Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Thistle Express Swindon Weekend Break

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Breakfast Food and the central location
Cons: The maintenance of the shower
Location: Main Shopping Area, bus station, and car park
Central Location with car park available opposite the hotel. Excellent self service breakfast with gluten free food. Disappointed that we had a room where the shower was cold. Children running up and down corridor between rooms with each room door closing noise became annoying
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
Hi Many thanks for your review and feedback. We really do appreciate it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brockworth England

good value hotel close to shops

Posted Nov 15, 2017
All the staff were very helpful and the room was very comfortable,the breakfast was very good too and we were able to leave our bags until it was time to get our train
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
Hi Lynne Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We really do appreciate it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ipswich

Central

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Central to local amenities, clean, tidy and welcoming
Cons: Tell customers about the parking.
Location: Great! Cinema and restaurants 5 minute walk and the parade of shops just around the corner.
Lovely stay, very friendly staff, great breakfast and good room size.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
many thanks for your review and feedback
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Forest

Bargain family room

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Booked well in advance so secured a family room for £39. Included bed and breakfast for four. Did have to pay £6 for overnight parking in public car park as city centre. Breakfast was satisfactory - good choice of hot and cold food though had to wait for it all to be topped up as it was very busy. Actual family room was huge and behind two secure doors so felt safe. It was on top floor and only one lift working but only there one night so not a problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
many thanks for your review and feedback
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Near Theater

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Great location and parking for £8 per day nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
many thanks for your review and feedback
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel close to shops

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Price, free coffee in reception 24 hours a day
Cons: More breakfast food run out of main things when we came down 9.30.
Location: Around corner from Debenhams, short drive from outlet park
Hotel clean, good location in Swindon. Bed soft and very comfortable. Bathroom small but sufficient. Free wifi. Large screen TV. 8 floors, 2 lifts but one broken so lift very busy que at times to go upstairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
many thanks for your review and feedback
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Excellent value hotel in great location

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: We were particularly impressed that the free breakfast catered well for a gluten free diet
Cons: Be aware that Sunday breakfast around 9am can get busy - we couldn't find a table so ate off our laps- ? Provide trays for busy times.
Our trip was primarily for shopping and we stayed for two nights at the thistle express. The hotel is in a great location, with Debenhams department store round the corner and a huge House of Fraser outlet an easy stroll away. We found parking straightforward - £8 for 24 hours in the multi-storey opposite and there were plenty of shopping areas including Designer outlet stores a short drive away. A good choice of restaurants were also within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel itself is bright, modern, clean and functional. All the staff we met were friendly and upbeat which gave the building great vibes. Our double room was comfortable and had all the facilities we required including hair drier, iron and ironing board. Instead of a kettle in the room there is an unlimited supply of tea, coffee or hot chocolate available from a machine in the lobby. We liked this idea - the coffee tasted much better than instant from a sachet!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
many thanks for your review and feedback
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashford, Kent

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Everything was great. The staff, the room and of course the food! :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
many thanks for your review and feedback
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerset

Shopping visit

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Sat navigation took us an odd route to get there. I had asked for some balloons to be put in the room for my daughter who was turning 18 - we weren't disappointed! The room was clean, the staff were really nice, nothing too much trouble and hot beverages were available 24 hours in reception. For £39 we were impressed and very happy. Thank you Thistle Express
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
many thanks for your review and feedback
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter, UK.

Modern hotel right in the city centre

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort and price
Cons: Sounds from the bathroom in the adjoining room were too loud
Location: City centre, near shops and a short walk to restaurants and bars in Old Town
I stayed on a Monday night, arriving around 8pm. My reservation was quickly found and check-in took just a couple of minutes. The guy on the desk was polite, welcomed me to the hotel and pointed out where I could obtain free, unlimited hot drinks at any time. My room on 6th floor was a decent size, with a comfortable bed and large flat screen TV. The on suite was a tad small but had all required facilities. A free buffet breakfast is available in the morning. Overall this hotel offered excellent value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
many thanks for your review and feedback