Ratings based on 1,757 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great location

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Pros: The bar
Cons: Larger room sizes
Location: Close to all Sydney’s attractions
A small menu which didn’t matter as what was served was very good food and reasonably priced, room was quite small but adequate. We had a very nice stay and would definitely return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Old fashioned charm and history in great location

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: The location is great. We wanted to walk to most places, and we did. It is affordable.
Cons: Updates are needed, but we expect management knows that. A thorough cleaning is in order but because the furniture is so heavy, it will be a big job.
Location: It is best if you check the location on a map. For us, it was the perfect place to walk to shops, restaurants, bars, the water front and the sites.
An elegant and charming hotel. Heavy furniture with lots of comfy seating. An old fashioned elevator requiring a key to gain access to upper floors. That frustrated some guests but we all managed. Some upgrades needed. We had a power cord running along the wall in our room, to plug in the bedside lamp. The cord connection was hidden behind the curtain. That is considered a fire hazard where we live. The kettle, to boil water for tea and coffee, was in a closed cupboard unit. There was no other place to plug it in. That would also be considered a fire hazard. The cupboard doors had to remain open when using the kettle, so we bumped into them a few times. The shower and toilet were up a level from the bedroom floor. We got used to that. There were tiles missing in the bathroom floor, though, so we had to step over that section, which was a bit awkward. The bedding and towels were clean and crisp. The beds were comfortable. Cleanliness in the overall room was not great. No one has moved the furniture for some time. The hours of operation in the restaurant and bar were limited and not always convenient but we enjoyed the food and beverages when the timing did work. There is a lot of history in this building. We loved that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Very good. Will recommend to others. Will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yass

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Bed super comfortable! Staff assistance was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hastings, New Zealand

Castlereagh Hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Vicinity is great. The furniture period pieces.
Cons: Nothing. Everything was great.
This is the second time we have stayed here. It is very central to the CBD. Great value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good proximity to Hyde Park

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Within walking distance, Hyde Park, Sydney Rsl, a little longer walk to Circle Quay. Close to subway
Excellent front desk staff, room service personnel. We ate dinner on the second floor dining area and the food was top notch at a reasonable price for Sydney. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wollongong

Lots of character and great location

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Character furniture and great location
The hotel is in a great location to major shopping hubs like David Jones and Pitt street Mall. Close to railway stations and easy access to restaurants and bars. Staff were friendly and helpful. Will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, canada

Central location. Close to shopping and restauran

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Room was very clean and tidy. Hotel is walking distance to shops , restaurants and supermarket .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Should have been told of demolition site next door

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Clean and nicely kept for an old hotel.
Cons: Clients should be notified in advance if there is a major inconvenience that will affect their stay.
Location: Right in the middle of shopping, a reasonable walk to the harbour and many sites.
Located in the middle of the bustling city. the negative: there was demolition happening of the building next door, so during the day with the windows closed, from bright and early there were the very loud sounds of jackhammers and related construction noise. If we had known we wouldn't have booked this hotel. The hotel is nicely kept and furnished, but on the 9th floor, at least, the windows were so high with obscured glass, that you couldn't see outside. Although our room was large with high ceilings, it felt very closed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Z.

Clean, comfortable and central.

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Totally ideal for the purpose of my visit. Good value.