Ratings based on 323 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Wotif
the room smell terribly and visibly dirty. The reception said that the centralised heater was on overnight but it was freaking cold. The shared toilet was so disgusting as well as the kitchen and laundry. And I booked a single room with a double bed in photo, and I ended up with a bunk bed. I understand it is a backpacker place, but I obviously paid extra for comfort and privacy. I informed the reception that I tend to bump my head whenever I am in a bunk bed and the reason I booked a single room. She was not helpful at all and was more proud that they have upgraded me in a bigger room good for four person dorm for only myself. When the problem is not about the size of the room that I could not even enjoy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible service and dirty!

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
The bathroom was so dirty. They turned off the heaters all the time so the room was cold and uncomfortable. Even we had to buy warmer (normal),blanket, but still it was vold in the room. The blanket they gave for free was almost a table cloth! When complained about the heater they said its on a timer and turns off automatically after 2 hours! When we sleep at night and reception is closed how we supposed to turn on the heater? No liquid soap in the bathrooms. Just solid soap! Who uses solid soap in a public place shared bathroom which looks 100 years old?!!!
3 out of 5
by Samuel from Canada

great location but the facilities need work!

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect location, helpful staff but the property needs work and more cleaning...not every bed has an outlet as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Robert

You get what you pay for!

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Cheap room in the heart of downtown Sydney, easy walk to almost everywhere I wanted to go. People at front desk were friendly and helpful. Close to train station. Down sides.. not very clean.. someone in the 16 bed dorm that I was staying in complained of bed bugs.. I seen the bites all over his body.. Luckily I did not encounter this. Rooms and bathrooms in disrepair and dirty. No kind of system to keep track of who is in which bed.. after my first nights stay I came back to the room to find that someone had taken my bed.. I had to go down to the front desk to get new bedding so that I could make up another bed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hostel i have ever stayed in.

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
Do not book this hostel unless you are seriously out of money and need a good location in downtown. The room stinks and there is no AC. Some not-so-friendly people stay there like home since they offer long term accommodation. Hostel is extremely dirty and cockroaches found in room. Overall, the hostel is a concentration camp.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Awful........ just don't !

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: Cleanliness needs improving a lot and the rooms could use a bit of maintenance
The hostel was really dirty. The rooms don't get cleaned even when guest leave. The kitchen was unhygienic, I even attempted to get up early to use the kitchen before everyone had woken up thinking it would be cleaner, but no it was still filthy. The bathrooms are unsanitary and two of them didn't have lights, with urine on the floor and showers with grime and dirt build up. The washing machines don't actually clean your clothes. There was a really odd vibe too. Not very friendly. I have stayed in hostels all over Australia and South East Asia, this is by far the worst.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Wotif
Not a bad hostel, but certainly on the 'simple' side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mackay

Cheap close to shopping and train and within city

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Wotif
I stayed there for 3 nights and my purpose is to watch the NYE in sydney. The location is really good near to shops and train station. Comfort and cleaniness well u get wat u paid for. Not bad at all. First time to stay in a hostel and i could say its not bad at all esp wen ur n a budget or just staying there to sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hostel in bustling area

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
wifi was hit and miss but was fast when on (usually lat at night)