Ratings based on 1,683 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stately comfort in perfect location

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: The Location and feeling of grandeur.
Cons: Not a lot at all.
Location: Perfect location and handy for shopping areas, Hyde Park, Darling Harbour, Circular Quay and Botanical Gardens.
A pleasing boutique hotel with an atmosphere of grandeur in all public areas. Rooms are very comfortable even though quite small and have TV, fridge and minibar. Unfortunately in September 2017 when we stayed, the buildings around were being demolished to make way for the new metro system and were extremely noisy during the day. The location is just perfect, set between Hyde Park, Darling Harbour and Circular Quay, and just a stones throw from the precincts and shopping areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks, UK

Good central location

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Good central location, very close to metro and attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from morwell

Close to Hyde Park

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Arrived Saturday afternoon but as it was the weekend of City to Surf more staff on the desk would've been ideal as the poor girl doing check in was clearly struggling & continually apologising. Also wasn't aware of the Saturday night construction work, thankfully it wasn't repeated on the Sunday night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Old-world charm in central Sydney

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Location, staff and ambience
Cons: Wider range on restaurant menu
Location: Very short walk to Westfield, QVB, Pitt St Mall and Town Hall Station
The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel offers travellers first class service in an elegantly styled setting. Staff are very well trained and helpful, and the location is perfect for access to central Sydney shopping and entertainment. I would highly recommend the Castlereagh for visitors to Sydney.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Walking distance to everything

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, close to activities, good food
Location: Walk to Hyde Park, Sydney Opera House and Bridge and Darling Harbour
The hotel was clean and comfortable and walking distance to the harbor and all the attractions in Sydney. Highly recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Old style with character
Cons: Breakfast expensive and not good, better go outside
I ask for a room with windows, they gave me a bunker, but with they change me after request
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you want a good rest, go somewhere else.

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Lastminute
We stay in this hotel for one night 16th Jun 2017 with my 4 years old son at room 605. We just could not get sleep at all. Very very load music was playing until 23:40. Call the receptionist twice. Restless night for us. not very happy for the money we paid for a "4-Star"hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average experience

Posted Jun 6, 2017
We arrived early to the hotel. Upon entering the place it certainly has a wow factor but that quickly disappeared when we approached the front desk. Two staff members on duty, one person sitting at a computer and the other busy counting her till. One of them looked up and said the rooms not ready, please sit and wait 5 or 10 minutes and motioned for us to sit on the lounge and then continued counting their till. I thought this was a strange way to welcome people to the hotel. We then noticed another couple arrive, they were also spoken to the same way and came and sat with us. This unfortunately seems to be their standard procedure of greeting guests if it's before allocated check in time. I work on the front desk at a hotel and I know that some rooms will be ready prior to check in and it's polite and efficient to ask the guests name and check the reservation and then explain it's not ready etc. I think this practice of brushing people away because you are busy will affect your business and it did show in the fact that we were there over the busy Vivid Festival and the place was like a ghost town. The rooms are small and pokey and there is absolutely no outlook at all from the window. The waitress in the Dining room for breakfast was lovely, calm and knowledgeable about the history of the hotel and area. A great asset to your business. The location was also fantastic and the Dining rooms impressive but unfortunately that's all it's really got going for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great spot in the heart of the city!

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Wotif
Made welcomed by great stafff in a lovely hotel with old world charm and service, just the way it use to be!!! Other hotels should take note!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Such a treasure in Sydney - ornate heritage building and gorgeous features
Such a treasure in Sydney - ornate heritage building and gorgeous features - great location and the staff are great.