Ratings based on 1,829 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from adelaide

close to everything

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Location: close to central station but quicker to walk to the cbd
check in staff very friendly, close to every attraction of Sydney and safe area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel near Central Station and Chinatown

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Hotel is very conveniently located in between Central Station and Museum Station. You can walk to Chinatown in 10 min, and to Circular Quay in about 25 min. Beautiful lobby. Small room. Bed took up most of the space. Bathroom was sufficiently clean though there were many flies. Staff is very helpful...sent someone to teach us how to use the climate control system to change from heating to air conditioning, and had the bathroom sprayed for flies. Each morning, there are fruit and breakfast treats (croissants, mini-muffins) available for guests. All day, there is coffee and lemon water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Value For Money

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Only a 10 minute walk from Central or Museum train stations. Room small as advertised but recently renovated. Convenience stores and good restaurants handy. Definitely good value for money in one if the most expensive cities in the world.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Jacky, Hotel Management
Dear Sue, It is great to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We will see you soon at our hotel again! Kind Regards, Jacky and the team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Good location, clean, comfortable and pleasant helpful staff.
Good location, clean, comfortable and pleasant helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Rory, Hotel Management
Dear Seamus, Looks like we ticked all the boxes on your stay, great location, clean and comfortable rooms, and great staff! Thanks Seamus, look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers, Rory & the Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CANADA

Great location!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Great location, great staff, small rooms but they do the trick. Beds aren't that comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Jacky, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It is great to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We will see you soon at our hotel again! Kind Regards, Jacky and the team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good location

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Happy to recommend this clean and Central hotel in Sydney. Great value and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Jacky, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your review and look forward to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Jacky and the team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is near to railway station.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Walk 15min to China Town and Paddy's market. Walk 5 to 10min to Central railway station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Jacky, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It is great to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We will see you soon at our hotel again! Kind Regards, Jacky and the team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy hotel...ruined my trip

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Close to facilities
Cons: Noise please soundproof
By far the noisiest hotel I have stayed in. Hotel is about 20m from busiest city rail line, 5 metres from busy six lane road. Add to that emergency police ambulance sirens going off every 20 mins, an old hotel with no soundproofing and no double glazing and you will get no sleep at all. Complained re noise and was moved a floor up on same side but still very noisy. Checked out a night early even though I paid for an extra night as its way too noisy. Would have liked a refund but not offered one. Aside from sound issues which only affect one side of hotel esp lower stories place is OK. However would not stay again if you paid me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Rory, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for reviewing our hotel and please allow me to apologise on behalf of the hotel for your experience. The majority of our rooms do have double glazing so I am disappointed that you have not had a peaceful time with us. Thank you again for your feedback, please do contact me directly should you wish to discuss you stay in more detail. Kind Regards Rory & the Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Not worth the price

Posted Jul 1, 2017
I stayed here for two nights by myself. The best feature of this hotel is its proximity to the train station- that's about it. My room was tiny, to the point that i couldn't walk around the edge of my bed- I had to climb over it to get to the sliver of space on the other side. The refrigerator door could barely open all the way due to the tight quarters. The bed also had springs or something sticking out of the sides so every time I sat down or got up, it hurt my legs. The sink was also tiny, tiny and it was impossible to wash my face without getting water all of the floor. As for the service, it wasn't the most helpful. When I arrived I asked for dinner recommendations and was essentially told to just get kebabs across the street. When I started researching restaurants in my room, I came across several good options. It was too expensive for what I got- I would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Rory, Hotel Management
Dear A, Thank you for reviewing our hotel but I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Being a heritage listed building, there are certain development limits that we need to adhere to. However, we do have other room types that provide more spaces for our guest. Look out for our King or Superior King rooms when you book with us next time and I am sure that you won't be disappointed by the size of the room. I was very disappointed to read that our team had not offered recommendations on restaurants. This is greatly surprising as this is something we train on specifically. We will ensure this is addressed with the team. Thank you again and we hope to see you return soon. Kind Regards, Rory & the Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable but not for light sleepers

Posted Jun 30, 2017
The hotel is close to train line and buses so sleeping can be a bit of a problem for the light sleeper
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Rory, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I'm very glad you enjoyed the convenience of our location. We do have a number of internal view rooms overlooking our Zen Courtyard, let's get one of these for you next time, I'm sure you'll have a wonderful nights sleep. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers, Rory & the Team