Swindon within easy reach.

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Nothing wrong with this hotel and we enjoyed our weekend break, I just felt like I should have been there for a conference or a training course rather than a relaxing couple of nights away. Staff are great, rooms are comfortable and clean although TV’s are dated and with just 4 channels. Nice place, nice location on the edge of “new” village. All just...nice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Group meeting /celebration/reunion

Posted Feb 18, 2018
2 night stay. Our group's company was amazing ! All staff that we came in contact with were very helpful and very pleasant. For me , the only negative was the restaurant. We had a lovely table ( there was only 12 odd customers in there ) and the waiters worked hard to attend to us. We had submitted our choices of menu earlier and expected some delay , but our wait for our meals was ridiculous.When they did come (nicely presented ) many were cold and had to go back to kitchen to be heated again. When we requested coffee after our meal we were told there was a coffee machine (paper cuHi ps ) where we could get our own ! When meal finally completed and we all went to the bar , it was closed , as apparently it closed at 10pm ! Again I must stress that all staff we met were courteous ,friendly and helpful - but the chef and the meals were disappointing. We went elsewhere for our meal on our 2nd night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from darlington

Great facilities

Posted Jan 20, 2018
The rooms are comfortable and clean The gym pool sauna rooms and decusy are lovely and make the stay enjoyable I don’t have evening meals with the hotel as the food can be a little random at times despite there usually being plenty of it so I take my own food for evening meals
5 out of 5
by darrell

Comfortable business stay

Posted Nov 26, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable stay however do not stay in rooms numbered above 160 if you don’t like an incredible long walk to reception but all good otherwise oh yes and no mobile phone connection but good wifi
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oct 2017

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Positives: The room itself was very spacious. Great location for exploring Wiltshire and surrounds. Negatives: The cleanliness of the room was well below standard. The bed skirt was filthy as was the floor around the bed - it was quite clear that nobody had hoovered for quite some time. The bathroom wasn't much better. The grouting was mouldy, taps broken. The shower door seal didn't fit to the bath resulting in water all over the floor.
3 out of 5
by Sunil

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rebecca

Good value comfy night's stay

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
Is a big conference centre so lots of suits about even on a Friday night, but great value, and handy if you need to be in the area-(we were house searching) Nice breakfast, good service, food was pretty good in the bar, if a bit pricey. Only issue for us was that the main light in the room buzzed quite loudly, so we just used the table lamps. Only 3 TV channels worked but there was an apologetic note about that on the desk. Swimming pool/gym excellent added extra, and free to use as a guest. Steam room unfortunately out of order during our stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Fawlty towers in Wiltshire

Posted Oct 12, 2017 on Ebookers
Well check in was ok had to wait as there was only one member of staff a foreign lady who was fantastic. Then had to ring reception some reason ebookers booked a twin she was more concerned with that than swapping us to a double. got annoyed and said are you going to swap us. hotel was quiet lol. We then went to the bar. No one was serving so I had to go to reception to get someone. Then we went to the pool and it was so cold in the pool area we just stayed in the jacuzzi, did want a swim. my wife tried to use the shower nightmare it got boiling hot, cold then boiling so Dangerous especially a child or older person , the thermostat was faulty also the shower head was blocked and the water was like little pins grrrrrrrrrr. We thought this can’t get worse. We went to the restaurant and were waiting to be sat. Two members of staff walked past not a word. After ten minutes waiting a lovely lad came up and said he was sorry for making us wait. Next we looked at the menu, my wife generally likes vegetarian food there was a tofu stir fry and fish cakes to start, the menu didn’t have many choices. Then they came out and said sorry no fish cakes, then more bad news no stir fry either which was the only vegan choice lol what a joke. The food was good. Then got to dessert I chose sticky toffee pud lol none left. Then came brekkie wasn’t asked for tea, ordered eggs had to ask ten mins later a staff member said he refused to send them they were solid, things weren’t being topped up. grr
2 out of 5
by Clive

Disappointing stay

Posted Sep 23, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is understaffed and lacks people with organisational skills. Obviously rooms are not inspected by management on a regular basis. Our bathroom hadn't had a good clean for some time and included a lovely rusted pedal bin, which is something you can buy for a few pound.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Had a great time, family friendly - will come back again