Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Nice find

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Food and welcoming atmosphere
Cons: Carpet in room
Location: Visit Royal Wootton Bassett a couple of miles away
Experienced and pleasant landlord. Very good food - ideal location for Royal Wootton Bassett.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

It was nice and rustic, typically English.

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: It was friendly and English.
Cons: That's not a question for us as its a business... and services depend on markets and profitability.
Location: Lacock, longleat, Trowbridge, Melksham, Bath, and Bristol are all nearby... the hotel is on the edge of the Cotswolds.
Friendly reception, staff were pleasant. It was a nice quite location off the beaten track. The breakfast was hugh... beautifully prepared, but too much for us, but we found out that we could get a smaller breakfast more suitable for us pensioner. We enjoyed our three night stay, though Sunday night it was closed, and we had to go out else where to have an evening meal, but it was our own fault, because the owners said they would have provided a meal had we let them know earlier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Autumnal Short Break

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Clean and convenient with friendly staff and
Cons: Upgrade to carpets and furnishings
Location: Had a day at Bowood House and morning in Chippenham, nice area with plenty to see and do
Arrived late afternoon to find the hotel in darkness, the owner was in the garden. Was shown to the room and concerned it might be a bit on the quiet side. The room was spacious, furnishings a bit tired but comfortable nonetheless. Bathroom was clean and well equipped. Decided to eat in after a tiring day and the bar and restaurant area were really packed - what a transformation. Had a very enjoyable meal with a few drinks and slept well that night. Had breakfast (not included in the room rate) prior to departure.
4 out of 5
by yan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did a job

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
Good things: Good price, great peaceful location yet close to town and m4, nice gardens, polite staff. Bad things: Despite booking I waited 50 minutes for my meal in the evening, 25 minutes before having order taken; wifi unreliable; thin walls - not great when next door are noisy which disturbed my sleep - the bathroom fan next door was very loud; poor shower pressure, a wait to check out when i was in a rush. I stayed here about 18 months back and had a better experience. Hopefully this was just a blip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely quiet spot, comfy room, great food

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: character of building and area
Cons: i was happy with everything
Stayed for one night for RIAT the next day. Lovely place, room was comfy. Food was awesome! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Very well located for RIAT, only a few miles away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
We had a pleasant, quiet stay including a wonderful dinner at the restaurant and breakfast the next morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Nicholas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels