Ratings based on 6,027 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction nearby very noisy

Posted Sep 16, 2017
There was a Pre Alert about a construction near the hotel which lead to noise experience upon entering the Room. When I asked why they putting me in this room knowing there is construction, they than said to pay extra $25 for upgrade to a higher level and on a side opposite to the construction. It was not fair from Hotel not to inform when they knew about the issue. The hotel bathroom is poorly designed. It has bath tub with the Shower head which makes it very uncomfortable in the shower. AC must be sucking the dust from Construction sight as I got sick and block nose after 2 days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Team Sofitel Sydney Wentworth , Hotel Management
Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please accept our apologies for not providing you with a comfortable stay. Kind Regards, Team Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Staff exceptionally helpful and thoughtful

Posted Sep 15, 2017
I love the foyer and level 5 eateries. Staff coukd not be more generous and thoughtful toward us and our 4yo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Team Sofitel Sydney Wentworth , Hotel Management
Bonjour, Thank you so much for your feedback. Kind Regards, Team Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K

Great location, very friendly staff

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Hot breakfast - a seemingly minor thing but mixing beans and tomato not the best, separate would be much preferred. Other options we superb
Location: Boat trips Opera House, Bridge all close, walking the harbour with is bars, interesting buildings and history, Botanical gardens.All just a short walk
Our visit was work and play location superb for seeing Sydney harbour. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, particularly Josef on reception and Nick the conciege - brilliant would return!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Team Sofitel Sydney Wentworth , Hotel Management
Bonjour, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcome you back next time you visit Sydney. Kind Regards, Team Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Friendly and professional staffs and perfect location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Team Sofitel Sydney Wentworth , Hotel Management
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Team Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Unbeatable location

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Location. Breakfast. See above.
Cons: Bathroom paint and cleaning.
Location: Easy walking access to parks, Art Gallery, Circular Quay, the Opera House, and great shopping
Helpful staff, great facilities. Amazing buffet breakfast. Nice linen, love the Lanvin bathroom products. The painted surfaces in the bathroom were, however, showing their age, and there were some very dusty corners in the bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Team Sofitel Sydney Wentworth , Hotel Management
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies for not providing you with a clean bathroom. We will bring this to the attention of our Executive Housekeeper. Kind Regards, Team Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Relaxing atmosphere

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Had a great time meeting friends for drinks and dinner. Staff were fantastic. Bed very comfy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Team Sofitel Sydney Wentworth , Hotel Management
Bonjour, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards, Team Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Half Decent

Posted Aug 29, 2017
The location of this hotel is convinent to the CBD however the room I was given wasn't in great condition as per my expectations. The facilities of the hotel are of a great quality however the room specify isn't worth the price. O
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Team Sofitel Sydney Wentworth , Hotel Management
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Please accept our apologies. Kind Regards, Team Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good location

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Location is great! Good bar and conferencing facilities.
Cons: A little sense when apply policy.
Location: Hotel is right in the Sydney CBD.
Sofitel Wentworth is no doubt in a great location to the Sydney CBD but employs the rudest duty manager I've come across in any 5 star hotel. I booked a luxury room using the Expedia app at the higher end of the Sofitel price range and thought I had booked for two people (my wife was accompanying me on this business trip). Later in the day after checking in (double room) I left key in the room. Asked for another key at the same time discovered from reception that only one breakfast would be included. In the evening I went back to reception to double check breakfast arrangements and I was told I had booked a single room. The rate for one person was the same as two people with breakfast. I was advised by the reception staff (duty manager) that I would have to pay for the second breakfast. I explained that the rate was the same for one or two persons but that appeared to make no difference. After calling Expedia helpline Expedia kindly refunded my credit card for the coat of an additional breakfast. Good service Expedia and thank you. As for the duty manager - he had to be the rudest staff member I've come across in a 5 star hotel - while talking to him his continually rolled is eyes at me and looked elsewhere in the lobby while criticising my handling of the booking. I stay approximately 130 nights a year in hotels around Australia and staff can make all the difference. A small issue but staff conduct which will ensure I avoid this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Team Sofitel Sydney Wentworth , Hotel Management
Bonjour James, Thank you for your feedback. It is very disappointing to read about the way you were treated by one of our ambassadors, this behavior is unacceptable and we have followed up with the ambassador in question. Please accept our sincere apologies for the way you were treated and that we were not able to assist you with your inquiry. Kind Regards, Team Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Old, tiny bathroom, no water pressure

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Room was old and dated, shower had lukewarm water and no water pressure. Tiny bathroom where to stand in the shower you have to hold your feet together. Terrible to stay at for business as they charge $10 or $15 per day for WiFi, so avoid if you are travelling and want to use WiFi in your room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Team Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, Hotel Management
Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Kind Regards, Team Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

Classy hotel, great location

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Convenient location for city to surf start, walk to Opera Bar and Circular Key restaurants and easy walk to Pitt street Mall and shopping. Lovely older style hotel, helpful staff and comfy beds. I do think the hotel is getting close to needing an update though! Will stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by Sofitel Sydney Wentworth , Hotel Management
Bonjour Valued Guest, I was absolutely delighted to read your comments regarding your recent stay, particularly those regarding our Garden Court Restaurant. I am also glad that the Hotel’s location was suitable for your visit. At Sofitel Sydney Wentworth we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and it was most pleasing to read of your satisfaction. I am grateful for you taking the time to write about your Sofitel experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Thanks and Kindest Regards, Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Team