Ratings based on 1,027 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice hotel close to the rocks

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: It's a good basic room with a really good shower.
Cons: The wifi wasn't working
A nice, cheap and cheerful hotel that's close to the Rocks. Great location and easy to get to various destinations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uk

Short trip to Sydney

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Good location, nice staff, comfy beds but hotel wasn't what I expected from the site. Room was a bit tired which could give the impression of being dirty but it wasn't. Pleased I was only there for a few nights but to be fair it felt safe and wasn't noisy or anything, just shabby. Shame because first impressions do count.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overvalued

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Location and room quiet
Cons: See above. These rooms arr not suitabke for a queenbed and should not be advertised such.
Location: Good location
Standrd queen room photos misleading. There is no gap around the bed so the econd oerson had to climb over the other to get in and out of bed. This should be mentioned in the room description. The next night i stayed in sydney at the Amora was $50 deaer for a luxuhry 5 star room. Won't stay again asnrather pay more for a decent room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2017
The hotel room was extremely tired and dirty. The carpets, curtains and walls were very stained and marked. The bathroom was nice and fairly new but also not very clean. Disappointing but bearable stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from northern rivers nsw

Close to Darling Harbour

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Convenient.
Cons: Could do with a revamp.
Location: Walking distance to Darling Harbour. Irish pub near with good food.
Came to Sydney with my husband, step son and 20 year old grand daughter, so we booked the family room. Stayed 2 nights. We were pleased that the queen bed was in a separate room from the twin beds as we were 4 adults. Room was adequate for our needs but decoration and state was a bit tired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from NSW

Handy to trains, shops and tourist attractions

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: This hotel was close to the venue I was attending and was a reasonable price. Toiletries were provided.
Cons: I have been to this hotel before and was in a larger room. I was surprised to find I was in a very small single room for the same price.
Location: Close to main attractions.
As a single room, it was very small however the facilities were ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

good for one night

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Great central location. Parking close enough.
Cons: Update furnishings in rooms.
Location: Great location for shopping and seeing a show at the state theatre.
Location was good for what we needed. Furniture was old, a chair to sit in would have been nice and a kettle in the room. Room was very clean and fine for 1 night. Staff were very pleasant and professional.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Qld

Small

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Very noisy all night noises from street. Dated and poor cleanliness of carpet etc with water damage to carpet adjoining bathroom. Bed only accessible from side with no room to walk around. not great for more than 1 person.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst experience I ever had was at this place!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: N/A
Briefly.... after a very hard days work i checkin to my room only to find a huge machinery / dryer unit sitting in the middle of the room with wet carpet and making this horrible noise. Didn't get an apology from the staff on this instead had a rude receptionist on the desk giving me nasty looks because i decided to leave and not stay the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Coast

Just a place to sleep

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: It was clean
Cons: Update the rooms, offer minibar options, indicate where the other lift is if your main one isn't working. Provide more comfort like a lounge!
Location: Location was great. Close to darling harbour and to QVB so no complaints there
The suite was not like a suite I had stayed in before, and I believe it was extremely over priced considering I had friends in a suite in the hotel opposite for a similar price and it was amazing with included breakfast etc. There was one pillow each, no lounge, nothing in the mini bar. Lift wasn't working and after walking up 4 flights of stairs with luggage, reception decided to tell us there was another further down the corridor. Not modern at all. When paying close to $500 a night you expect a little more for your money. But it was a place to sleep.